RSS

In the Beginning …. 2nd attemp

25 Jun

In the beginning….. 2nd attempt

I am going to start each blog with a statement on how I feel that day.  Today is 6/21/12, and it is approximately 9am. At this moment I feel okay, as I sit here the breathing is fine, but I am not doing anything other than typing.  My breathing (on a scale of 1 being piss poor, to 5 great for me) is about 2.5.  The less physical activity the better I am.  But it needs to be understood that I am currently suffering from and being treated for pneumonia.  So clearly I am having breathing issues beyond the normal COPD.

Well, I have had my 1st blogging mishap.  I had created my 2nd submission for my blog, but managed to lose it some place.  So I am going to try and recreate my thoughts.  LOL sometimes hindsight isn’t the best nor is it 20/20 because if you don’t have the original starting point …. Well anyway

In the beginning you don’t think about it, you don’t consider it, you are invincible and nothing is going to slow you down.  A cold was a cold, the flu was the flu, you went to work, you watched the kid, you did your chores, and life and you moved on.  You don’t think about it, you don’t even consider there are other possibilities lurking. One of the 1st signs that I needed to pay more attention to future illness (which I completely ignored) was the fact that when I got sick the doctor didn’t always say cold or flu, he started using bronchitis to describe what I had.  Years later it was acute bronchitis or chronic bronchitis, that’s when the light should have gone on, it didn’t and even if it had, I don’t really know what I could have done differently.  When the doctor’s diagnosis used bronchitis far more often than cold or flu, I should have paid real attention.  I should have started questioning what was going on.  Instead, I suffered with it for a couple weeks, and moved on.  By the mid to late 90’s I was diagnosed with bronchitis 2 or 3 times a year.  Other than taking the prescribed meds, the only thing I did was switch from regular to menthol cigarettes.

I never really considered I had any lung issues back then, I was overweight, out of shape, and I was a smoker, these three items alone convinced me that if I fixed them all the other problems would go away.  Back then the most common respiratory issues were cancer and emphysema, and asthma. The many shades and aspects to lung disease were still being (as they continue to be) developed. The doctors were learning more, defining lung illness with different words, finding treatments that worked or some things but not others.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 25, 2012 in Ramblings

 

Leave a Reply

 
secret Blogger

Status : surviving highschool

How the Cookie Crumbles

An irreverant view of life after SIXTY-FIVE

beefandsweettea.wordpress.com/

a story of Southern agriculture

Me, My Magnificent Self

My Journey To Freedom

Kira Moore's Closet

Ever Moving Forward

