RSS

A moment of Silence Please!!!!!

18 Aug

Good day folks, I have sat here at my computer 2 or 6 times over that last 37 hours mulling over things I would write for my next blog submission.  Many a topic crossed my mind, including go-karting, high school dances (the 60’s variety), idiots that run red lights, and being a jock (kinda sorta) to name a few.  But my granddaughter has been visiting, and for the last 2 nights I have tied up every drop of my creative juices in keeping her entertained.  I am not saying she is high maintenance, because maintenance to this level has not been created. By the way she is only 7, and she is a GIRL! So I go into each of her visits with some level of expectation.  And let me be perfectly clear, I love each of her visits, I love our conversations, I love playing in the pool, I love beating her at WII bowling and baseball, I enjoy when we sit and she reads to me, and I love how damn cute she is.

Having said that, I need to make sure you understand I am 62, and I have some health issues.  Neither of these facts are my granddaughter’s fault.  I clearly am glad I have made it to 62.  But I have long ago forgot what it’s like to be 7, I have never understood girls (especially when I was a boy), and as I have aged (noticed I didn’t say matured) my understanding of women is rudimentary at best, and that is on a good day.  But back to my granddaughter, she is polite, smart, and has the attention span of a nat.  And sometimes it is all about her.  Yes, I have spoiled her, and I make no bones about it.

But from the moment she walks in the door, dragging her suitcase and toy case behind her, there is no peace in the house, there is no moment when she is not vying for your attention, and talk talk talk, lord have mercy.  She is like the energizer bunny on steroids. I would not be able to keep up with her if I were 10 years younger and in perfect health. My wife and I take turns hiding, we do our best to sneak off to our quiet places for a moment of silence, 15 or 30 seconds of blessed silence, before our granddaughter chases us down to ask if she can watch Disney again, or if she can watch a movie (Rio is in great demand now), or play on the WII, or play cards, or this that and the other.  And the fact of the matter is I do, I do play WII, I do play cards, I do watch a movie or Disney, because that’s what grandparents do.   At the end of the day, when she is just chillin, I am beat, I have fought the good fight and I lost.

My granddaughter is a joy, she truly is, watching her read makes me proud and seeing her swim in the pool takes a way a tiny bit of the fear when she is playing in the pool.  Listening her describe her day, is so much fun, or hearing her report about the upcoming school year and what she thinks she will learn, all make me so damn glad I am a grandparent.  But while she is visiting all I want is a moment of SILENCE.  When she goes home I look back on the visit and that wasn’t so bad, I didn’t raise my voice by once or whatever.  I reflect on the WII game or playing in the pool, and my anticipation starts to climb as I begin looking forward to the next visit.  But within hours of her walking in the door, I truly am looking for a moment of SILENCE.

In fairness to her parents I also like to amp her up just before she leave to go home, a nice long nap (finally) some chocolate for dessert, and a coke will generally keep her going well into the evening. But as I am say this, I am sure her parents look at each other and wonder what got into her, as they too seek a moment of silence.

Have a good day.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on August 18, 2012 in Humor, Observations, Ramblings

 

Tags: , , ,

4 responses to “A moment of Silence Please!!!!!

  1. jmgoyder

    August 18, 2012 at 11:28 pm

    This is hilarious!

     
  2. Wanda

    August 20, 2012 at 5:13 pm

    This post has a great sense of energy to it. As you say, even people in perfect health would be challenged to keep up with a 7-year-old. I’m chuckling at the idea of you and S. taking turns hiding out to get a moment of peace. And shame on you for getting her ramped up just as she goes home!

    BTW, I remember Karen when at 5-6-7. There were times when all three of us were in the car where I would tell her to be quiet for a few minutes because “my ears are tired!” (You have my permission to use this if you think it will help.)

     
  3. Squirt

    September 15, 2012 at 12:21 am

    LOL you can just ask her to be quiet for a few minutes 🙂 We have to!

     
    • FlaHam

      September 16, 2012 at 10:24 am

      LMAO, she doesn’t listen to me often, and generally it’s when I say “Okay you can get back in the pool.” LOL LOL She is a good kid, and I love her dearly and it’s times like last weekend when we cuddle on the bed watching a movie that makes it all worth while. Love Dad

       

Leave a Reply

 
secret Blogger

Status : surviving highschool

How the Cookie Crumbles

An irreverant view of life after SIXTY-FIVE

beefandsweettea.wordpress.com/

a story of Southern agriculture

Me, My Magnificent Self

My Journey To Freedom

Kira Moore's Closet

Ever Moving Forward

