RSS

Thoughts on Blogging

03 Jul

I am 62 years old, and I still find out how naive I am.  Over the recent years I have heard an endless dialog about blogging, I have seen movies where if it weren’t for the blog nobody would know anything about anything.  In many many of the books I have read, blogging was a key element in solving the case, again on TV without blogging the world would go down the tubs (no I don’t believe everything I see on TV {at least not since the Flintstones}), and finally for this rant there are countless stories about the effects of blogging.  As of 7pm edt there are approximately 393,580 bloggers, who have posted 645,305 new posts, with a total of 179,653,016 comments, DAMN that’s a lot.  Of all those numbers I have one comment, from a friend that is helping me put this together.  Going back to being nave, I really thought that all you had to do is write it and they would come.  Clearly I was mistaken, but I am going to keep plugging along.  I am going to start a campaign of looking at a couple different blogs daily (well maybe not daily) and leaving comments.  This way someone who is putting the effort to write will have at least one individual who read.  Have a great day.

 
9 Comments

Posted by on July 3, 2012 in Observations

 

9 responses to “Thoughts on Blogging

  1. Jamie

    July 7, 2012 at 4:35 pm

    Very thoughtful observations with a touch of humour. Good one!

     
  2. ham1010

    July 7, 2012 at 6:51 pm

    Jamie, thank you for your kind words, it is truly nice to be read. Have a great day.

     
  3. Wanda

    July 8, 2012 at 7:19 am

    Blogging is work, isn’t it? While it is nice to get comments from other readers, I think it is also therapeutic in terms of simply putting thoughts to paper. Writing a post forces me to concentrate on my subject enough to actually put together something coherent, and I find that is a great stress reducer!

    I’ve mentioned before that I post on a couple of regular memes. I build readership there by commenting on 10-12 other posts (this can take an hour or more especially since I try hard to comment specifically on the topic of their post). Many times those bloggers will return the favor and drop by my blog to leave a comment as well. I do also have a few blogging friends who have added me to their blog readers and when they notice I have a new post they usually leave comments as well. Of course, I do the same with their blog posts.

    Anyway, Bill, I wanted to drop by and just let you know I’m thinking of you today.

     
    • ham1010

      July 8, 2012 at 7:44 am

      Smiling, it is indeed therapeutic even more so than I originally hoped, and for that I am grateful. I have taken to reading at least 3 blogs a day and adding a comment. I would like to think my comments are well thoughtout, but that isn’t always the case, but I am getting better. As for following blogs, I follow yours and one other now, and will continue to add as I am compelled. Wanda, thank you for your continued support in this effort.

       
  4. danneunscripted

    July 25, 2012 at 11:25 am

    Your post made me smile! Thanks for the encouragement, I hope you too are encouraged!

     
    • flaham

      July 25, 2012 at 11:49 am

      I have made it a habit to read at least 4 to 7 blogs everyday and I comment on those I like which is generally 3 or 4 of the group. It has been an interesting journey, and I am still capitavted by what people will write about, and how they make it so interesting. Thanks for your kind words, and Yes I am encouraged. Take care

       
  5. huntmode

    November 16, 2013 at 6:02 pm

    Hi Bill, I discovered your blog today, November 16, 2013 and decided to start at the beginning and catch up to you today. For both our sanities, I shall not comment on all of ’em… Hope it helps to know I am in hot pursuit and genuinely interested in all your posts. You are further along in the COPD path than I, but not by much. The biggest difference is I am not yet on oxygen, but by your posting and my reading of other sites, that is in my future. Thanks for writing this journey – you’re lighting the way for me and, I would guess, many others. HuntMode (from your future!)

     
    • FlaHam

      November 16, 2013 at 11:45 pm

      Hunt, What you will find is in the early days of my blog I wrote a ton of stuff about COPD, but as I have grown, I have begun to write for my granddaughter, so she will know me after I am gone. But because my blog is about COPD I do write specific posts regarding the disease and what I feel, and what I go thru. I try to say the things that many are afraid to talk about in the open. I think if they see my words and works, maybe it will ease their pain and suffering a tiny bit. To know that someone is saying what they maybe feeling. Thanks for taking an interest in my blog, take care, Bill

       
      • huntmode

        November 17, 2013 at 12:21 am

        Seriously, you’ve touched one life today, so you are a success in my book. I love stories and look forward to the notes to your granddaughter. Thanks, Bill. Saying what others are afraid to speak of sounds like a fine thing to me. HuntMode

         

Leave a Reply

 
secret Blogger

Status : surviving highschool

How the Cookie Crumbles

An irreverant view of life after SIXTY-FIVE

beefandsweettea.wordpress.com/

a story of Southern agriculture

Me, My Magnificent Self

My Journey To Freedom

Kira Moore's Closet

Ever Moving Forward

