RSS

How I feel today 8/29/2012….

29 Aug

I am stringing together a bunch of 3.0 and 3.5 days. Today I would say is another 3.5 day. Which beats the hell out of a 2.5 day. At some point I may change the scale to provide myself a wider range to express my current condition, but that sounds like it would be more trouble than it’s worth. The coughing is still there and still consistent as previously addressed.

Today I completed the 2nd of 36 pulmonary rehab sessions. I do seven exercises during a session which include: at least 8 minutes on the treadmill at 2 to 2.2 mph, no grade yet, walking the stairs up and down 3 steps for 4 minutes, the air dyne arms machine, which works the arms and shoulders, kinda like a rowing machine, I do this for 4 mins at a rate of 45 rpm, I work the hand weights, 10 reps of each exercise (10 different exercises) at 5 lbs per hand, the recliner bike, which is a pia but better known as a stationary bike, and I pedal along at the level of resistant I can handle for 3 to 4 minutes (and get absolutely nowhere), the nu-step machine which works both the shoulders and legs at the same time for 10 minutes at resistance level of 4, and finally the arm crank which is like a generator you would see in an old WWII movie with the soldier just a cranking away, I do this to the level of generating 5 watts, for 4 minutes. Between each exercise my O2 level and heart rate are checked.

As part of the daily check in process my weight is checked (which my fat ass won’t share with you), my BP and heart rate are noted/checked (which was BP 102/62), my heart rate (pulse) was checked (100), and my O2 level was checked (94 at 2.5). I use facility provided oxygen during the PT and the tank they provide does not have a 2.5 setting, so I use 3 ltrs during exercises. So using 3 liters in a non-exercise mode my O2 level is between 95 to 98 pct. Today the highest my heart rate got was 115 and that was on the treadmill and the stairs. The lowest my O2 level dropped was 81 pct on the nu-step and treadmill (I was pushing it hard). For the most part at the end of a given exercise my O2 level was around 91 or 92 which I am very happy with. It means I can push a little harder on those exercises and I will. The goal is to improve or remain the same session to session. No back sliding is allowed. For me I will look for improvement in each exercise, with the ultimate goal of trying to gain back as much of my stamina as I can.   Trust me you won’t be getting a session my session recount of my PT’s, but from time to time I will up-date you on my progress.  As my tolerance increases and I make progress additional exercises will be added to the PT sessions most of these additional exercises will involve extensive weigth work.

Throughout the PT session the nurse reminds me to use the pursed-lip breathing method.  They also offer Diaphragmatic Breathing or abdominal breathing.  Detailed information about both of these breathing methods can be found online. The pursed-lip breathing method works very well for me while I exercise.  I will be honest and say I have not given the abdominal breathing method much of a workout.  But I will continue exploring it when I am in a sit about mode.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on August 29, 2012 in How I feel on a particular day

 

Tags: , , , , ,

6 responses to “How I feel today 8/29/2012….

  1. jmgoyder

    August 29, 2012 at 9:48 pm

    Your humour is wonderful!

     
    • FlaHam

      August 29, 2012 at 10:05 pm

      Thank you Julie, COPD is a hard enough subject on it’s own, the least I can try to do is soften it a tiny bit to get my word out.

       
  2. Wanda

    August 30, 2012 at 5:24 am

    This sounds like quite the workout, Bill. Good luck with it! As always you are doing your level best to improve despite the disease.

     
  3. DeeDee Granata

    August 31, 2012 at 6:09 am

    Love reading your blog! Sounds like pulmonary rehab will be work and fun?

     
  4. kaysfairytale

    September 2, 2012 at 3:39 pm

    Frankly this looks like a hard workout for a completely healthy person! Hats off to you!

     

Leave a Reply

 
secret Blogger

Status : surviving highschool

How the Cookie Crumbles

An irreverant view of life after SIXTY-FIVE

beefandsweettea.wordpress.com/

a story of Southern agriculture

Me, My Magnificent Self

My Journey To Freedom

Kira Moore's Closet

Ever Moving Forward

