RSS

How I Feel Today 11.24.12…

24 Nov

I continue to run at level 3 at best.  It’s not that I feel bad it’s more like I just don’t feel good.  It is important to understand that when you suffer from COPD you really never get better, you look for feeling consistent, you don’t what any sudden drops in how you feel.  A sudden drop in how your feeling is never a good thing.  It is usually the precursor to something really going in a bad direction, which at worst could mean another trip to the hospital.   So while I don’t feel great, continuing to run at a certain level is a good thing.

These last 2 weeks have been really bad for me and air hoses.  I must be snagging my oxygen line on an edge of a piece of furniture or something.  I have had to replace 100 feet of air hose in 2 weeks.  I have my concentrator set at 2.5 lpm, and I function quite well at that level around the house, doing minor chores and such.  But you cut that flow back and I start to suck hind teat.  A person on COPD notices the change in flow in a gradual manner, the energy isn’t quite there, you don’t pay as close attention, the little things pile up.  Well last night I was suffering all of that, and it didn’t make sense, until I got the proverbial slap in the head.  I went to my office got my trusty litermeter and found that the flow thru to my nose was only at the 1 lpm level.  I immediately began the search for where the lost was occurring.  After checking each connection for flow thru, I finally found the break, the hose had a tiny little hole about six inches beyond the connection.  I replaced that length of tubing and everything is once again fine. Lesson learned from this is that whenever I am starting to feel off, I need to check the flow first.

The PT’s are still going great.  And once the formal series is complete I will find someplace else I can go to use the treadmill and weight stations.  The treadmill has helped in ways I can’t measure.  Just being able to consistently do it means so much.

Folks please take care, and have a wonderful day.  I hope each and every one of you had a great Thanksgiving.  I was very very fortunate, though I will hate myself Monday when I step on the scale.  I had 2 Thanksgiving this year, the first on Wednesday with my daughter and her family, the 2nd on Thursday with my neighborhood family.  The joy of sharing such time with family and friends is beyond measure.

As always your comments are welcomed.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on November 24, 2012 in How I feel on a particular day

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “How I Feel Today 11.24.12…

  1. drinkcoffee (Paula)

    November 29, 2012 at 6:45 pm

    I had a similar problem started getting very sob and chest pains. Then a light bulb went off to check my hose and sure enough there was a cut in it. I fixed and with in 1 hour the chest pains were gone. Thank the Good Lord

    I hope you are having a better day. You are always in my prayers

    God bless
    Paula

     
    • FlaHam

      November 29, 2012 at 10:30 pm

      Paula, I really hate this part of having COPD, having to drag the oxygen tubing all over the place. But it allows me to get about so I suck it up and drag and drag. Take care, Bill

       

Leave a Reply

 
secret Blogger

Status : surviving highschool

How the Cookie Crumbles

Life and scribbles on the far side of SIXTY-FIVE

beefandsweettea.wordpress.com/

a story of Southern agriculture

Me, My Magnificent Self

My Journey To Freedom

Kira Moore's Closet

Ever Moving Forward

