RSS

How I feel today 01.13.13 ….

13 Jan

Well good day folks, I hope your well.  As for myself, it has been a week of 3’s at best.  It has been unseasonable warm here in the Tampa area, day time temperatures in the mid to high 80’s and the pollen is out in full force.  We need a dang good freeze.  Anyway I eyes are burning, my nose is winning the race, my left shoulder has been aching for weeks, and I have a bit of a headache.  If I weren’t so pretty you would know I lost the current battle.  The good thing to all of this is that I still feel like a 3, imagine how good I’d feel if I weren’t death sucking on a lifesaver.

I began the 2nd week of workouts. I only went twice this week; appointments, vehicle issues and a ton of other fairly good excuses kept me out one day.  If there is one negative aspect to using the hospital for my workouts, it is that the space and equipment is only available 3 days a week.  And while I have been using it for the past 4 months at that schedule, some things just get in the way of going 3 times a week.  Anyway that is enough whining about that.  The 2 workouts I did do this week went very well.  My routine takes about 75 minutes, some days a tiny bit more, some days a bit less.  The treadmill is by far the easiest exercise, with the nu-step being the one that kicks my butt.  I think the nu-step is so difficult for me because I suffer from dunlap disease.  Because of this I haven’t found a position I am comfortable in on the equipment.  When I finally get the positioning figured out maybe it will go better for me.

My legs continue to get stronger and stronger.  I wish I could get my upper body to the same relative level.  I guess this is why I continue to do workouts, maybe my efforts will pay off and I get more upper body strength back.

This weekend I used a walker when we went to watch my granddaughter play soccer.  I did this because I have been getting so winded walking and dragging my portable oxygen concentrator.  But I noticed that when I can push a shopping cart I don’t get nearly as winded, and this worked out very well. I placed the concentrator on the walker seat, then proceeded to the soccer field, found a spot put the concentrator on the ground and parked my butt on the seat, I even carried my wife’s folding seat, and I did so without getting winded at all.  So I will be using the walker more often for trips to the mall, and other places that require more walking.  I realized my ego wouldn’t allow me to do so in the past.

Oh by the way, for those that are curious dunlap disease is the disease where the belly laps over the belt.

Well folks I hope you have a pleasant day, thank you for your good thoughts, and as always your comments welcomed are encouraged – take care, Bill

 
7 Comments

Posted by on January 13, 2013 in How I feel on a particular day

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

7 responses to “How I feel today 01.13.13 ….

  1. Pat Fraser

    January 13, 2013 at 1:05 pm

    I do very well with walker also grocery cart too. What type portable con entrator do you have?

     
    • FlaHam

      January 13, 2013 at 1:22 pm

      Pat, I have an Evergo br Respronics. It weighs about 13 lbs, and has about 6 hours of batter life. It charges on either AC or DC power source. Take Care, Bill

       
  2. jmgoyder

    January 13, 2013 at 7:11 pm

    I was about to ask what dunlap disease was then you told us!

     
    • FlaHam

      January 13, 2013 at 7:12 pm

      Julie, GOTHA ! ! ! !

       
  3. Paula

    January 15, 2013 at 1:11 am

    I am so glad to see you are keeping up with your exercise. It could be so easy to get lazy but I know you won’t do that you are a strong person.

    I love my walker I call it the Cadillac. It has the big wheels and pretty light weight. The set lifts so I set my tanks in there. Just don’t let your ego get you, hold you head up high and smile 🙂 I sound like your mother now Ha–Ha
    God bless
    Paula

     
  4. DeeDee Granata

    January 15, 2013 at 10:50 am

    Hi all. I’ve heard of that dunlap disease – my belly dun lap over my pants. 🙂 I think that a walker sounds wonderful. I get tired of being scared to walk from the car to wherever we are going. Sometimes my breathing is good, sometimes not so much. Maybe I’ll ask about it at the doctor’s next week. Ego smego, I can’t breathe. My ego has gone away with my lung function.

     
    • FlaHam

      January 15, 2013 at 11:24 am

      Dee, I hear you I truly do, and I have been allowing my ego to win, but I found out recently I would rather enjoy myself than suffer trying to make my ego happy. I will be honest, I still don’t understand why or how I can walk a mile in 30 mins and hardly break into a sweat on the treadmill, and then gasp like a big dog walking 50 yards, I makes no sense to me. But I will continue my workouts and make concessions when and where necessary. As always thanks so much for reading and following my blog. I truly appreciate it. Take care, Bill

       

Leave a Reply

 
secret Blogger

Status : surviving highschool

How the Cookie Crumbles

An irreverant view of life after SIXTY-FIVE

beefandsweettea.wordpress.com/

a story of Southern agriculture

Me, My Magnificent Self

My Journey To Freedom

Kira Moore's Closet

Ever Moving Forward

