RSS

My 2nd counseling session

18 Jul

Today July 17, 2012 I had my 2nd counseling (mental health) session.  In last’s weeks blog I spoke at length on what drove me to counseling, and how I viewed the results. The most burning issue from that session was “How would the dying process going to work?”  Linda (my counselor) and I had an extremely good session addressing this, and I was satisfied with the results of our conversation.  I understood then and further understand that each persons experience is different, how they react is different, and their moods and emotions are in a constant swinging mode.  But like I said last week, the answer and insight provided by Linda was what I needed at the time.  And thru that conversation, I had received what I was looking for.  I agreed to a 2nd session because it seemed like the right thing to do and because when I left her office last week I wasn’t sure I had all I needed.  A week later I am pretty sure I in fact had what I needed and after another extended conversation with Linda we both agreed that nothing further would be gained continuing the sessions.  But I did retain the right to call her and re-establish sessions if or when I needed them.  Linda welcomed this, and that is how we left it.

Now on to a summary of today’s session.  We kinda had a rehash of our conversation last week, we didn’t dwell on any particular subject, and we reinforced the key elements from last week.  We again spoke of what the dying process could/would be like, what expectations I should have, what decisions need to be made before hand, and what rights I had during the process.  We also talked about counseling, the criteria for selecting a counselor for a patient, the setting, what she as a counselor looked for, and how she had to work sometimes to get there, using a variety of tools (white board in particular).  She used the conversation to determine the state of the individual patient, and from there built her therapy approach.  This is me reading a lot between the lines.  Having said all that we also discussed why I came to counseling in the 1st place.  I decided to seek counseling because I was so far in the dumps, I had suffered my 2nd severe case of pneumonia in 6 months, and (at the time) 4 weeks post hospital stay, I was still on an intense IV drug treatment, and that I was still feeling like crap.  My mental state was questionable to me, and many dark thoughts had entered my mind.  All of this, plus input from family and friends took me where I felt it was necessary.

Shortly after I made the original appointment (with Linda), I started to make small gains in my health, the drugs were finally starting to work on the pneumonia, and I was starting to perk up.  The improvement of my health, plus the conversation with Linda, did wonders in getting me over the hump, and pushing the dark thoughts back to their little cave.   I know the dark thoughts will never go away completely, and I know now how important it will be to maintain a positive attitude.  Linda’s assessment of me had me in a good state, according to her I am not a mental case, that I am rational, aware, seem to have normal mood swings, that my attitude is fine considering I do have a terminal disease, and that overall I am mentally okay.  She did continue by saying that from time to time my situation may become overbearing, and that when that should happen counseling would be a good idea, if for no other reason to allow me an opportunity to vent.  I immediately recognized the value of this, and promised to keep her number handy.

By mutual agreement we decided that no further sessions were necessary.  But we would keep the book open to the possibility that I may need counseling further down the road.

 
11 Comments

Posted by on July 18, 2012 in Observations

 

Tags: , ,

11 responses to “My 2nd counseling session

  1. Wanda

    July 18, 2012 at 5:10 pm

    It sounds like Linda has been/can continue to be a good resource for you–someone who doesn’t have the emotional ties that you have established with your family and friends–and thus can evaluate and respond to your situation differently than the rest of us can.

    And I will have to agree with Linda on at least one point–you strike as one of the most rational people I know. I’ve seen you wild, a little bit crazy, madder than **ll while bowling, frustrated with dominoes, and dominant at cards, but never once have I thought you were irrational. Beyond all that, I credit you with making most of our good times some of the best times we’ve had!

     
  2. huntmode

    December 8, 2013 at 6:05 pm

    What a friend you have in this Wanda, Bill. It seems to me, if memory serves, she is still with you in December of 2013. I am glad that on this day you had found some peace and resolution of what was of concern. These are building blocks and they come in handy on those days when the blues, mental, emotional and physical knock you down. Again, good on you, Bill.

     
    • FlaHam

      December 8, 2013 at 6:41 pm

      Hunt, Wanda is indeed a very good friend, and she has been a friend for several years. We meet bowling in 2004, and our friendship has grown since. Also she is married to my best friend Art. They are a wonderful couple, and both have helped in ways I can’t measure. Hunt, each day when I wake, I have the opportunity to continue go grow. I used each building block, some mortar and some mental sweat, to continue building on my own foundation. I am a work in progress, and I will be for at least a week or so after I am gone. LOL LOL. Take care, Bill

       
      • huntmode

        December 8, 2013 at 7:27 pm

        Oh, I do love that image of you busily being a mason after you’ve gone… Leaving no stone unturned…. grin.

         
        • FlaHam

          December 8, 2013 at 7:30 pm

          Hunt, as you well know, life is a continuing process, and we are constantly building on our past. Sometimes we want to reach back and destroy parts of it, but its how we learn from those mistakes and build from them that really count. Take care, Bill

           
          • huntmode

            December 8, 2013 at 8:51 pm

            “inded and in deed, Bill.” Big grin.

             
            • FlaHam

              December 8, 2013 at 9:43 pm

              Hunt, I have already told you I needed a good editor, your comment just proved my points. LOL LOL LOL Take care, Bill PS — I know how you feel now, when you open your mail box and there are a zillion comments in it. It is so wonderfully overwhelming LOL.

               
              • huntmode

                December 9, 2013 at 12:00 am

                And then, just as you get clear, the other has caught up on response! As you say, great feeling!

                 
  3. huntmode

    December 8, 2013 at 8:52 pm

    Okay, that should have read, “Indeed and in deed.” So much for being clever… laughter.

     
    • FlaHam

      December 8, 2013 at 9:43 pm

      Hunt, even my editor needs an editor apparently. LOL LOL Take care, Bill

       

Leave a Reply

 
secret Blogger

Status : surviving highschool

How the Cookie Crumbles

An irreverant view of life after SIXTY-FIVE

beefandsweettea.wordpress.com/

a story of Southern agriculture

Me, My Magnificent Self

My Journey To Freedom

Kira Moore's Closet

Ever Moving Forward

