RSS

How I Feel Today 9/6/12….

06 Sep

I am still stringing together 3.0 and 3.5 days. Today I would say is another 3 day. My coughing seems to have slowed down to a manageable level, and for the most part I feel good.  The infection in my left elbow is clearing up but the elbow is still a bit tender and quite weak.  When I worked out yesterday (the center was closed on Monday) I could not do a lot of the upper body exercises because of tenderness in that elbow.  So I doubled up on a couple of the lower body exercises to keep the progress going.  I have found of all the exercises there are two I really can’t stand, and if could I try to fluff off one it would be the amp crank (you are cranking what would seem like a generator) and it is pure arms and shoulders, I really hate this one, but so I have stayed the course and have given 100 pct effort into it. The other one I hate is the stairs, up and down, up and friggin down, up and down, I start huffing and puffing and I can’t blow the house down.  After about 6 friggin minutes I feel like my heart is going to explode, and I am sweating like Niagara Falls.  This has got to be the longest six minutes in my life.  They use a digital timer for this event and to avoid watching it (because the time never moves while I stare at it) I grab the handrails close my eyes and count up 3 steps, pause, down three steps, kick, pause, and up three…… blab, blab, blab. After doing this for about a half hour I open my eyes and see a whole 45 seconds has gone by.  I cuss silently, using all the good words, but keep going.

I have been working on the breathing exercises as well, and what I am coming to find out is when my body gets real stressed I am jumping to the pursed-lip breathing method without thinking about it, and this is good, very good.  It really seems to help calm me, and allow me to get oxygen fast enough to not be floundering.  And I haven’t hyper-ventilated, which is equally important.

I had good numbers at my daily weight in (which my fat ass won’t share with you but I have lost a pound), my BP and heart rate were noted/checked (which was BP 108/58), my heart rate (pulse) was checked (97), and my o2 level was checked (95 at 2.5). I use facility provided oxygen during the PT and the tank they provide does not have a 2.5 setting, so I use 3 liters during exercises. So using 3 liters in a non-exercise mode my o2 level was 96 pct.  That is more than enough info on my vitals LOL LOL.

Today my 3 brothers are coming to town for the weekend.  This is the 1st time in over 40 years that the 4 of us have been under the same roof over night.  I have been lookin forward to this visit since they announced they wanted to come visit.  It will be a fun weekend.  The pool is warm, the beer is cold, and the grill is almost cleaned.

Take care, and have a great weekend.

 
9 Comments

Posted by on September 6, 2012 in How I feel on a particular day

 

Tags: , , ,

9 responses to “How I Feel Today 9/6/12….

  1. tashaeaton

    September 6, 2012 at 1:13 pm

    Browsing around, I saw your title and it caught my attention because I lost my grandmother to this disease many years ago. My goal with my own blog is to inspire people to live a healthier life and part of that started with what I learned from her. I think it’s great that you are openly blogging about your daily life. It could be an eyeopener to someone, you never know…

     
    • FlaHam

      September 8, 2012 at 9:19 am

      Tashaeaton, I started my blog to increase awareness, and to provide input and conversation for anyone dealing with COPD. If my words help someone cope, if they inspire someone to do something positive wonderful. I wish you all the luck with your blog, the more voices out there talking about and trying to do something about COPD will help many many people. Thank you

       
  2. Pat Fraser

    September 6, 2012 at 3:26 pm

    I have no doubt this visit with your brothers will be all you exspect. Make some great memories

     
    • FlaHam

      September 8, 2012 at 9:16 am

      Pat, The are all younger than me, and my wife swears we have all reatained our childish behavior, some more than others. But we are having a great time. Thanks again, Bill

       
  3. Karen Gumpert Bixler

    September 6, 2012 at 8:59 pm

    Bill I hope you can report that your are feeling better with this rehab. It does sound pretty intensive. Have a wonderful weekend with your brothers.

     
    • FlaHam

      September 8, 2012 at 9:15 am

      Karen, thank you for your kind words, they are greatly appreciated. BTW I am having a great time with the brothers.

       
    • FlaHam

      September 9, 2012 at 8:23 pm

      Karen, Thank you for your words of support, and while a jock wouldn’t think this is even worth talking about, to me, with my issues, it is very intense, But each session should be less so as my body adjusts. Again thank you. Bill

       
  4. DeeDee Granata

    September 10, 2012 at 3:54 am

    Great job with the workouts! I need to get on those again. Glad you and your brothers could get together. Sounds fun

     
  5. Wanda

    September 10, 2012 at 4:35 am

    S. wasn’t kidding when she said that getting better and trying to stay well is a more-than-fulltime job for you. I look forward to hearing about your visit with your brothers.

     

Leave a Reply

 
secret Blogger

Status : surviving highschool

How the Cookie Crumbles

An irreverant view of life after SIXTY-FIVE

beefandsweettea.wordpress.com/

a story of Southern agriculture

Me, My Magnificent Self

My Journey To Freedom

Kira Moore's Closet

Ever Moving Forward

