RSS

How I Feel Today 10/31/12….

31 Oct

First off I feel I should scare the crap out of someone today, after all it is Halloween.  LOL LOL  Maybe I could fake a heart attack, that would scare the crap out of my wife, and then she would kill me.  So that isn’t a great idea.  I think I will just give out candy to the kids, and let someone else worry about scaring the crap out of folks.

Overall I continue to feel at the 3 level.  The cough that I have been suffering with the past few weeks finally seems to be coming to an end, and the stuffy nose while still stuffy doesn’t seem as bad.   As I reported last week after much to do it appears (thankfully) that there isn’t any new garbage in my lungs.  That as we all know is a good thing.  My monthly IVIG treatments seem to be doing their thing and my body responding as the doctor hopes.

I am up to 22 of 36 Pulmonary PT sessions now, I can see a vast improvement since I first began the sessions, but am still mystified how I can walk on a treadmill for 20 minutes at over 2 mph, without hardly breaking a sweat, and sometimes can’t walk across the house without gasping for a breath. It makes no sense to me.  My legs which have always been my best feature can handle all I can throw at them during the PT’s, but  my upper body while lagging behind is coming along.  Watching me in action is kinda like watching the Pillsbury Dough Boy.  There a lot of nice folks going thru rehab, most are cardiac but there are 4 of us that are doing Pulmonary rehab, quite the jovial group.

The nurses have their own music mix which is entertaining, and probably meant to motivate, but I have found it to be quite boring, so I use my IPod.  I am in my own little world of music, and my music choices seem to surprise a lot of the folks when then check out what’s on my IPod.  Those surprises does my heart good LOL.  And no one has asked to borrow my IPod (wonder why).

Next step is to maintain at least the 3 level and try to get it back to the 3.5 level.  Also continue to push myself during the PT’s.  There is also some weight issues I need to address (like get rid of some of the excess).  I will continue to work thru these.

Thanks for taking the time to read my posts, please feel free to leave a comment.  Again Thanks — Bill

 
6 Comments

Posted by on October 31, 2012 in How I feel on a particular day

 

Tags: , , ,

6 responses to “How I Feel Today 10/31/12….

  1. jmgoyder

    October 31, 2012 at 11:31 am

    I really admire your attitude to illness!

     
  2. FlaHam

    October 31, 2012 at 12:01 pm

    Julie, What I go thru compares nothing at all to your day to day life and the challenges you face. From the 1st of your posts that I read, I knew you were special. I continue to look up to you, and your steadfastness and resolve are in part things that help motivate me. Take care, Bill

     
  3. Wanda

    November 3, 2012 at 4:15 pm

    As you know, I’ve been behind on blog reading–I haven’t commented on the last two or three “how I feel” posts because I wanted to sort of sum it up here at the end. It sure sounds like you are doing your level best and more at the PT. Do you think the difference between there and how your body reacts elsewhere is because your body is trained to respond a certain way in that environment? It is curious that there is such a difference.

    BTW, my favorite iPod tunes are from an old Pete Fountain (clarinet/New Orleans jazz) album. I never fail to get a pick-me-up after a session of that!

     
    • FlaHam

      November 3, 2012 at 7:11 pm

      Wanda, when I spoke to the nurses about this yesterday, they indicated it could be a variety of things, temp, humidity, dust or mold, but they hedged their comments by ending wiht we really dont know — I will have further conversations with my Dr regarding this– Bill

       
  4. drinkcoffee (Paula)

    November 5, 2012 at 1:31 am

    I miss going to rehab each week. You always felt like a new person when you came out. Oh yes and thank you for the mile you did for me last week it really helped:)

    Not being able to go out can be a bummer at time so I go out on my back deck and even that can get to old mucus going.

    You take it easy and go for it at rehab and enjoy your music. I love country music

     
    • FlaHam

      November 7, 2012 at 2:53 pm

      Paula, LOL LOL I don’t know if I feel like a new person or not, actually I know I don’t feel new, I feel abused LOL LOL, but it does me good. And I will continue after to workout after the rehab sessions are over. I have now completed 24 of 36, and I really can tell the difference. I will stay the course, and btw I only have about 400 Country songs on my IPod. — You take care, Bill

       

Leave a Reply

 
secret Blogger

Status : surviving highschool

How the Cookie Crumbles

An irreverant view of life after SIXTY-FIVE

beefandsweettea.wordpress.com/

a story of Southern agriculture

Me, My Magnificent Self

My Journey To Freedom

Kira Moore's Closet

Ever Moving Forward

