RSS

How I Feel Today 01.04.13…..

04 Jan

As quickly as one year ends another begins.  Since I last reported (12.31.12) little has changed.  I am still looking at the flowers from the correct direction.  At the beginning of this week I completed my last Pulmonary Rehab and graduated with flying colors. An aspect of the rehab that I don’t think I have spent much time on is my oxygen level during exercise.  When I first started Pulmonary Rehab, no matter what exercise or duration of exercise I was performing, my oxygen level would drop below 90 percent on a very regular basis, sometimes it got as low as 82 percent, but over the last month, I don’t remember it dropping below that level once.  Yes I still gasp for air, but clearly (to me) the rehab has helped me retain oxygen in my  blood.  This change I completely give credit to the impact the Pulmonary Rehab has had.  Today I started my maintenance program. I choose using the hospital pulmonary rehab center, because it has nurses and the cost per session.  Having nurses there as you work out is a good thing, having it not cost a fortune is better.  My costs are $40 for 8 sessions, or 5 dollars a session, heck I spend more than that at McDonalds.   Hopefully I will do more workouts than visits to McDonalds.  In a separate post I shared my New Year’s Resolution, it was simple.  Just be here on 12/31/13 to make one for the year 2014.

In the brief period between Monday and Friday my health has not changed.  I still am running at a solid 3 level and peaking at 3.25 to 3.5 during the day.  As I stated above I have started my maintenance program.  But it isn’t about maintenance.  It’s about continuing the process and improving as you do so.  Today was one of the hardest to date because I didn’t have anyone monitoring me.  I went thru my paces, and when the day was done, I was slightly ahead on all prior levels.  It is quite apparent to me that I need to work on the upper body exercises, and weights.  My legs are still relatively strong and the exercises and weight work with them is much easier that upper body work.  I am setting the bar higher, reaching for whatever the maximum is so I had to work harder.  Recovery time between exercises has also increased due to the increased effort.  This wasn’t totally unexpected, but a bit shocking just the same.  Improving should be and is the goal, but everyone has good and bad days, realizing this will allow me to not meet my goals every time, yet meet them for the overall.  I also understand that I at some point I will real my ultimate level then the goal changes to maintaining that level.

Getting off my dead butt and actually completing the Pulmonary Rehab, has been great mental and physical victory.  I had the talk down pat, and I could use all the right words, it was kinda like one of the million times I tried to quit smoking.  But actually getting out there and doing it, WOW that was the great part, and that gives me the mental courage to continue.

Next will be to rehab my belly, I haven’t developed the courage (and really the desire) yet to do the simple exercise of pushing away from the table.  Maybe later in the year I will start that significant effort.

As always your comments welcomed are encouraged – take care, Bill

 
7 Comments

Posted by on January 4, 2013 in How I feel on a particular day, Ramblings

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

7 responses to “How I Feel Today 01.04.13…..

  1. jmgoyder

    January 4, 2013 at 6:51 pm

    It sounds very tough – good luck with the diet!

     
    • FlaHam

      January 5, 2013 at 12:10 pm

      Julie, Being honest I am still in the “talking about it stage” when I get my head wrapped around it I will be fine. Until then I will remain the Pillsbury Dough Boy. Take care, Bill

       
  2. Rosey

    January 4, 2013 at 10:10 pm

    I’m so glad the rehab helped you BIll! Keep up the good work! I’m looking into gastric bypass surgery, the doc says my breathing could benefit from losing weight so I am starting the process. Happy new Year!

     
    • FlaHam

      January 5, 2013 at 12:09 pm

      Rosey, As always your words and thoughts do me well. Thank you. I am glad you have decided to go ahead with the surgery. I will be here to support you throughout the process. Good Luck my Dear, and Happy New Year to you too. Please take care, Bill

       
  3. Bram Baars

    January 5, 2013 at 5:20 am

    I’m very glad to hear that it helped. Dieting is very very hard! Good luck and happy new year!

     
    • FlaHam

      January 5, 2013 at 12:07 pm

      Bram, Thank you for stopping by my blog and commenting on my post, I really appreciate that. I also appreciate your comments about losing weight. It is a significant challenge, and much like smoking I talk a good story, until I actually do it. I gained a ton when I quit smoking, and that weight gain is the only negative affect of quitting. But having COPD the weight is becoming an issue, even though I lose a pound or two, I gain it back, so your encouragement will help. Thanks and take care — Bill

       
  4. Paula

    January 10, 2013 at 12:22 am

    I am so glad you are still doing your exercise at home. Once you stop it is so hard to get going again I know. I wish I still could exercise like I use to but the breathing won’t let me. I wish you the best you are a very special person.

    What do you do when you get really depressed and down. I am having a night like that. All I want to do is cry and give up. You always seem to be so up beat with the beautiful smile on your face. I’m sorry for venting but it helps to be able to tell someone how you feel when you know they understand. I think I will call hospice and talk to someone there they are really great about helping you no matter the time. Again I’m sorry but this has helped being able to tell someone then you get your head together and know what to do. God must of told me to come here and read your blog
    God bless
    Paula

     

Leave a Reply

 
secret Blogger

Status : surviving highschool

How the Cookie Crumbles

An irreverant view of life after SIXTY-FIVE

beefandsweettea.wordpress.com/

a story of Southern agriculture

Me, My Magnificent Self

My Journey To Freedom

Kira Moore's Closet

Ever Moving Forward

