RSS

More observations on Blogging

13 Jul

Speaking of blogging, it’s like having a monolog without anyone listening and adding their 2 cents, without the laughing or applauding and of course without the booing.  But I would welcome not only their 2 cents but a buck or more of input and the laughing and booing. There is a freedom when you blog that allows your mind to ramble, or be specific.  In reality you can ramble and be specific in the same paragraph.  It allows you to be entertaining, and serious, it allows you to bare your soul, or make a complete ass of yourself, but for me it allows me to share my thoughts.  Since I have started blogging I have read at least 150 inputs from other bloggers, I am truly amazed as what folks write about, I am amazed at the level of effort they put in to their thoughts no matter how long winded or brief they are, and I am glad they take the time and make that effort. My blogging may reach out and touch someone that has COPD, and maybe that someone isn’t coping as well as I think I am, or maybe it will reach out to someone that is coping so much better than I.  Either way, if I can get them to share their experiences we can both come away with something more than we had.  And this is why I will blog and continue to blog.

My topic of choice throughout my blogs is my dealing with my COPD.  Even when I write something and doesn’t mention being sick, or being tired, more than likely a COPD incident cause the initial thought to spring from my head and climb on the paper.  When blogging I can speak of things, I can express thoughts, I can share feelings, I can show remorse, I can express joy, not only about COPD, but any topic I want.  I can speak of COPD without it feeling like I am trying to have a pity party.

My wife pushed me towards blogging, and I am glad she did.  Writing has been painless so far, it seems I have plenty to say, and I don’t seem to be running out of words.  Blogging has been rewarding and disappointing at the same time.  By the way, the rewards so clearly outweigh any disappointments.  Having the freedom to just talk about COPD and the impact it has on me, and those around me lifts a weight from my shoulders, blogging allows me express and share what I am going thru without the burden of trying to temper my thoughts and words to the audience that may be listening (though I still find I do in fact temper what I say).  As for disappointing, as I said in an earlier blog, I really thought that all I had to do was write something and I would have thousands of people reading it and hanging on my every word, laughing at myself, that hasn’t quite worked out.  But the freedom, the ability, to just write and express makes it all worthwhile.  When writing I will always be reaching out to others, especially those with COPD or another terminal disease.  Seeking their knowledge, their wisdom, and their input.

Thanks for the opportunity to continue rambling.

 
10 Comments

Posted by on July 13, 2012 in Observations, Ramblings

 

10 responses to “More observations on Blogging

  1. huntmode

    December 8, 2013 at 5:46 pm

    This is exactly what blogging is like and re the feedback it takes time for people to find you. Reporting in from the future, Bill, I can tell you your effort pays back big time. Soft smile. Keep on keeping on. The Eagle has landed.

     
    • FlaHam

      December 8, 2013 at 6:59 pm

      Hunt, We have become acquainted just recently, and I have become a huge fan of you and your blog. With fandom comes friendship and we are becoming fast friends. Thank you for your support, thank you from your notes from the future. When I started I never knew I would love writing as much as I do. I never thought anyone would really get it, because I never thought I would be found. I have been found, and the encouragement, the warmth, and the friendships I have developed both here and at Daily Strength have me so very much. Take care, Bill

       
      • huntmode

        December 8, 2013 at 7:36 pm

        Ah, Bill, that is not, ahem, strictly true. You wrote of your belief you’d be found instanteously and were SHOCKED it hadn’t happened yet – LMBO (I’m cool!) – you’ve done it and are doing it, Bill. HuntMode (2013)

         
        • FlaHam

          December 8, 2013 at 9:33 pm

          Hunt, When I started I read 10 to 20 posts a day, and if i liked it I hit like button and moved on. But I remembered an incident when I spend a summer washing dishes at a country club. One of the waiters befriended me and would chat with me late into the evening as I washed a put away the dishes. He explained to me if I tipped good as an adult I would get those tips back 10 fold. I applied to lesson to my blog. And I began to comment on random blogs, I knew the charge I got when someone actually commented on something I wrote, so this was my way of paying it forward. It still works. Take care, Bill

           
          • huntmode

            December 8, 2013 at 9:43 pm

            D’accord, Bill. Somewhere along the way, I absorbed that I might not get paid back by the person I’d done a good deed for – that, in fact, it might come in from someone else, which makes it so easy to be kind – not from self-interest, but that little counter in the head that keeps track of things… Grin.

             
            • FlaHam

              December 8, 2013 at 10:02 pm

              Hunt, Not since I was a little kid did I do something nice, in hopes of getting something nice in return. I give of myself freely, as I image you give of yourself, without expectations. I think the point of the story is if you give of yourself, you will get your reward. My comments I considered to be random acts of kindness. Nothing more. Take care, Bill

               
              • huntmode

                December 9, 2013 at 12:04 am

                You may be many things, Bill, but random is not one of them. Best ~ HuntMode

                 
                • FlaHam

                  December 9, 2013 at 12:28 am

                  Sweet Hunt, I am not sure I know what your implying at this point. But it won’t be the 1st nor last time this happens. – Take care BIll

                   
                  • huntmode

                    December 9, 2013 at 2:04 am

                    Only good polite things.

                     
                  • FlaHam

                    December 9, 2013 at 6:55 am

                    Hunt, Thank you

                     

Leave a Reply

 
secret Blogger

Status : surviving highschool

How the Cookie Crumbles

An irreverant view of life after SIXTY-FIVE

beefandsweettea.wordpress.com/

a story of Southern agriculture

Me, My Magnificent Self

My Journey To Freedom

Kira Moore's Closet

Ever Moving Forward

