RSS

Phase 2 — A Moment of Silence Please….

11 Sep

Good day folks, on 8/18/12 I wrote “A moment of Silence Please!!! It was a blog about a visit from my granddaughter, and being entertainment central, and dealing with a 7 year old girl.  I mulled over and over about what to write that day before I choose this topic, many topics had crossed my mind including; go-karting, high school dances (the 60’s variety), idiots that run red lights, and being a jock (kinda sorta) made up the short list.  But not this time, no sir, not at all, I dropped my brothers off at the airport at 9:37am Sunday morning, 7 minutes later than brother nr 2 wanted, but I knew exactly what I would be writing about long before we got to the airport.  I had known what this blog was going to be Thursday evening, after picking my brothers up at 2:00pm Thursday afternoon. By the way, to protect the guilty I won’t name names, but I will number them.  I am the oldest of the family siblings and I am 62, nr 1 brother is 59, nr 2 brother is 58, and nr 3 brother is 50, and throughout this post I will refer to them as 1, 2 or 3.  This blog sprang, leaped, jumped right to the very front of the list, and I am writing this out of love for my 3 brothers, I have a sister who is 55 but she didn’t make this trip.

Imagine Curly, Moe and Larry, the three little pigs (maybe not so little), Larry, Darryl and Darryl, Huey, Duey, and Luie, or any other magical threesome you can think of, if you put them on steroids that would be my brothers.  Imagine if you will (play theme from Twilight Zone in background), a symphony of a childish behavior, a ballet of foolishness, an avalanche of BS (I mean piled high), that was how the weekend was spent. Please understand that we have not shared a dwelling together overnight in over 43 years. The last time we spend the night together we all still lived at home, just before I joined the Navy (April 1969).  It was like we hadn’t missed a day.  I picked the 3 up at 1:45 on Thursday, after a quick rounds of hugs, handshakes and gosh it great to see you’s, they jumped in the car.  We hadn’t even got out of the terminal area of the airport before brother 3 started in “Are we there yet? Are we there yet? tapping on the back of my seat.   It wasn’t done in ugliness, it was done to annoy.  And my brothers believe in unity, like the 3 musketeers, all for one, one for all.  Brother 1 was sitting shotgun, and immediately started playing with the radio, brother 2 was starring off into the distance awaiting his chance, and he took it, again and again.  The trip from the airport to my home is 35 mins on a bad day, 25 on a good day.  Let me say this was the longest 25 minutes I have encountered in a long long time.  I loved the flood of emotions, and the hided smiles each time I took a shot. Also understand when I drive someplace I choose the most direct way I can.  My father had a habit of always finding the longest possible way to get from point A to point B. Another driving habit he has was he never went the same way twice, riding with Dad was an adventure. So having said this, brother 2 was going on and on about how he hadn’t been this way before, and asked if we were lost, did any of the landmarks look familiar.  Once brother 2 started, in jumped brothers 1 and 3, as they too climbed on that band wagon.   Folks, at this point I am only half way home.

Once home, the brothers unpacked and gathered on the pool deck, brother 3 with his 1st of many beers for the weekend, brother 2 a diet coke, and brother 1 a beer.  We immediately started reminiscing, talking about our parents, neighbors from our childhood, and the millions of stories available to each of us.  Brother 3 is going thru a divorce, so we got all the sorted details, and as sorted as those details were we still teased brother 3 about any one of a zillion things we could/would tell his future ex-wife.

Of course the coarse jokes flowed, and flowed.  Brother 3 waited until my wife was home and sitting with us before he told the grossest joke of the weekend, and NO I will not share it.  Of course being the juveniles we are, all burped together, trying to out loud each other. Brother 3 clearly won this, actually he was the only contestant LOL LOL.   But just imagine a group of 4 brothers sitting around trying to out do the others, the stupid farts jokes came and went, whining about sleeping arrangements.  Brother 1 couldn’t understand why brother 2 got the private bedroom just to be whining about something.  But every bit was fun.   Watching TV was an event, my wife has a chair, and it is sacrite, and no one sits in it, it’s almost like Archie Bunker’s wingback chair, anyway the 4 of us brothers shared the two sofas (each 3 cushions) in the den. And even with this much room, there was the necessary pushing and leaning, the bumping, and then closeness. You would think with that much space no one would be touching, but brother 3 was the 1st to yell out “he’s touching me,” these scenes were funny as hell, straight from a Mel Brooks movie, we could not have been more childish, and we couldn’t shown each other more love.

No matter what we did over the weekend it was a comedy of errors, it would be like pre-adolescent boys gone wild.  It was fun and it was a joy .  LMAO but it was enough !!!  When we were kids we were at each others throats all the time.  But over this 3 day period we really didn’t go there, I suspect had you left us together for 3 or 4 more days, there would have been blood!!!  Just kidding.  Three days was enough time for everyone to catch up, it was enough time to realize we did love each other, it was enough time for all the childishness.  But after three days it was time to get back to our own lives.

Like when my granddaughter goes home, there is a moment of silence that I cherish, the same holds true when my brothers got out of the vehicle at the airport.  The childishness was over, and the good byes were serious and heartfelt.  And just like visits from my Granddaughter, I look forward to the next time they come in mass to visit.  The beer will be iced, I will create a map for nr 2, and I won’t stop to car to put out the 1st one that asks “Are WE THERE YET???”

Thank you for listening, have a great day.

 
11 Comments

Posted by on September 11, 2012 in Observations, Ramblings

 

Tags: , , , , ,

11 responses to “Phase 2 — A Moment of Silence Please….

  1. Pat Fraser

    September 11, 2012 at 2:04 pm

    Great blog, what kind of flowers did you get for your wife’s bouquet. Lol

     
    • FlaHam

      September 11, 2012 at 4:15 pm

      Pat, my wife was a real trooper, she truly was. But she claims next time she will go visit her friends in a place far away. LOL LOL LOL — Take care, Bill

       
    • FlaHam

      September 16, 2012 at 10:27 am

      Pat, I didn’t get her flowers, but I did concede that maybe next time they came to visit it might be a good weekend for her to visit her friends. LOL LOL Though in fairness my wife did enjoy the brothers visit.

       
  2. jmgoyder

    September 12, 2012 at 12:27 am

    Sounds like so much fun!

     
    • FlaHam

      September 12, 2012 at 6:50 am

      We did have a great time, I have spoken with each of the since they got home, and they are fired up to do it again. I just need a bit more recovery time LOL LOL.

       
    • FlaHam

      September 16, 2012 at 10:27 am

      JM — thank you it was a great time, I hadn’t spent that much time with my brothers in what seems like a million years. Thanks for you comments. Bill

       
  3. Wanda

    September 14, 2012 at 6:07 am

    I can tell just from the energy of your writing here just how much fun you had. This was a great read, and I especially like how you linked this experience with your granddaughter’s visits.

     
  4. Rosey

    September 15, 2012 at 3:44 am

    Bill….wow….I loved reading about your escapades with your brothers! you all sound so much like my brothers, the only diff is nr 3 is kinda, well, a pretty boy. Hot wife, works out. Well mannered. At least he thinks so LOL. Brother nr 1 passed away back in 06 but we all still laugh about his funny, silly and sometimes dirty jokes still to this day. Brothers are the best. So glad you got to spend time with all of them. Cherish those moments. By the way, tell your wife she can come hang with me next time! LOL

     
    • FlaHam

      September 16, 2012 at 10:22 am

      Rosey, again thank you for taking the time to read and enjoy my blog. I appreciate your comments. Smiling there are no pretty boys amoung us brothers. I am glad me and my brothers remind you of yours, that is a wonderful compliment. Take care, Bill

       
    • FlaHam

      November 12, 2012 at 5:53 am

      Rosey,

      I am sorry that I missed this originally. I am glad you enjoyed the story of me and my brothers, it was a great weekend, and one I do hope happens again. Finding this comment stirred up the plesant memories from that weekend. It sounds like your brothers were hell on wheels just like mine. Your a sweetie, and I will tell my wife that she can escape and visit you the next time the brothers invade. Again Thanks — Take care, Bill

       
  5. DeeDee Granata

    September 17, 2012 at 8:02 am

    What fun! Loved it.

     

Leave a Reply

 
secret Blogger

Status : surviving highschool

How the Cookie Crumbles

An irreverant view of life after SIXTY-FIVE

beefandsweettea.wordpress.com/

a story of Southern agriculture

Me, My Magnificent Self

My Journey To Freedom

Kira Moore's Closet

Ever Moving Forward

