RSS

How I feel today 7/6/12

06 Jul

This is going to need to be a rehash, because I have been real lazy the last couple days in putting in “How I feel today” notes… these were never intended to be inputted daily but, it has been several days so an update is overdue.

The last true input I had for this subject area was on 6/30/12.  Since then I have visited both my doctors again, and they feel I am doing better.  I will concede that I do think I am doing better as well.  My energy level is up (though I waste a lot of energy), the coughing is down (especially the coughing of that really crappy stuff), and the x-rays, and blood tests I have taken the past week all show signs of improvement.  Yes the pneumonia is still holding its’ own in the upper right portion of my right lung.  It has neither, increased or decreased in size, and I am told that is one of the prime reasons for my continued shortness of breath.

As for me, over the past 5 days I would say my level has been a 3.  But yesterday (7/5/12) was a real grind.  Once a month I have an infusion treatment to help my immune system fight off pneumonia, and the other enemies of my lungs.  The infusion treatment is generally a 4 hour process which occurs once a month.  Yesterday I arrived at the Infusion Center 820am, and started the process almost immediately.  But due to technical difficulties (with the IV) it started, stopped, started, stopped, finally it came to completion at 130pm.  Now I am in the full heat of the day, and had several more chores to do before calling it a day.  Needless to say by the time I got home yesterday I was beat, and this puts further stain on me because it is still early afternoon and I want to be something other than a slug.

Being sick puts a strain on you and everyone around you.  Having an extended illness really adds to that burden, both the person being ill, and those around them who provide comfort and support.  I know I hate being or causing an inconvenience to those that love and support me.  I know my illness wears on them, sometimes even more than it does on me.

So having rambled on for a bit, How do I feel today 7/6/12…  The day has started as a 3.5, I have gotten thru the am meds process, and may even take a nap so I can carry the 3.5 into the afternoon.  I am cooking steak and fries for dinner, so I will need my energy for standing over a hot grill.  That’s a rough job I can still handle.

 
 

5 responses to “How I feel today 7/6/12

  1. huntmode

    December 8, 2013 at 5:20 pm

    Dear Bill, you’ve kept me so busy on my blog, I’ve neglected returning to your past entries. So here’s the real question: How do you make fries? 🙂 I’m a french fry fanatic – probably because of my first job at McDonald’s. The fries have to be just so. And, you?

     
    • FlaHam

      December 8, 2013 at 7:07 pm

      Hunt, I make great fries here at home, though Mickey D’s used to be my favorite. What I do is get some crinkle cut oridea (SP — they come in the red and yellow bag) frozen fries. I take the desired amount from the bag in their frozen state and microwave them at high for 3 1/2 minutes. In a preheated over (450 degrees), I lightly salt and bake for 25 – 27 minutes. They are great !!!! Have been doing it this was for years, and it cuts back so much on the oil. Happy eating. While McDonalds was not my 1st job I was working at the one in Hikespoint (suburb of Louisville) when the sign “Over 1 Million Sold” was installed. Take care, Bill

       
      • huntmode

        December 8, 2013 at 7:45 pm

        Ah…. I would not have your patience, but I am under direct orders to eat as much fattening food as I can and those orders to drink milkshakes have been underlined. I was at a friend’s for lunch and she served bratworst (maybe? a close runner up to hot dogs, but from her own farm’s pigs) and the most fantastic fries I’d ever had at home. I was on her in an instant – “how did you do this?!”

        Laura blinked at me. “I made them in the fryer.”

        “What fryer? Show me!”

        Well, who the hell knew you could have a fryer at home? I think it was her graduation gift to me when I finished my Master’s – my very own shiny deep fryer and I haven’t looked back since. Takes 4 minutes after the oil heats up. Mind, I use Wesson’s, but you could use any of the oils. When they’re done, I turn ’em out onto a paper towel, salt and pepper the heck of them (sticks better) and just before I turn ’em onto my plate, I pat down any excess oil (and salt and pepper ’em again, of course!).

         
        • FlaHam

          December 8, 2013 at 9:36 pm

          Hunt, Except for the fried feast I cook for my breakfast, I only eat about a tenth of the fried food I did years ago. Yes I miss fried chicken, and that is my Achilles. When I cheat it’s 99 pct of the time fried chicken. LOL — Take care, Bill

           
          • huntmode

            December 8, 2013 at 9:54 pm

            Alrighty, fried chicken rates high in my world, too, with that fabulous home gravy – yours over biscuits and mine over white bread (decadence in this healthy world!). Still, keep that fryer in mind – it’s only an instrument – you choose the oil, which can be as healthy as they make it… laughter – and, trust me, they’ve answered the need…. laughter.

             

Leave a Reply

 
secret Blogger

Status : surviving highschool

How the Cookie Crumbles

An irreverant view of life after SIXTY-FIVE

beefandsweettea.wordpress.com/

a story of Southern agriculture

Me, My Magnificent Self

My Journey To Freedom

Kira Moore's Closet

Ever Moving Forward

