RSS

Taking part in raising of our Daughter…. Part 5

06 Dec

Part five of this continuing saga, will be stories about Allison’s education thru elementary school and the artist in her.

We have 3 pictures of Allison wearing a graduation cap; the 1st and 2nd which I am sharing is of her when she graduated from pre-school, which was even before kindergarten, and the 2nd was when she graduated from high school.  The final picture of her in a cap and gown was when she graduated from college isn’t going to be shared. She is cute in all three, but the pre-school one is a charmer, and then when she graduated from high school as a very lovely young woman.

The Grad0001Allison was a very good student, good grades didn’t come easy, but when she really applied herself she did outstanding, and she proved this by always being on the honor roll.  Her ability to apply herself paid off, time and time again all through elementary school, high school and college.  Smiling, when she applied herself nothing could stand in her way.  Initially she wanted to be an astronaut, later the president, and several other professions, but as these childhood aspirations faded, she realized she wanted to be a teacher. Within a year of her making the decision to teach she had refined her goal to teach English. She immediately gear her studies towards accomplishing this goal. By the time she graduated from high school she had enough advanced placement credits that she completed almost half her college freshman requirements.

Dad & Daughter High School Grad

Dad & Daughter High School Grad

WOW in the manner of a paragraph I have taken Allison from pre-school into her freshman year at college, I really have some gaps to fill before going any further. The reality is that Allison was and continues to be a great student. That gave herself a lot of opportunities, and she made the most of those opportunities.  Her work ethic carried her thru college, and on to her Masters.  The gaps I want to fill in concern her childhood artistic abilities, and I will spend the rest of this post addressing those.  BTW this saga is going to come to an end with Allison’s graduation from High School.  Needless to say she did great in college graduating with honors.

From her earliest moments Allison was always drawing, creating, painting (especially finger painting) and being the wonderful father I am, I saved several examples.  Well @&^%#$^% … LOL LOL I just 20 minutes looking for the aforementioned childhood art work, created by Allison, I am at a lost to find them, so I won’t be able to share some of her earlier artistic efforts.  But trust me they exist. She had a wonderful sense of color, view, and style.  Yes a lot looked like work from Jason Pollack without the sheer magnitude.  As she aged, she took interest in becoming a writer.  One of her earlier efforts “Tina Tuna” has been lost in a time capsule someplace, and to my great shame, it wasn’t something I managed to hold onto.  During her writing period Allison cranked out several cute short stories.  I am truly sad to say that none of the major publishers, of our time, paid them much interest (none to be exact).  But these works were cherished by her Mom and I. Currently Allison is working on a for real novel.  She has written over 50,000 words for her book, and is loving each word and sentence, much like when she was a child writer.

Allison real claim to fame came when she took up Air Guitar, or in our family Tennis Racket Guitar.  Allison was 1st subjected to music on her way home from the hospital, and since then the music has never been turned off.  Early on Allison and I would play name that band, or name that tune.  We did this on a daily basis on the ride home from day care or elementary school. It was a game we played all the time, and still do. She was bombarded with my music, the stuff I loved, and she became quite good at playing along with me.  She learned a lot about bands like: the Beatles, The Kinks, The Yardbirds, The Zombies, The Nashville Teens, The Doors, The Animals, Buffalo Springfield, The Byrds, Cream, Hendrix, and Led Zepplin.

Allison Air Guitar Solo0001Many a time in the basement of our home Allison and I would put on a music show for Steph, we were the Pappalardi & West or the Clapton & Bruce of Tennis Racket Guitar.  Though Allison tended to mimic Peter Townsend and Keith Richards styles of playing, and she was extremely flamboyant. Air Guitar0002I on the other hand was much more subdued.   Our time as a duo was limited, as she matured (from 5 to 7) she lost the desire to be a Tennis Racket Guitarist, and moved on to a less colorful life.  We continued to play name that tune, for years (and we still do).  And for the most part I continued to win.  But I fell behind, I was mired in old school, and Allison easily transitioned into more modern music, a transition I could not keep up with.  As she transitioned more and more, she could name that tune long before my head engaged.  The student surpassed the Master.

When Allison started junior high, she wanted to be in choir, but to do so she had to go thru the audition process.  She got thru her auditions just fine and was accepted into the choir.  Allison continued to sing through High School, and between her mom and I, we attended every concert she performed.  I remember her practicing her music, and she sounded lovely, I am about 99 pct sure she didn’t know I was listening.  I really enjoy all aspects of her schooling, and the activities she took part.

Well that wraps up part 5 of the continuing saga of raising our daughter.  Part 6 will address girl scout cookies and sports.  What a combination.

Thank you for taking the time to look at my post. As always your comments and suggestions are greatly appreciated.  Again thanks – Bill

This Document has been Daughter approved.

 
9 Comments

Posted by on December 6, 2012 in Humor, Ramblings

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

9 responses to “Taking part in raising of our Daughter…. Part 5

  1. jmgoyder

    December 7, 2012 at 3:19 am

    This is so delightful!

     
    • FlaHam

      December 8, 2012 at 4:22 pm

      Julie, thanks for stopping by and following the antics of Allison and I. — Take care, Bill

       
  2. DeeDee Granata

    December 7, 2012 at 7:51 am

    Sounds like fun times! Love that you put on shows for your wife.

     
    • FlaHam

      December 7, 2012 at 8:45 am

      Dee, Thank you very much, it has been a fond trip down memory lane for me. Some visions are sharper than others, and as far as my stories go so far, my memory is much sharper than Allison’s, which keeps me at an advantage. LOL LOL. You take care, Bill

       
    • FlaHam

      December 8, 2012 at 4:21 pm

      Allison and I loved to play together, I am not 1000 pct sure my wife had the same level of appreciation LOL LOL.

       
  3. Wanda

    December 20, 2012 at 12:21 pm

    Love the photo of you and Allison with your air tennis rackets. It seems there might have been a bit of a “racket” going on too!

     
    • FlaHam

      December 22, 2012 at 8:41 am

      Wanda, Those were the days of superstardom, and so much fun to boot. As always thanks, take care, Bill.

       
  4. drinkcoffee (Paula)

    December 23, 2012 at 4:45 am

    You have given your daughter a childhood that she will never forget. There is always a special bond between daughter and father. She is one lucky girl to have you in her life.
    God Bless
    Paula

     
    • FlaHam

      December 23, 2012 at 7:10 am

      Paula, You are so sweet. I appreciate more than words can say that you take your time to stop and visit my blog, and follow my posts. My relationship with my daughter is quite strong, and I know that sometimes I was a great dad and others not so great. But I do know that for a much is she is blessed having me I am ten times that having her in my life. Take care, warm hugs and soft kisses to you Paula. Bill

       

Leave a Reply

 
secret Blogger

Status : surviving highschool

How the Cookie Crumbles

An irreverant view of life after SIXTY-FIVE

beefandsweettea.wordpress.com/

a story of Southern agriculture

Me, My Magnificent Self

My Journey To Freedom

Kira Moore's Closet

Ever Moving Forward

