RSS

Taking part in raising of our Daughter…. Part 2

21 Nov

As per an agreement with my lovely Daughter she will be able to read my next installment (and those that come later) before I post it.  In a heart to heart conversation this past evening she asked me not to say anything that makes her look bad, I will admit I was a bit offended that she could even think I would, but then I remembered my sense of good and bad are slightly different from hers.  I am still wondering about this “guess Blog concept” which will have to be explained to me further before I allow that.

Allison and I

 

For those that are just picking this up, Part 1 of “Taking part in the raising of our Daughter” took the reader thru getting Allison home from the hospital after her birth.  Of course I would suggest you read it, I wrote it, but hopefully each installment will kinda stand on its’ own.

In reflection, Allison’s early days were what you would expect any child’s to be.  As a new parent each day was a brand new learning experience.  I am the oldest of 5 kids, so as a youngster I got to change my share of diapers and warming milk, and “those” kinds of big brother things.  When Allison was born I as 30 years old, I had been long removed from any aspect of raising a kid, and never before in the role I was now in.  There wasn’t a mom or dad available to step in.  And Steph was in the same boat, she didn’t have any more experience than I did, and we probably changed an equal amount of diapers.  But I believed then and continue to even now believe in the maternal instinct, and Steph has that.  I relied on it then, and still do to a large part now.

Allison was a large baby, and at each examination the attending doctor would again reiterate how she was growing and growing.  I won’t go into that whole size thing because I don’t remember it at all. I do remember going thru a ton or more of diapers.

During her 1st two years Allison was colicky, and had all the other normal baby illnesses and the assorted shots.  Allison was not a big fan of shots, heck I am over 60 and I still don’t care for them.  As she grew older she moved beyond the colic stage into other areas that offered her discomfort, and a reason to cry at night.  Though I believe that she just loved us, and loved being held, and this was her way of saying “HEY HOLD ME.”  We must have a bunch of pictures of Allison.  I don’t remember a single one of her without a smile or contented look.   Every time Allison became ill, or what we perceived to be ill either Steph or I took off from work to take her to the doctor.  It was what was needed to be done so we did it.  I have nothing but the utmost praise for parents and especially single parents it is a wonder how they do it.  Moving on.  Allison had all her required doctor visits (besides when she was ill) her Doctor always told us she was off the chart tall for her age.  Every chart he had put her at least a year taller than the other kids her age.

Laughing My Ass Off  As I finished that last paragraph I realized if I continue at this clip I will indeed be writing the biography of my daughter, written in the perspective of me the dad.  I truly suspect that as interesting as it is for some (maybe 1 is a better number), this document with all of it inclusive parts will be 10,000 or more words, and we don’t want that.  So to solve this for me, (and it is all about me here), I have found a few pictures that bring back wonderful vivid memories.  I will share these with you as well as a series of anecdotes.   I will have specific stories regarding specific pictures, but the rest of this blog will be a series of named mini-stories.  Topics I intend on including are: Crawling – head stuck, Roll-about, 1st Halloween, Air guitar, 1st steps, Sporting events, School events, Business Trips, Coke can, and Not Me!  Of course I reserve the right to add additional stories along the way.

As always your thoughts and comments are invited and encouraged.

This Document has been Daughter approved.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on November 21, 2012 in Humor, Ramblings

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

8 responses to “Taking part in raising of our Daughter…. Part 2

  1. Rosey

    November 21, 2012 at 4:41 pm

    Your daughter sounds a lot like mine, she was taller than kids her age and ended up with feet twice the size of mine! LOL I am 5’5″ and she is 5’8″ . She also hates when I post things on Facebook about her, I have to get her approval first 🙂 Aren’t our children wonderful?

     
    • FlaHam

      November 21, 2012 at 5:21 pm

      Rosey, I always love your comments, I am 5’8 and my daughter is over 5’10. And also like yours my daughter hates when I say things about her on FB. Generally I don’t care, because I never say anything bad, yes it might be embarassing, but not bad. But on this continuing saga, I really felt it was only fair to at least let her look at the posts before they hit the airways. Yes Kids are wonderful and also a PIA. Bill

       
  2. jmgoyder

    November 21, 2012 at 8:29 pm

    I am glad your Allison approves!

     
    • FlaHam

      November 22, 2012 at 12:28 pm

      She’s glad she does as well. So far all I have gotten from her is a giggle. — Bill

       
  3. Wanda

    November 28, 2012 at 6:19 pm

    The thing I remember most about Karen’s early months is how much Art enjoyed the bottle-making enterprise. He truly embraced the entire process–in fact I’m not sure I ever had to deal with formula because Art took care of it before I even had to think about it.

    I wonder…did you and Steph deal with the “only child” phenomenon at the doctor’s office? That is, since you were parents of an only/first child, did the clinic staff think that you were unnecessarily alarmist about any ailment your child might have? Like you, I had changed many a diaper before Karen came along and generally knew when a child looked/felt well, but there was more than one occasion when Navy corpsmen made me feel like a totally inadequate parent…

     
    • FlaHam

      November 28, 2012 at 8:05 pm

      Wanda,

      Without out a doubt, both Steph and I, were classified as over protective, PIA parents. Heck my Mom was a nurse, and I can’t even begin to count the times we called her and asked advise, or asked if we should take her to the doctor, and on and on. Allison’s pediatrician loved kids, couldn’t stand adults or parents. He gave us more looks than anyone. He was forever telling us to let her alone and to let her grow up LOL. And like your Navy Corpmen, he made us feel totally inadequate. But we stayed with him until she outgrew him.

      LOL — Changing the diaper and feeding Allison was the easy part. We took turns. When she was sick, we took turns staying home with her. It really did work out.

      Take care, Bill

       
  4. drinkcoffee (Paula)

    November 29, 2012 at 6:57 pm

    I remember right after I had my son and the nurse laid him on the table and he pee peed in there face. All you could here was laughing. And he hasn’t stopped yet. Now he has a 3 year old and he gets all the fun that I had.

    When he started Jr college I went back to school but I was not allowed to acknowledge him if I saw him at school.

    God bless
    Paula

     
    • FlaHam

      November 29, 2012 at 10:26 pm

      Paula, Again thank you for following my blog and commenting, I really appreciate it. I have others stories about my daughter that I am totally not allowed to share, but damn they would be fun to tell. It is cool that each of us that enjoy the parenting process have wonderful stories to draw from in reflection. And we have the ability to bring them up at the worst time for our kids. Life does allow us to get even. LOL LOL Take care, Bill

       

Leave a Reply

 
secret Blogger

Status : surviving highschool

How the Cookie Crumbles

An irreverant view of life after SIXTY-FIVE

beefandsweettea.wordpress.com/

a story of Southern agriculture

Me, My Magnificent Self

My Journey To Freedom

Kira Moore's Closet

Ever Moving Forward

