RSS

How I Feel Today 01.28.13…..

28 Jan

This is an update on my current hospital stay.  In fairness to myself, I really feel around a 2.25, but it is a hard to self-evaluate because my lack of activity lends me to believe I feel better than I do, so I backed it off the 2.5 I had originally thought. But compared to last week when I checked in here, I no longer feel like death sucking on a life saver.  I checked into this place a week ago today, a lot of forward progress has been avoided, but the doctors are giving it their best effort.  The particular strain of pneumonia I have is quite resistant to normal drug protocols.  So as far as trapping, identifying, and finding the right combination of drugs to fight it has not been successful so far.

It was decided early that I needed a pic line to achieve the full impact and quantity of the drugs I was to be given, and to manage the drawing of blood which is needed.  I am an extremely difficult stick, and this trip to the hospital has affirmed that.  I have needed daily blood draws, to make this happen I have had 3 different IV lines, 1 mid line, and finally the pic line.  The IV lines are not used for drawing blood, so each time blood has been required a new stick has been made.  Thru this 1st week I have been stuck 22 times to successfully draw blood 6 times, and I have 22 very black bruises certifying that I am an extremely good pin cushion. LOL LOL.

Now that the pic line is in I must have my INR elevated above 2.0 for the doctors to be happy.  They had to drive it below 2.0 to install the pic line.  I will not be allowed to be discharged from the hospital until the INR is an acceptable number.  Having said this I have been advised that it will be at least 2 more days here before they will entertain me carrying on the treatments at home.

Finally the cough has become quite productive.  That crap I am coughing is the vile ugly nasty green/yellow shit.  It looks terrible, it is terrible, but it is necessary, and it is a good thing that I am finally coughing it out.

Mentally I am still doing well, I realize I am sick, I realize that the treatments are necessary, and I am okay with having the process continue at the hospital.  The one saving grace to the recovery process starting here is that I don’t have a place or need to putter, so I am resting more, and resting is the key.  Another thing on the medical front that is being consider is a bronchoscopy, that is a last resort effort.  I have done some research, and right now I am glad it is a way back burner consideration.

If my writing is disjointed I do apologize, to my minds’ eye I am quite lucent.  But from yours, maybe not so LOL.

Well folks I hope you have a pleasant day, thank you for your good thoughts, and as always your comments welcomed are encouraged – take care, Bill

 
 

Tags: , , , , ,

19 responses to “How I Feel Today 01.28.13…..

  1. Pat Fraser

    January 28, 2013 at 3:38 pm

    Glad to read you are carrying on. I do hope the “mend” speeds up for you. I suppose the hospital is the place to be when you feel that lousy.
    Keep on trucking.

    Pat

     
    • FlaHam

      January 29, 2013 at 10:52 am

      Pat, I do believe I am on the mend, and it really is a matter of time. I suspect a few more days. Then home to finish the recoup. Take care, Bill

       
  2. Paula

    January 28, 2013 at 4:18 pm

    I’m so sorry that you are still in the hospital but from the way it sound this is probably the best place for you. You can’t get into any trouble HA-HA.

    I wouldn’t worry about the bronchoscopy I have had several of them done. You are knocked out and don’t know anything.

    Please take it easy you will be in my prayers
    God bless
    Paula

     
    • FlaHam

      January 29, 2013 at 10:49 am

      Oh Paula, do I long for trouble LOL LOL, and I can’t even get a volunteer LOL. But I am on the mend, and they tell me that’s more important. Take care, Bill

       
  3. rebecca2000

    January 28, 2013 at 8:33 pm

    I am sorry honey. You’re in my thoughts and prayers. I am glad you’re a bit better but you take care of yourself.

    x,
    Becca

     
    • FlaHam

      January 29, 2013 at 10:50 am

      Becca, thank you for your kind words, I am listening to the doctors and trying to stay the patient patient. Take care, Bill

       
  4. jmgoyder

    January 29, 2013 at 12:52 am

    Thinking of you, Bill xxx

     
    • FlaHam

      January 29, 2013 at 10:49 am

      Julie, thank you sweetie, I really appreciate it. Take care, Bill

       
  5. heggles

    January 30, 2013 at 8:37 am

    Keep up the good work Bill. I’ll be thinking of you! x

     
    • FlaHam

      January 31, 2013 at 11:59 am

      I do so appreciate the concern and caring, please take care, and I will continue to fight the good fight. — Bill

       
  6. Laurel

    February 4, 2013 at 11:29 am

    Oh Bill FEEL BETTER! We are all here listening and cheering for you! You know that right?:)

     
  7. The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

    February 4, 2013 at 12:02 pm

    You sound very lucid to me. Glad you are doing better than last week. I hope you don’t have to be scoped either. And, sure do hope you start getting better and that the resistant strain response to the treatment. I mean it when I say, I’m holding you in my heart that you do feel better very soon. Paulette (p.s. I’m a nurse)

     
    • FlaHam

      February 4, 2013 at 2:33 pm

      Paulette, Thank you for your sweet words and concerns. I continue to make what I call marginal progress each day. It seems with each bout of pneumonia the recovery takes more and more time and medicines. Having COPD has the baseline, I suspect that each of these successive bouts of pneumonia is just another step down the ladder. I know that I will be released at some point LOL LOL, and that I will go home relax for a day or two, then back to the treadmill. Attempting to reclaim some of the strength I gained prior to this bout. I really appreciate you stopping by my blog and the post that drew you in to comment. I also appreciate your a nurse. LMAO I have developed a thing for nurses over the years. BTW if you hadn’t figured it out I am a world class flirt, sick or not. I will be posting in my blog an update later today or tomorrow. I am finally getting alert enough to write and make sense of it. Please take care, and again thank you for your thoughts and concerns. — Bill

       
      • The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

        February 4, 2013 at 4:12 pm

        You know what nurses say about flirting…it’s a sign of health. 🙂 Big cyber hug to you, Bill p.s. I don’t know that these bouts of pneumonia are steps down the ladder. I’ve seen COPD patients cycle up and down and back up again. 🙂

         
        • FlaHam

          February 4, 2013 at 9:59 pm

          Mildred, Soft smile, thank you for your continued flirting, encouragement and support, makes a spirit feel good. I am hanging in there, and yes I do think I am making progress. And I will continue to wage war as I can against both the pneumonia and COPD. Take care, Bill

           
          • The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

            February 4, 2013 at 10:20 pm

            🙂 It’s been sweet today with you. Big cyber hug, Paulette (that’s my name…we can talk about Mildred some other day, lol). Sleep well friend.

             
            • FlaHam

              February 4, 2013 at 11:00 pm

              Paulette, Thank you for pointing out your name, I try to be personal when I respond and I knew that Mildred Dunlap is the title of your book, I just forgot your name. It has been my pleasure flirting with you today, and I hope we continue to chat and share mails. Please take care, and be safe. — Bill

               
          • The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

            February 5, 2013 at 10:04 am

            🙂

             
            • FlaHam

              February 5, 2013 at 11:15 am

              Paulette, Have a wonderful day. Take care, Bill

               

Leave a Reply

 
secret Blogger

Status : surviving highschool

How the Cookie Crumbles

An irreverant view of life after SIXTY-FIVE

beefandsweettea.wordpress.com/

a story of Southern agriculture

Me, My Magnificent Self

My Journey To Freedom

Kira Moore's Closet

Ever Moving Forward

