RSS

How I Feel Today 12.31.12…..

31 Dec

The year has come to an end, and I am still looking at the flowers from the correct direction, folk’s that makes it a great year.  Over the last 12 months I have been in the hospital twice, for a total of 16 days, all directly related to my COPD.  But I have fought thru it, and will continue to fight the good fight.

With Christmas and soon New Years’ celebrations over I will be able to get back into the habit of making my blog posts on a regular basis.  For those of us that may have a touch anal, I do apologize.  And I promise to do better during 2013.

Since my last report in date (12/21/12) not much has happened.  No major colds, no major shakes, no major anythings, I have hung in there. Over the last 10 days I have had good day after good day.  Most days have been 3.25 or better, but none have been less than 3. Also since my return from my pre-Christmas trip, I have completed the 36 Pulmonary Rehab sessions.  Across the board, my ability has improved, my breathing is better, physically I am in better shape, and my head seems to be screwed on correctly. When PT’s began I was huffing and puffing after only 5 minutes on the treadmill, today I can do 30 or 40 minutes at 2.2 mph, walking up a slight incline.  When I 1st began using the hand crank machine, I was starting to hallucinate after only a couple of minutes, now 10 or 15 minutes later I am hanging on.  All of this is to say that if you can find a program, and if you set yourself some goals, you will most likely see a marked improvement as I have.  I realize that exercise will not cure COPD, but exercise will help me physically deal with it better, and the breathing methods taught have helped me breath as I exercise.  While I do not automatically breathe in the Pursed-Lip method, I do find that I now shift to that method of breathing as my level of exercises increases.

Pictured below is the smiling Pulmonary Rehab Grad, cap and all.  Beloved Washington Redskins shirt and all, though I do wish Penny (picture taker) had aimed the camera a little higher, she didn’t need to get all of Santa’s belly in the picture.

Graduating  from Pulumonary Rehab
Graduating from Pulmonary Rehab

As always your comments welcomed are encouraged – take care, Bill

 
8 Comments

Posted by on December 31, 2012 in How I feel on a particular day, Humor, Ramblings

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

8 responses to “How I Feel Today 12.31.12…..

  1. Pat Fraser

    December 31, 2012 at 11:04 am

    Glad you graduated! Happy New Year and it is looking good for the Redskins. Patriot fan as I live in Ct but have a real soft spot for the Saints. I have CHF also so I can”t push to much exercising . I do know the more I move around the easier it gets. Stay healthy.
    Pat

     
    • FlaHam

      December 31, 2012 at 12:31 pm

      Pat, I will continue doing what I have to do to maintain and improve my life. It feels good to be able to get back on the treadmill and grind. But I do want to thank you for being a constant source of encouragement. Without it, I really don’t know if I could have made it thru. Take care, Bill

       
    • FlaHam

      January 1, 2013 at 10:10 am

      Pat, It was a struggle at times, and sometimes it was more difficult than I made it out to be, but I did learn, and I will continue. Thank you so much for your continued support. Please take care, Bill

       
  2. jmgoyder

    December 31, 2012 at 11:17 am

    You are amazing!

     
    • FlaHam

      December 31, 2012 at 12:40 pm

      Julie, I am not nearly as amazing as I am given credit, folks like you, Ming, even Ants, Dee, Deb, Brenda, Denny, and so many more from my discussion group are truly amazing. I just choose to share my life, and my efforts. But having said that, I will admit that without your and their support, i doubt if I would have persevered, it would have been quite easy to just quit and not address it any further, but not only did I complete the therapy, I will WILLINGLY go forward and continue working out at least twice a week. For that you’ll deserve the credit. Thanks Bill

       
  3. DeeDee Granata

    December 31, 2012 at 11:43 am

    Good job on the pulmonary rehab! Congratulations graduate. I like your picture. And I like the Redskins. Go RG III! Yesterday’s game against the Cowboys was pretty exciting. I was very impressed when RG III talked to Tony Romo after the game. I could go on and on about football. Anyways, happy new year!

     
    • FlaHam

      December 31, 2012 at 12:42 pm

      Dee, thank you so so very much for your continued support thru the entire effort. I know from the bottom of my heart that without yours and the support of many more I would not have made it thru. But not only did I complete the therapy I will continue on. Again thank you, Bill

      GO SKINS ! ! ! ! !!

       
    • FlaHam

      January 1, 2013 at 10:09 am

      Dee, The game was great, and now we move on to the Seahawks. I would hope we have as much success against them as we did the cowboys, but it will be a much more difficult road. Happy New Year, make 2013 the best ever. Take care, Bill

       

Leave a Reply

 
secret Blogger

Status : surviving highschool

How the Cookie Crumbles

Life and scribbles on the far side of SIXTY-FIVE

beefandsweettea.wordpress.com/

a story of Southern agriculture

Me, My Magnificent Self

My Journey To Freedom

Kira Moore's Closet

Ever Moving Forward

