RSS

Thumper Part 2 …. January 2013

09 Jan

January 2013 …. Thumper Part 2….

For those that are joining this now, you may want to refer to my Post, dated 01/08/13 titled January 2013 …. Thumper …. I decided to give SSSSS a name so I will call her Susan.

As a result of the meeting between myself and SUSAN, and because of one of the things she said, “You make me want to kill myself,” I contacted employee outreach, I expressed my concern, and talked at length as to the options I had as a manager.  The option I chose was to have SUSAN go to counseling, to give her an opportunity to speak to someone regarding her concerns and issues.  These sessions would be at my agencies expense, and would be during working normal hours.  I (as manager) was required to make the 1st appointment, and issue a letter to SUSAN, which mandated she attend this 1st session.  The letter was drafted, revised, and finally approved at 2 levels beyond mine.

On the date that I was to give SUSAN the letter another, manager GLENDA was in my office to witness the issuing of the letter.  I called SUSAN to the office for an 11:00am meeting.  SUSAN arrived promptly, and sat in the seat offered.  She asked why GLENDA was here, and I advised SUSAN that she was here to witness me giving her this letter.  SUSAN asked what letter, and I went on to explain that during our last private meeting, she had the incident where she banged her head on the desk, displayed extreme emotional swings, and was an unprofessional.  I said because of this event, I was greatly concerned for her safety and because of this I felt it necessary that she get some counseling.  I went on to advise her that she could use this service to get anything she wanted off her chest, could talk to an unbiased observer, seek advice, and it would be totally confidential.  Throughout this one-sided conversation GLENDA watched and listened.

At the end of my talk, I asked SUSAN to please sign the letter acknowledging that she was scheduled to attend the 1st counseling session at x time at x location.  SUSAN and snatched the letter off the desk, turned to GLENDA and screamed at her, he thinks I am crazy, he doesn’t know me, he thinks I am crazy.  SUSAN told GLENDA to call her father her father would tell me that she wasn’t crazy; her father would explain why I was the problem. All the while SUSAN is walking in circles in my office, screaming she wasn’t crazy, waving her arms, stomping her feet as she walked. With fear and astonishment GLENDA stood up, looked at me and said, “Bill I am leaving I can’t handle this,” and left the office, leaving me alone with SUSAN.  Once GLENDA left, SUSAN picked up the phone and called her father, half crying half screaming as she speaks to him, then she turns and sticks the phone in my face and says “My father wants to talk to you.”  To which I responded I would not speak to him, this wasn’t his business, and that I didn’t need his advice.  SUSAN continued to demand that I speak to him waving the phone at me.  I stood up, took the phone and quietly hung it up.  SUSAN looked at me, took the letter that she had crumpled up in her fist during the tirade, began to fold and refold it.  Once she had it folded to her satisfaction, she tore it into pieces, and threw them at me.  Once again she started screaming she wasn’t crazy.  I looked at SUSAN and said I am going to lunch. I continued I will bring charges against you if you screw up my office while I am gone. After locking my desk, I then went to lunch.

Upon my return, my office was as neat and orderly as it was before my meeting with SUSAN. Centered on my desk, was the letter, SUSAN had picked up the pieces, and used an entire roll of scotch tape to put it back together.  She also had signed and dated the letter.  Later I had to confirm in SUSAN’s presence, and that of a witness, that she did in fact tape it together, as well as, sign and date the letter, acknowledging her upcoming counseling session.

Two things happened as a result of the meeting. SUSAN never when to the 1st counseling session, I was advised this by the center.  The second occurred one week after the letter signing incident.  SUSAN filed harassment charges against me with the union. The saga continued…. If you’re interested in more please advise me. Thanks…

As always your comment and suggestions are greatly welcomed.  Please take care, Bill

 
5 Comments

Posted by on January 9, 2013 in Humor, Ramblings, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , ,

5 responses to “Thumper Part 2 …. January 2013

  1. jmgoyder

    January 9, 2013 at 9:23 pm

    Hell! When was this?

     
    • FlaHam

      January 9, 2013 at 10:38 pm

      Julie, This took place in the early 90’s in Washington DC. Regards, Bill

       
  2. jmgoyder

    January 9, 2013 at 9:25 pm

    Oh I see – am reading Part 1 now.

     
    • FlaHam

      January 9, 2013 at 10:37 pm

      Julie, Don’t fret the usher has programs so you can catch up LOL LOL. Take care — Bill

       
  3. Paula

    January 10, 2013 at 12:11 am

    Just Read part 1 now second the part 2 first I have always been a little backwards 🙂
    But You can’t leave me hanging I got to hear how it ended. 🙂
    I have worked with people like this and it isn’t fun.

     

Leave a Reply

 
secret Blogger

Status : surviving highschool

How the Cookie Crumbles

An irreverant view of life after SIXTY-FIVE

beefandsweettea.wordpress.com/

a story of Southern agriculture

Me, My Magnificent Self

My Journey To Freedom

Kira Moore's Closet

Ever Moving Forward

