RSS

The Votes are In ! ! !

07 Nov

If you voted yesterday or early voted like I did, I hope you’re happy with the results.  If you’re not happy, at least you have earned the right to bitch or complain for the next 4 years.  The other good news is that now that the election is over, all those time-consuming polls, interviews, Pat Boone calls, and other political ads are over.  For a few months there will be no ads of TV telling us just what a criminal this politician is or what a money grabbing one this politician is, or what an air blowing do nothing this politician is.  Continuing on the good news trail, finally we can collectively save a rain forest, that ton of ever so annoying printed campaign stuff finally is at an end.  Personally I save it for a time, but the stack got to be about 8 inches tall, of that fancy heavy glossy paper that you can’t ball up and throw.   Then I realized it was a good thing that you can’t ball it up, because it goes into the recycle bin so much easier if it is flat and stackable.

Gosh I hope that I can recycle that crap.  Hopefully crap is a politically correct term for B S !

If you didn’t vote SHUT UP! 

I am a firm believer that if you didn’t or don’t vote you have no right to argue about what our politicians are doing to us and our once wonderful country. You barely have the right to even complain if you didn’t vote. Voting is our tool. Voting allows you to have a say. It gives merit to your argument.  I would imagine that Washington, Franklin, Jefferson, Adams, Hancock, Clark, Samuel Adams, Penn and the rest of the signers are all collectively rolling over in the graves when they view what our current elected officials have done to this country.  Yes I realize that Washington didn’t sign the Declaration of Independence, but he was the 1st President so his thoughts would have merit.  I have voted in every election of any significance since I helped elect Richard Nixon.  I feel that gives me the right to get up on this soapbox.

Now the Republicans, Democrats, Independents and Tea Party folks, all have to get off their collective butts and work together. The President, the House, the Senate must work together. The PAC’s and Special Interest groups have got to go. We all have heard a ton of rhetoric from our elected officials and our wanna be officials, about change, action, need, finance reform, welfare reform, paying off our debt, and all of the this that and the other we can stand.   I don’t know how many more 4 year cycles we can handle, as a country, before we all go down the toilet.

Folks it is incumbent upon you to pay attention to your elected officials.  It will be your responsibility, your job, to watch them and hold their toes to the fire if they do not do their job. It is our collective responsibility to ensure they do their jobs, and if they don’t then we must FIRE THEM, we must terminate their contract with us, and elect someone who does in fact have the interest of the American citizen at heart. If we sit back they (our elected officials) will continue to screw this wonderful country. One needs to remind themselves of this on a regular basis that politicians are not serving or working for us, they are doing it for themselves.

I make this plea the day after the election because now is the time to watch, now is the time to make our newly elected officials accountable.  While all of their political promises, from their campaigns, are still fresh in our minds. We can’t wait 3 ½ years to pay attention.  By then too much has passed unnoticed, to many promises have been broken, to many lies have grown legs.

Okay I will yield my position on the soapbox.  As always thanks for taking the time to read my post.  Your comments and thoughts are welcome.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on November 7, 2012 in Observations, Ramblings, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , ,

4 responses to “The Votes are In ! ! !

  1. Wanda

    November 7, 2012 at 12:18 pm

    Bill, I couldn’t agree more, especially the part about getting rid of PACs and special interest groups. I’m afraid to know what their agendas were and how beholden various politicians are to them because of the financial support the PACs supplied. I know we don’t want more elections, but it’s also concerning to me that our representatives are really only accountable on 2, 4, or 6 year cycles. That’s a lot of time for them to either do nothing or create real damage. I know we can write and e-mail our legislators and the White House, but I’m convinced politicians listen more to their party leadership and the aforementioned PACs and special interest groups than they do their constituents. Still, we gotta keep trying.

     
    • FlaHam

      November 7, 2012 at 2:49 pm

      Wanda, as always thank you for taking the time to follow my ramblings, I really appreciate it. This past election I have been more aware, more mentally involved than ever before. Watching the endless cycle of uglyness, and no real substance tuned me in. And that is why I came out as I did. Because maybe just maybe someone will pay attention. And yes we must keep trying. — Bill

       
  2. DeeDee Granata

    November 8, 2012 at 11:51 am

    I don’t even want to get started. I’m trying to be positive that our leaders will work together for the good of the country and quit playing who can hold out longer. America rocks.

     
    • FlaHam

      November 9, 2012 at 3:12 pm

      Dee, I hope and pray that our leaders will work together to bring this country back to greatness. But if they are’nt then we need to be willing to fire them. Yes America does rock. Always nice to talk to you; — Bill

       

Leave a Reply

 
secret Blogger

Status : surviving highschool

How the Cookie Crumbles

An irreverant view of life after SIXTY-FIVE

beefandsweettea.wordpress.com/

a story of Southern agriculture

Me, My Magnificent Self

My Journey To Freedom

Kira Moore's Closet

Ever Moving Forward

