RSS

Bill Hamilton’s, rambling about my COPD

17 Jun

This is my 1st post as a blogger and as someone that wants to talk about my personal dealings with COPD.  I am by no means a professional writer, and many times I believe the creative gene passed me by. But I hope to put into words what I am dealing with, how I am dealing with it, what medicines are involved, and what type doctors I deal with.  I am going to be as honest as my heart lets me.

I have a good friend that blogs and she will help and coach me.

I am a 62 year old male, who has been diagnosed with COPD.  It is a condition I have grown into. Years ago it was a “touch” of asthma, then it became a “touch” Emphysema, then the Doctors defined it as chronic bronchitis.  Finally in 2006 it was defined as COPD (chronic obstructive pulmonary disease). For those who don’t know COPD is one of the most common lung diseases which involves a long-term cough with mucus. Which evolves into the total destruction of the lungs over time.  Most people with COPD have a combination of both conditions, and I fall into this category.

For purposes of history, I was a smoker, and I was a heavy smoker at that, in my heyday I could smoke 3 packs.  But I quit smoking almost 25 years ago at this point.  My doctors tell me that my smoking was not the root cause of me having this disease, but it contributed.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on June 17, 2012 in Ramblings

 

One response to “Bill Hamilton’s, rambling about my COPD

  1. WandaWanda

    June 18, 2012 at 4:21 am

    Bill, this is a nice start. I learned things here that I didn’t know about COPD.

     

Leave a Reply

 
secret Blogger

Status : surviving highschool

How the Cookie Crumbles

An irreverant view of life after SIXTY-FIVE

beefandsweettea.wordpress.com/

a story of Southern agriculture

Me, My Magnificent Self

My Journey To Freedom

Kira Moore's Closet

Ever Moving Forward

