RSS

How I Feel Today 01.23.13….

23 Jan

Well folks today’s response will be in the GP-13/R rated area, I am beginning day 3 and not in a good mood. A normal joyful greeting “I am feeling OLD and CRANKY,” normally said with a sweet as pie face, staring back at you. Today ain’t so sweet.

I was admitted to the Hospital on Monday 1/21//13. I have pneumonia yet again. This probably my 5th hospitalization with pneumonia in the last 3 years, am I surprised no, did I expect to be hospitalized again yes. Did expect to feel to the level of shit I felt getting to the point NO. Before I ramble to far let me say it is stretching it to say I feel like a 2.

Friday into Saturday I felt at best a .5 to .75, Saturday into Sunday maybe .75, Monday 1 at best. This was as worst as I have felt inside or outside a hospital in years. I slept on the Friday night and at times felt like I wanted to die. I couldn’t breathe, I couldn’t cough, and I didn’t have the voice to call for help. Our house was set at 70 degrees, and I had on sleep pants, a tee shirt, a vest sweater, and was covered with two blankets and still had the chills. If I looked at a glass of water I needed to pee, it has been a sports weekend juggernaut and I was in a semi-coma most of it, and I was there on doctor’s orders. Having called the doc and was advised that it was most likely a cold and to talk over the counter meds and if I got worst call him.

Well I didn’t call him Monday, my wife immediately brought me to the hospital (930am) where I was surprisingly seen immediately, rushed into emergency, seen by a doctor, tests conducted, IV installed, and the decision made to admit me within 90 minutes of my arrival, sure getting a room was a different story I was on the wait list, but I was put on the list and by 6pm that evening I was in my private room.

As much as I really want to go into the rant about being a patient, I just can’t, as much as I want to piss and moan about the service I won’t, as much I would want to say the nurses don’t care, they truly do. But Jesus frigging Christ why does the process damn near have to kill you. I have an IV line in for the injectable drugs, but because my veins are so weak they explode on impact with the probing needle. I have 17 bruises on the back of both hands and forearms from the needle sticks that didn’t work out.

If I were lying on the street your safest guess would be drugee. I am scheduled to have a pick line install today. That is a good time, they should be able to give drugs thru it, and take the blood they need from it. Having a pic line before, I know is an hour procedure not too bad. Kinda looking forward to a bit. Now let me bitch about weight. Don’t try this at home kiddies, I have lost 10 lbs. in 3 days, and then gained 6 lbs. back in a night. I don’t have a friggin clue how much I weigh and I bet they don’t either. And then you look at them with a look for an expectation, and they give you that far-away look, immediately slipping into their home language. And this is just the beginning of day 3. I expect to be here 3 or 4 more days; they really haven’t even started the good drugs yet. By the way let me say having COPD really really really sucks. By the way I hate having to beg for a washcloth and towel, but hey I am only the patient.

As I said earlier I think I will be here at least 3 or 4 more days, so if you are unlucky enough you might get another update before I am released back into the wild.

Breakfast has been served as ordered and it was good. My doctor has visited, listened to my lungs, and said in essence they sound like shit, and that I was going to be here for a few more days (no shit Sherlock). The vitals have been taken, and won’t be returned, and they were good vitals LOL LOL.

Well folks I hope you have a pleasant day, thank you for your good thoughts, and as always your comments welcomed are encouraged – take care, Bill

 
8 Comments

Posted by on January 23, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

8 responses to “How I Feel Today 01.23.13….

  1. Pat Fraser

    January 23, 2013 at 9:26 am

    Oh no…I was wondering yesterday where you were, as you weren’t on DS either. So sorry you are being held hostage to the germs.
    I have to admit your blog made me smile , sorry bout that ! You haven’t lost your keen power of observations or your sense of humor.
    Seriously I know you will be fit and back to your old self in no time.
    Until then use your charm on the nurses and get well as soon as possible.

    Pat Fraser

     
  2. Paula

    January 23, 2013 at 4:17 pm

    I am so sorry to hear that you are in the hospital again with pneumonia this sucks!! This is not fun before hospice I was in the hospital every month. I got to know everyone and made some good friends this is almost sad (ha-ha)

    A pick line is the best way to go I couldn’t keep an IV in my arms also I have prednisone skin to thin. Since I started hospice my nurse has started me on a lot of vitamins and herbal supplements. My lungs have so far staying clear. Astragalus root has helped the most.

    Please take care of yourself
    God bless
    Paula

     
  3. rebecca2000

    January 23, 2013 at 5:08 pm

    Aww Bill feel better and take care of yourself.

     
  4. laurabwilliamsdesigns

    January 24, 2013 at 8:51 am

    Bill
    You may be old and grouchy and sick but your wit has not diminished. I am very sorry to hear that you are back in the hospital and your doctor should be kicked in the nads for telling you it’s just a cold. I am recovering from one of my milder cases of bronchitis and in the beginning I tried to control the sinus symptoms with OTC drugs and when I was at the dr office my bp was 162/110. They weren’t going to let me go home until it went down but I sweet-talked my way out of that.
    I have a friend who was just in the hospital for a severe flare up of rheumatoid arthiritis and I told her the best thing for her to do was to increase her awareness and educate herself. It will give her a sense of control and community.
    I hope today is better for you. You woke up today so that is a great start. “The force is strong in this one”

     
    • FlaHam

      January 24, 2013 at 1:26 pm

      Laura, Thank you so much for your comments, I really appreciate you taking the time to both read and respond to my posts. Smiling, I really trust my doctor, and he is 99 right most the time, and we have developed a great relationship. If you had the opportunity I believe you would want to be his patience. He doesn’t approve of so me of my OTC choices but doesn’t have a better solution, given my health issues. My normal blood pressure is 100/60 so I have a some wiggle room. Even here in the hospital I am glad to wake up each morning, especially after how only give me about 3 hours a day of private time to sleep LOL LOL, they don’t realize that without me they don’t have jobs. You take care and keep enjoying my posts. — Bill

       
  5. The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

    January 24, 2013 at 6:20 pm

    Sorry to read you’re back in the hospital. Sending you good thoughts and hope that you get some relief and get home feeling better fast. Paulette

     
  6. k8edid

    January 26, 2013 at 10:37 pm

    Thanks for stopping by my new blog…I am sorry to hear that you are in the hospital. I hope you are back on your feet again soon.

     
    • FlaHam

      January 28, 2013 at 1:26 pm

      K8edid, Your most welcome, thank you for your well wishes. Take care, Bill

       

Leave a Reply

 
secret Blogger

Status : surviving highschool

How the Cookie Crumbles

An irreverant view of life after SIXTY-FIVE

beefandsweettea.wordpress.com/

a story of Southern agriculture

Me, My Magnificent Self

My Journey To Freedom

Kira Moore's Closet

Ever Moving Forward

