RSS

How I Feel Today 03.17.2013….

17 Mar

Good Day and Happy Saint Paddy’s Day to you.  I hope your well, and have had a good week or so.  As for myself I am getting better and better.  The shortness of breath (SOB) is still ruling the day, and catches me off guard sometimes when it arrives. By the way, SOB, is that a perfect acronym or what?  Conversations with my doctors would lead me to believe that I will have to learn to accept this SOB.  But I won’t do that, I figure with some exercise, some weight lost, and my attitude, I will get some of it back, maybe not as much as I want, but I will get some!

One of my constant complaints has been that I never leave the hospital in better shape than when I went in.  Yes, the situation that brought me to the hospital had been resolved, but my overall health has diminished. Before this last hospital stay, I had moderate shortness of breath, but now it seems to border on severe.  I suspect this is a battle that most of the individuals fight with during the course of the disease.  I know several of my friends in my discussion group struggle with SOB, but they are all fighters, and I will learn from them.

Overall I would rate the past 10 days or so as 2.50 to 2.75.  I have had a couple of low days, and a couple high days, but no 3.0 or better days.  I see improvement, but I feel I have a long long way to go.  So compared to my last report, I am doing better.

News from the medical front, my last chest x-ray a week ago Friday showed that my lungs are pneumonia free, which is the good news.  The bad news, if you want to be technical, is that the additional tests have shown that the MRSA has a firm hold on me, and that the Pseudomonas which had been a secondary infection has become the primary concern.  The Pseudomonas has colonized in my left lung, and this is a carryover from my hospitalization last June. It is highly resistant to most antibiotics, but, as it had, between June 2012 and January 2013 goes dormant or at least semi-dormant. To fight this I have had a new pic line installed and am taking IV medication 3 times daily, this is self-administered. In addition to the IV medicine, I am also using the nebulizer for an additional antibiotic.  This is a once a day treatment.

After riding a three-week INR rollercoaster, my INR has stabilized in the 2 to 3 range. This means no more twice a week visits to the doctor’s office for the INR test, but I will miss flirting with the nurses there.

As always your comments, thoughts, suggestions are always welcome.  Please take care — Bill

 

 
 

Tags: , , , ,

11 responses to “How I Feel Today 03.17.2013….

  1. Wanda

    March 17, 2013 at 7:48 pm

    I suspect your arrival is the highlight of the day for most of the nurses! (and I’m glad you’re feeling bit better day by day)

     
  2. The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

    March 18, 2013 at 1:47 pm

    Pneumonia free. Better and Better. HOORAY!!! So glad for any improvement and improvements also mean things are not getting worse, phew! Hugs to you, Paulette

     
    • FlaHam

      March 18, 2013 at 10:04 pm

      Paulette, Thanks for the wonderful encouragement, it makes it so much easier. I am working at getting better, but I still need to get rid of or at least bet into remission that Pseudomonas, and get rid of the MRSA in my lungs. But I am hanging in there. Bill

       
      • The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

        March 18, 2013 at 11:00 pm

        Okay, I’m with you on petting those two buggers (pseudomonas and MRSA) into bye bye land. 🙂 That’s a darn good goal.

         
  3. laurabwilliamsdesigns

    March 18, 2013 at 3:58 pm

    I am glad to hear that you are pneumonia-free (said by the lady currently in the hospital with pneumonia. I developed MRSA this past year which had no connection to my COPD, but was caused by a splinter. I was able to save the finger with vancomycin antibiotics that I received here at the hospital twice a day in 2 hour sessions. Make sure you are diligent with your antibiotics. MRSA is very dangerous in COPD patients. Here I go going on and on but I am glad you are better. I should be getting out of this fine establishment tomorrow or the next day. Good times.

     
    • FlaHam

      March 18, 2013 at 10:10 pm

      Laura, Having laid in that same bed, my heart goes out to you. Listen to the docs, take all the breathing treatments you can stand, and cough that crap out. Oh yeah, I forgot, you will think you glow by the time you get your last x-ray. LOL LOL. Just hang in there. When you get home, take it easy. Yes Yes Yes, it is easier to say it than do it, but trust me on this. Your recovery will be a lot quicker the slower you take it. I have the MRSA in my lungs, and I am fighting that battle. I am sure I will win. Laura, you can go on as much as you want. As you must realize by now I am not shy in using words, bunches of them. Please take care, and get well soon. Bill xox

       
      • laurabwilliamsdesigns

        March 19, 2013 at 7:26 am

        One of the benefits is the puffy face which makes me loo younger! Thanks for your kind words and advise and I hope you feel good today!

         
        • FlaHam

          March 19, 2013 at 7:59 am

          Laura, You take care sweetie, I am sure you will do just fine at home. And it really is so much more comfortable than the hospital. The only good thing I found out about having MRSA is that it pretty much guarantees you a single at the hospital. LOL LOL Take care, make it a great day. Bill

           
  4. Paula

    March 19, 2013 at 12:53 am

    Oh happy days the p bug has finally left you!!

    I have MRSA of the nose it is with me for life. I look at it this way I know I will always get a private room in the hospital LOL. I’m sorry about MRSA of the lungs hope you can get rid of it.

    I’m also so glad you are being a good boy and taking it easy.
    God bless
    Paula

     
  5. rebecca2000

    March 19, 2013 at 2:47 pm

    Well MRSA can suck it. It wasn’t invited. As for the rest, I think exercise and healthy eating will do you good.

    I saw this show on oprah a few years back. I bet it would help you. By eating 11lbs of raw fruits and veggies a day this happened:

    “These volunteers ate a lot of food—as much as what is sitting in front of Oprah and Dr. Oz. Yet after 12 days, their cholesterol dropped by an average of 25 percent, their blood pressure dropped by 10 percent, and they lost about 10 pounds each—including two-and-a-quarter inches of their waists. “The results were … remarkable,” Dr. Oz says.

    “When you eat this kind of food, you’re sending a very clear message to your brain,” Dr. Oz says. “You’re taking calories and nutrients. What we normally do in America is we give calories to people without nutrition. … The natural colors are gone, and so your brain sits back there and says, ‘Am I still hungry or not?'”

    Read more: http://www.oprah.com/health/Dr-Oz-on-Food-Myths_1/8#ixzz2O0rhhUD1

     
    • FlaHam

      March 19, 2013 at 3:48 pm

      Rebecca, If I could eat 11 lbs of raw fruits and veggies in a week my wife would be so damn proud of me. It’s all I can do to have a salad smothered in blue cheese dressing and enjoy it. I am really working on how much I eat and not so much what I eat. Since my last hospitalization I have lost an additional 2 lbs, beyond what I lost in the hospital. Hopefully the drugs I am taking now will push the MRSA back into a more submissive role in my body. We will see. Thanks so much for your continued care and concern. Please take care, Bill

       

Leave a Reply

 
secret Blogger

Status : surviving highschool

How the Cookie Crumbles

Life and scribbles on the far side of SIXTY-FIVE

beefandsweettea.wordpress.com/

a story of Southern agriculture

Me, My Magnificent Self

My Journey To Freedom

Kira Moore's Closet

Ever Moving Forward

