RSS

January 1, 2013 …. Resolutions

01 Jan

Happy New Year, welcome to 2013.  The time has come to consider all of the New Year resolutions you and I made last night and even a couple of days ago.  Before I get to mine let’s talk a moment about resolutions.  This is the 1st year I have made a resolution in many years.  Over the years I have made resolutions to, quit smoking, be a better person, to lose weight, to be a better spouse, to think before I spoke, and on and on and on.  To some degree I have been relatively successful in some of these, and total failures in others.

I truly believe that resolutions are made in all sincerity.  You look at yourself, you evaluate yourself, you like some of what you see and you see stuff you don’t like, or you recognize things that you know you need to correct or change. Sometimes it’s a resolution to grow closer to your family, or to start going to church more often, to lose weight, or quit smoking, or even to eat less cake, on a more serious side it maybe to stop drug use or drinking.  After all the thinking about it, the fretting about it, the wondering if you can.  After all that, you join the zillions of folks who every New Year’s Eve makes at least one resolution to better themselves, or the environment you/they/I live in.  Over 20 years ago I made one resolution, it had been one I had made again and again for several years, and one that usually lasted no longer than January 3rd, or a week at most of whatever year I made it.  But one year I yet again made the resolution to quit smoking, I lasted as usual until January 2nd before I broke the resolution, but unlike other years, I revisited this resolution during the year and I did in fact stop smoking.  That resolution is one of the most significant I have made over the years that I have managed to follow thru on and keep.

Last night we had several folks over to celebrate the New Year, as I was grilling the steaks for dinner and I was relaying the story to a friend of my resolution about smoking.  My friend smokes, he smokes a lot, and he has had a recent health scare, significant enough to him to consider quitting.  He now is making an effort to quit. The effort started last night.  I think he has made progress. Yes he smoked last night, but so so much less than he would normally.  That alone is progress.  I wish him all the luck in the world and applaud his effort.  Stopping smoking requires determination and to a degree luck.

Maybe someday I will make a resolution to lose the extra weight I insist on carrying around.  Who knows, maybe I won’t.

Now on to my resolution for 2013, my resolution is quite simple.  I resolve to be here on December 31, 2013 to make a resolution for 2014.  Because of my continuing health issues, I don’t make this resolution lightly, and it’s not made tongue in cheek.  To this end, I will do what I can to be successful.  I will continue my workouts, I will visit my doctors on a regular basis, and heed their instructions and I will try to live a healthier lifestyle.

To those of you who have made resolutions for 2013, I wish you all the luck and determination necessary to keep yours.  I wish you success in your efforts.  As we all know resolutions are easy to make, and very hard to keep.  If you need encouragement send me a note, and I will offer additional encouragement.

Thank you for taking the time to stop by and reading my post, I do appreciate the time you spend with me.  Your comments and suggestions are always welcome.

Take care, Bill

 
4 Comments

Posted by on January 1, 2013 in Humor, Observations, Ramblings

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “January 1, 2013 …. Resolutions

  1. jmgoyder

    January 1, 2013 at 10:16 pm

    Yay for you!

     
    • FlaHam

      January 5, 2013 at 12:46 pm

      Julie, It was the only resolution that made sense to me. So your going to have to put up with my remarks for another year. Take care, Bill

       
  2. Melanie Winrow

    January 2, 2013 at 5:08 am

    Great blog – I would like to follow you but the RSS isn’t working – most annoying. You have a great style! Sorry, I’ve only just come across this site. I notice you said you had health problems – may I send you healing? Feel free to say no – I’ve seen the benefits to others so I always ask but I mean no offence.

    Forgive me for not knowing this right now (and maybe I’ve missed something but some of your links wouldn’t work (almost certainly my stupid computer has the problem – any other would work but I can’t afford to buy a new computer – this isn’t a year old yet! 😦 ) So, are you a published author? If so, where can I get your books. You can tell if someone has talent from their blog (in my opinion,) and you are very talented.

    If you ever want a review for anything you write, feel free to shout me … my website contains reviews and is getting over 200 hits a day at the moment. I came across your blog through Terry Shepherd and I’m glad I did … No worries, I clicked on follow instead. My website tells you a bit more about me. I hope you didn’t mind me contacting you – have a great new year.

     
  3. Paula

    January 10, 2013 at 12:26 am

    Mr Bill is a wonderful writer. I never get tired of reading his stories and wait for more.
    My resolution for 2013 is to try and be here in 2014

     

Leave a Reply

 
secret Blogger

Status : surviving highschool

How the Cookie Crumbles

An irreverant view of life after SIXTY-FIVE

beefandsweettea.wordpress.com/

a story of Southern agriculture

Me, My Magnificent Self

My Journey To Freedom

Kira Moore's Closet

Ever Moving Forward

