RSS

Taking part in raising of our Daughter…. Part 4

30 Nov

I have a ton of stories to share, most are about me, because this blog is about me, but I choose to write a series about raising our daughter Allison.  So these are about me and her.  From time to time I will include my wife in the stories, because without her there wouldn’t be any stories about Allison.  But while I have a ton of stories, my mind needs to be jolted from time to time, so I set about looking at pictures.  I was amazed by the sheer quantity of pictures, and for the most part they are event specific. Yet there are random shots, just great pictures that don’t have explanations.

I am going to use 2 of these pictures to start this blog off.  The 1st for sake of the blog I am calling my angel.  I don’t have a clue as to how old Allison was when this picture was taken but she was less than a year old, probably around 6 months.  When one looks at a picture such as this, one sees all of the positive emotions a human has available; innocence, hope, trust, anticipation, expectation, want, wonder, need, desire, and most of all Love.  Thirty-three years later, I am sure, if I were a picture taker, I could catch Allison with a similar look. My daughter is 33 and wears her heart on her sleeve.  She has these same emotions and displays them just as she did 33 years ago.  Of course over the years she has picked up some of the darker less positive emotions, but not many, and not very strong.  And just like her positive emotions she also wears those not so positive emotions on her sleeve.

I love playing cards and games with her.  You can read her like a book. LOL LOL.  Except Monopoly, she as ruthless and without mercy as any person I have ever played that game with.  It is the only time I see the blood lust in her eyes LOL LOL.  So if she invites you to play Monopoly, you have been warned!

Amazing isn’t it, I spoke at length of what an Angel my daughter is then I finish the paragraph talking about her blood lust.  LOL LOL LOL go figure !

Who Me !?

The 2nd picture I want to share for this addition of my blog is one I call “Who Me!?”Again this picture is undated, but it was taken during her 1st year.  The twinkle in her eyes, the smile of joy on her lips, the hand on her chest with the fingers spread, the mouth open as if speaking. I dare someone to tell me she is saying anything other than “Who Me!?”

I truly wish I could get into the wayback machine and revisit this event.  I would love to know what was being talked about, or what stupid sounds were being made, to know what was done to prompt such a moment.  Parents are lucky in that throughout the upbringing of their child they get to witness such looks, sometimes like this moment they manage to capture it in a picture.  And later after the film is developed they look and say “remember when she did this” or “responded that way.” Parents sometimes (Steph and I included) don’t take a moment to date a picture, or add a brief note for years later. We looked at the pictures as we took them from the developed envelop and could instantly recall the incident that initiated the picture. We didn’t realize that years later we would still love the picture, but might not have a clue as to its’ context.  Rarely is a date or note jotted on the back of the picture to later help recall the moment.  Sadly it wasn’t done on this picture either.

This was an especially joyful time.  Allison was a wonderful baby, she was pretty much well-behaved all the time, and wasn’t cranky for the most part when we took her out.  Steph and I didn’t date much during this time, and I think Allison was close to 2 years old before we actually when anyplace other than work without her.  One time we took her to church, I don’t remember much (anything really) of the service.  We sat directly behind this older couple (guessing in their mid to late 70’s), when the service was over and as the congregation stood to depart the church, the gentleman turned to Steph and I and said, “What a charming and quiet baby you have.”  Steph and I looked at each other in amazement, because Allison had baby tooted the entire service.  We thanked the gentleman and his wife for their kind words, and realized he was wearing a hearing aid.  Maybe his hearing aid had a baby toot suppressor on it.

All kidding aside Allison was a wonderful baby.  With each day we had a touch more joy, and a handful more knowledge.  And just like Allison had her toys from which her learned, she was teaching us new lessons on life each day.

The next part will be stories about Allison’s education thru elementary school and the artist in her.

Thank you for taking the time to look at my post. As always your comments and suggestions are greatly appreciated.  Again thanks – Bill

This Document has been Daughter approved.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on November 30, 2012 in Humor, Observations, Ramblings

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

8 responses to “Taking part in raising of our Daughter…. Part 4

  1. rebecca2000

    November 30, 2012 at 3:07 pm

    Awww I am enjoying learning about her.

     
    • FlaHam

      November 30, 2012 at 11:12 pm

      Becca, Thank you for stopping by and taking part in my post. Over the next few weeks there will be several more about her and the process. I really am having a good time with this series and I haven’t even embarrassed her yet. Again thank you, Bill PS I have been enjoying your blog for weeks. Take care

       
  2. jmgoyder

    December 1, 2012 at 12:21 am

    Love this series, Bill. Interestingly I just bought myself a small photo scanner so I could scan old photos into the computer. Allison is lucky to have you!

     
    • FlaHam

      December 1, 2012 at 10:07 am

      Julie, when you do scan them in, make sure up put a caption and date on them, 20 yrs from now you will be so glad you did. Take care, Bill

       
  3. Wanda

    December 20, 2012 at 12:06 pm

    Bill,

    What a wonderful post. I enjoyed your reflections on the memories your two photos bring to mind as well as learning a little more about the Hamilton family. Beyond that, however, I must say you’ve done a great job of capturing the wonder and joy (and sometimes sheer terror) that is such a big part of being a new parent.

    Wanda

     
    • FlaHam

      December 22, 2012 at 8:44 am

      Wanda, Your comments always make me smile, and each time I post, I kinda sit on pins and needles awaiting your next comment. You have helped me beyond words in the creation of this blog, and I sometimes steal thoughts from you when I write it, or if not the thought you give me the courage. Because of you I will pretty much write about any dang thing I want. Take care, Bill

       
  4. kanzensakura

    December 20, 2013 at 11:50 pm

    What a dear girl. And to think, she is as ruthless about Monopoly as my cat is about Chinese Checkers!

     
    • FlaHam

      December 21, 2013 at 11:48 am

      Kanzen, LMBO, without a doubt she is indeed as ruthless as your cat LOL, and she is passing that trait on to her daughter (8), who recently took more joy than necessary when she beat me at triple yathzee. — Take care, Bill

       

Leave a Reply

 
secret Blogger

Status : surviving highschool

How the Cookie Crumbles

Life and scribbles on the far side of SIXTY-FIVE

beefandsweettea.wordpress.com/

a story of Southern agriculture

Me, My Magnificent Self

My Journey To Freedom

Kira Moore's Closet

Ever Moving Forward

