RSS

How I Feel Today 03.06.2013….

06 Mar

Smiling, I wish I could say that I am now leaping over tall buildings in a single bound, stopping bullets with my teeth, and on and on, but the truth is not so.  But on the brighter side I am making improvements.  Latest x-rays show a significant diminishment of the pneumonia in both lungs so that is a vast improvement.  Overall I would rate the last week at barely 2.25 for the period, but at no time did I drop below 2.  And folks I don’t feel like death sucking on a lifesaver, I just feel a bit like crap.  My single biggest concern now is the significant SOB that has come with this last bout of pneumonia.   The doctor looked me in the eye yesterday and said, you may have to live with, it may never improve, but while saying this he did leave a tiny bit of hope that I may get some of my breath back.  He did go on to order another breathing test to see exactly what my diminished capacity is in relationship to last year.  Also we found my INR was out of whack. Normally one’s INR should be between 2 and 3, yesterday mine was 3.8 which explains the bloody nose this morning, so we had to make adjustments in the medicine to get my INR back in order.  I will have my INR rechecked on Thursday.

Like so many of you who suffer from COPD my doctor says (and I believe him, and Hell just look in my medicine drawer) that he has me on every possible drug which can help or alleviate the impact and effect of the disease.  Of course he didn’t say cure, and that is not expected, and should I hear someone claim they have a cure for COPD, I will call BullShit.  But the one thing I don’t give up on is hope.  Each day I will watch the medical news with interest, or read a story on yahoo or aol, to see if there is any breakthrough.  I haven’t seen the magic answer, but I have seen a vast increase in awareness.  Just a couple of weeks ago the NASCAR Nationwide Series had its season opener, the Drive for COPD 300 at Daytona, to further enhance awareness of COPD.  This is just another example of how the word is getting out, and the more it gets out, the better it is for those that will come after us.

There generally isn’t a significant amount of change week to week in my health, so starting with this post, I will start doing “How I Feel Today’s” every 2 weeks.  This will keep the level of boredom down to a minimum.

 As always your comments, thoughts, suggestions are always welcome.  Please take care, see you in 2 weeks.  — Bill

 
 

Tags: , , , , ,

7 responses to “How I Feel Today 03.06.2013….

  1. rebecca2000

    March 6, 2013 at 2:13 pm

    I like hearing from you. I am glad the phenomena is better. ((Hugs))

     
    • FlaHam

      March 6, 2013 at 6:55 pm

      Becca, Thank you, I enjoy you and your blog as well. I am hanging in there and doing the best I can. Take care, Bill

       
  2. The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

    March 6, 2013 at 4:50 pm

    Your lungs are clearing. I’m putting a lot of emphasis on the SOB diminishing and “my emphasis” is good stuff. Big hugs to you! Paulette

     
  3. jmgoyder

    March 6, 2013 at 10:17 pm

    The improvement is slow but it is happening – phew!

     
    • FlaHam

      March 7, 2013 at 4:54 am

      Julie, Yes recovery is a continuing process, and while I sometimes struggle, at least I am struggling and making the effort. Though it is a battle. Thank you for stopping by and reading my posts. Take care, Bill

       
  4. Paula

    March 8, 2013 at 8:53 am

    If anyone can make it I know you can.

    After getting out of the hospital from being in there for one month I didn’t think I would every walk again with out help or even be able to breathe but you have to take one day at a time and you can do it. It might take you a few months but hang in there.

    You will be in my prayers that God will take you by your shoulders and help you make it.
    God bless

     
    • FlaHam

      March 8, 2013 at 1:11 pm

      Paula, I am doing well thank you. Your kind words always bring a smile to my face. I am in fact taking it one day at a time and one step at a time. As you know it is a difficult process, and sometimes almost looks impossible, but I won’t give up or into it. I hope your doing great. It is always a pleasure to see a response or comment from you. Please take care, Bill

       

Leave a Reply

 
secret Blogger

Status : surviving highschool

How the Cookie Crumbles

Life and scribbles on the far side of SIXTY-FIVE

beefandsweettea.wordpress.com/

a story of Southern agriculture

Me, My Magnificent Self

My Journey To Freedom

Kira Moore's Closet

Ever Moving Forward

