RSS

How I feel today 08/24/12

24 Aug

Today is a 3.5 day, the weather is cooperating, my coughing isn’t as significant as it has been the last few days, and while I am still not sleeping real well, I think it may have something to do with all the chocolate I have been eating after dinner.  Because I don’t drink much coffee, I am pretty sure the caffeine in the chocolate is doing its job keeping me fired up.  I am going to pay closer attention to this over the next few days or until the Hershey’s runs out, whichever comes first.

As I noted earlier I had an infrared coagulation of the turbinate procedure on 08/22/12.  That procedure was completely successful.  The entire procedure took a total of 8 minutes.  No discomfort, no blood, in/out and home 40 minutes from the start of the procedure.

At 8am this morning I had my semi-annual appointment with my heart Doctor.  Bp was 92/64 pulse less than 100, oxygen level was 95 (at 2.5) weight, well we won’t talk about that.  But it was more than he or I wanted it to be.  The doctor was quite happy with all of my vitals.

The appointment went well.  The Doctor reduced my blood pressure medicine by 50 percent. He assured me that he did not see any heart related issues, other than those caused by the COPD.  There was no indication at all of congestive heart failure, and that he felt the shortness of breath was again purely COPD related.  He also completely supports my efforts in regard to pulmonary rehab.

Overall I have had a good health week, at my lowest point I felt like I was at a 3 level, and the highest 3.5.  That is a consistent week, and I will take that every week.

Have a Great Day ! !  Your comments are appreciated.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on August 24, 2012 in How I feel on a particular day

 

Tags: , ,

6 responses to “How I feel today 08/24/12

  1. Wanda

    August 24, 2012 at 6:44 pm

    A sigh of relief over the good report from the heart doctor…I may have missed or misunderstood it, but what’s the deal with pulmonary rehab?

     
    • FlaHam

      August 24, 2012 at 9:37 pm

      Wanda, I have been trying to get myself into pulmonary rehab since my last hospital visit. It is a 2 part thing, part 1 will teach me techniques for breathing that will allow me to catch a better breath and the 2nd part is physical therapy. It will be 3 times a week, 90 mins per session for 12 weeks.

       
    • FlaHam

      August 29, 2012 at 10:16 pm

      Wanda, there are two components, my physical fitness and my breathing. The nurses focuse on my breathing as I exercise. Reminding to breath right, inhale thru my nose and exhale thru my mouth, thru purse lips, and to try and exhale twice as long as you inhale. The second method of breathing is the Adominal breathing method, where as you use the adominal muscles to help you take fuller deeper breaths. I had not been practicing either method of breathing, so this should help the more I become used to it. — take care, Bill

       
  2. Pat Fraser

    August 24, 2012 at 7:09 pm

    Good news. Stay alert for the storm.

     
    • FlaHam

      August 29, 2012 at 10:10 pm

      Thank you, sorry I didn’t respond sooner, the storm was a total non-issue for us. My concern now is for the folks in the LA MS area as Iassc moves North.

       
  3. DeeDee Granata

    August 28, 2012 at 12:43 pm

    Just sayin’ hi! Have a great day!

     

Leave a Reply

 
secret Blogger

Status : surviving highschool

How the Cookie Crumbles

An irreverant view of life after SIXTY-FIVE

beefandsweettea.wordpress.com/

a story of Southern agriculture

Me, My Magnificent Self

My Journey To Freedom

Kira Moore's Closet

Ever Moving Forward

