RSS

How I feel today 10/11/12 ….

11 Oct

I have been quite remiss, and I will do better.  This is my 1st “How I feel today” post since September 29, 2012.  Not much has changed, I have been running consistently at the 3.0 level.  I have been fighting a runny nose, a persistent cough and run down feeling (all the cold symptoms).  Of course the runny nose and associated drip help to foster the cough, and when I cough and eat sometimes I choke, what a damn daisy chain LOL LOL.  So sometimes I medicate myself (using Afrin and Sudafed) and saying sometimes is a gross understatement.  I use both Afrin and Sudafed on a regular basis.  Yes I realize it is wrong, but it is the only way I get relief.  I have also admitted to this to both doctors, and while neither of them is happy, neither of them have cracked my knuckles with a ruler either.  All of this to say while I don’t feel terrible, but not totally up to what my normal day-to-day speed is.  I have talked with both of my doctors, and while my lungs sound good to them, they are always concerned.

My infectious disease doctor ordered a CT Scan of my sinus in hopes of chasing down what is causing my runny drippy nose.  It isn’t allergies because I am this way all the time, so it doesn’t appear to be seasonable.  The scan might begin to shed light on the situation.   And once a determination is made we will proceed from there.  Note: I really have come to hate having a CT Scan, laying down flat on my back is extremely uncomfortable.  I no sooner get laid down and a panic attack strikes.  I swear I feel like I am drowning in my own mucus.  For today CT scan, I had to physc myself up, I practiced my pursed lip breathing, and then laid down. It took three efforts and what finally worked was I laid on my side with my head straight up, and I pursed-lip breathed.  That was the longest 2 minutes of my life, it seemed to take forever, the young tech was very understanding and didn’t rush me, which helped considerable.

My PT’s are working out great. I am currently doing 15-20 minutes on the treadmill (legs), 5 minutes on the hand crank (arms and shoulders), and 6 to 7 minutes on the nu-step (legs and shoulders).  Then I work thru a 6 station weight workout.  Each machine has 2 weight exercises. I currently do 2 reps of 10 to 15 each at a minimum of 30 lbs per station.  On the leg machines I generally to minimum 50 lbs.  My legs have always been my strong suit so I can handle more weight and do more reps on those exercises.

Thanks for taking the time to visit my blog, your comments are always welcome.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 11, 2012 in How I feel on a particular day

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “How I feel today 10/11/12 ….

  1. jmgoyder

    October 11, 2012 at 10:18 pm

    You are a hero!

     
    • FlaHam

      October 12, 2012 at 10:20 pm

      Soft smile, I sure don’t feel like a hero, just someone doing what’s necessary. And being happy each day when I wake up. T\hank you for taking the time to visit and read my posts, that makes me smile. — Bill

       

Leave a Reply

 
secret Blogger

Status : surviving highschool

How the Cookie Crumbles

An irreverant view of life after SIXTY-FIVE

beefandsweettea.wordpress.com/

a story of Southern agriculture

Me, My Magnificent Self

My Journey To Freedom

Kira Moore's Closet

Ever Moving Forward

