RSS

How I Feel Today 02.18.13 ….

18 Feb

A lot has transpired since my last “How I Feel Today” report on the 4th of Feb. The most important is that I was released from the hospital on 02/10/13 for continued treatment at home.  Clearly to get to this point the doctors felt that I had made enough progress, and that the treatment regiment they designed would best serve me.  Yet I still have pneumonia in both lungs and the secondary infection is still presence.  I am taking the prescribed medicines and treatment at home which is just about as time-consuming as taking it in the hospital, but at least I don’t have the pic line, and I am home and I have my TV.

I had my 1st of the post hospitalization follow-ups on Friday with my Pulmonary Doctor, the chest x-rays show mild improvement and according to him my lungs sound much better.  I still have a productive cough, and while I do cough crap up, it is not the ghoulish yellow stuff. The stuff I now cough up looks like Elmer’s School Glue.  Just keeping it real folks LOL. Shortness of breath (SOB) is a very real issue.  I can’t remember the last time I struggled as much as I have with SOB post pneumonia hospitalization.  Clearly I am trying to rush my recovery and I need to slow down and let it happen at its’ pace, but damn. Oxygen levels are fine, both resting and when I do what little I can.  Pulse is running at it normal rate. No sweats or chills these are all great signs.  I just want my breath back.

At best since my release I have had one 2. 25 day, but for the most part the days run 1.9 to 2 at best. I lack the energy to do the little things around the house that I (and my wife) am accustomed to doing. Things that I would normally breeze thru aren’t as easy. Also it’s other little things that remind me I am on the mend, and not mended. I am a bit disappointed as well, because all that work I did thru the 36 session of Pulmonary Physical rehab seem to have fallen by the wayside.  I know that when I am ready I will start again, and have to work back to my last position.  The good thing about that is it gives me a goal to work towards.

Hopefully my next report will be more positive.  I am going to do my best to make it so.  And while the little things are difficult, I will remember they are little things and I will find a way to accomplish them.  I will continue to fight the good fight, and I won’t be stupid.  I will take breaks as necessary and I will not overdo it much.

As always thanks for listening, and as always your comments welcomed are encouraged – take care, Bill

 

 
13 Comments

Posted by on February 18, 2013 in How I feel on a particular day, Observations

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

13 responses to “How I Feel Today 02.18.13 ….

  1. The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

    February 18, 2013 at 6:34 pm

    I’m glad that your X-ray and lung sounds are better but the SOB is a touch one. Also the collar of your sputum is a hopeful change so got all my digits crossed that you start to feel it in your breathing and that the infection moves along off of your body. I’m thinking of you and sending many warm cyber hugs. Paulette

     
    • FlaHam

      February 21, 2013 at 11:15 am

      Paulette, I enjoy your hugs so keep them coming. I am doing the best I can, and I know I need patience, but sometimes that really isn’t my best suit. So I am staying the course as best I can. Again thank you for your continued good thoughts and hugs. Bill

       
      • The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

        February 21, 2013 at 11:56 am

        Patience isn’t my best suit either. We’re both realists and all we can do is what we’re doing. It’s not easy what you’re experiencing and me over here wishing there was something I could do to help but that’s just part what is. Also part of that mix is here we are two absolute strangers bonding on a very special level and that I value immensely. I’ve got an endless supply of hugs for you. Paulette

         
        • FlaHam

          February 21, 2013 at 12:36 pm

          Paulette, We are slowly becoming non-strangers and I like that more than you will ever know. I have fought my COPD since before I knew I had it, and will continue the fight until it wins. And I will win. But that will be a long time from now. I have a lot of life left in me and I am going to use every drop. Don’t undervalue your words and comments, they help greatly, and truth be told it is words and comments like yours that help me stay focused, and have helped me continue to battle. As long as your hugging I will enjoy it, and be aware if you pull me in to close in a hug I just might nibble on your neck. Take care and have a wonderful day. Bill

           
          • The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

            February 21, 2013 at 1:23 pm

            That’s good to know. You can share my neck with my dogs anytime, lol. Hugs, Paulette

             
            • FlaHam

              February 21, 2013 at 2:22 pm

              Paulette, Thank you, me and the dogs will take turns. LOL LOL Have great day, Bill

               
  2. Paula

    February 18, 2013 at 7:16 pm

    Bill please take it easy and don’t over do. I know being home now is wonderful but keep it slow. I am glad you are starting to get better. Infections can take a while to heal. There is nothing like home
    God bless
    Paula

     
    • FlaHam

      February 19, 2013 at 3:31 pm

      Paula, Thank you for kind words. I am doing my best to take it easy, but sometimes it is more difficult to just take it easy, but it’s skill I am trying to learn. But thank you for your continued support and well wishes. Please take care, Bill

       
  3. jmgoyder

    February 19, 2013 at 2:17 am

    Take it slowly, Bill – so glad you are on the mend and that you have the patience of a saint!

     
    • FlaHam

      February 19, 2013 at 3:24 pm

      Julie, I am doing the best I can, but I want to get better quicker LOL LOL. Thank you for your kind words. Take care, Bill

       
  4. rebecca2000

    February 21, 2013 at 12:28 pm

    Bill if you don’t get better I am going to come over there and give you a good swift kick in the ass. I know you like the cute nurses at the hospital but… well, feeling crummy isn’t worth it. Now you’re home and so you don’t even get to see them anymore. Tell you lungs to stop being such meanys because Becca said so. ((hugs))

     
  5. WordsFallFromMyEyes

    February 23, 2013 at 3:04 am

    The ‘like’ hit is for how you’ve endured – not for what you are going through!
    Wow. 36 sessions. You are a keeper.
    But what I really stopped to say is, I love your ‘Santa lookalike’ picture on the top right. So true! You’re very Santa! 🙂

    Here’s to you getting better, sronger.

     
    • FlaHam

      February 23, 2013 at 7:30 am

      WordsFall, Thank you for your kind words. I appreciate the distinction you made. But more than anything I appreciate the recognition of my “Santa” like appearance. Because I do have the “Pillsbury doughboy” kinda body, it is quite easy to pull off the Santa look. Please take care, and have a wonderful day, Bill

       

Leave a Reply

 
secret Blogger

Status : surviving highschool

How the Cookie Crumbles

An irreverant view of life after SIXTY-FIVE

beefandsweettea.wordpress.com/

a story of Southern agriculture

Me, My Magnificent Self

My Journey To Freedom

Kira Moore's Closet

Ever Moving Forward

