RSS

How I Feel Today 04.12.13

12 Apr

I am impressed with myself. I have gone almost 2 full weeks (as promised) without writing a “How I Feel Today…“post.  Unless something dramatic happens (which we don’t want) I think I will try to stay on this schedule.

Since my last post on this subject 03.30.13, I have had my INR checked twice (2.3 and 2.5) and it appears that is once again under control.  I have also had 3 appointments with my Infectious Disease office, and I continue to improve.  It appears that besides asking me “how am I doing,” their single biggest measurement on my health is what my lab workups say.  And apparently they are saying good things.  My current white blood count is 10.9 which puts me just a tiny bit outside high normal. As stated by my NP this is a good thing.  It means my body, in conjunction with the medicines, is winning the battle against the crap in my lungs. Understand this is a single battle, not the war.  But smiling, it is nice to win one from time to time. My doctors (both Pulmonary and Infectious) believe I won’t be getting much of my wind back.  If getting the white blood count back to normal is a victory, then not getting my breath back after hospitalization is a lost.

Still addressing the breathing issue, it really is my hope that I gain enough wind back to at least resume my 3 times a week walk on the treadmill.  Right now my walks are around the local Publix and Costco as I do some of the necessary shopping.  Granted I have to stop often to catch my breath, but I am doing it. Like I said, it my hope that soon I will be walking a couple of miles a week.

The NP and my Doctor will be keeping me on my current drug program (IV infused antibiotics 3 times day and 1 antibiotic nebulized 1 once a day) thru the end of the weekend.  I was told to come to the office on Monday April 15 to have the pic line removed.  The removal of the pic line my friends, is how I gauge if I am winning or not. Continuing with news from Infectious Disease Office, it appears the list of drugs that my body, in particular my lungs no longer respond to is growing.  So as future pulmonary episodes occur the doctors will have fewer weapons to use in the fight.  But on the bright side, if I don’t use a particular drug for a period, there is chance that in the future that drug may be available to the doctors.

One of the gauges I have begun using to determine “how I feel” on a given day is my desire to write, to share stories of myself and family.  Since my hospitalization, with the exception of weekly How I Feel Today’s, and some bitching about aspects of being in the hospital, I really haven’t felt like
writing.  But for those that follow my blog I seemed to have come out of my shell this past week. My writing has picked up significantly, and it has been relatively creative considering the subject matter. This is to say that while I still feel physically weak and not together.  My mind seems to be engaging in the things I like.

As always your comments, thoughts, suggestions are always welcome. Please take care — Bill

 
12 Comments

Posted by on April 12, 2013 in How I feel on a particular day

 

Tags: , , , , ,

12 responses to “How I Feel Today 04.12.13

  1. jmgoyder

    April 13, 2013 at 12:06 am

    My hero!

     
    • FlaHam

      April 13, 2013 at 10:44 am

      Julie, be careful or you will make my head swell. LOL LOL. I really don’t consider myself even to be hero material. I am just not ready to pack it in. So I fight, and I try to win some. That’s all. The reality is my issues and struggles don’t even compare to what you go thru on a daily basis. You, my dear, are the Hero. — please take care, Bill

       
  2. Paula

    April 13, 2013 at 4:17 am

    Oh happy days!! Oh happy days!!
    God bless
    Paula

     
    • FlaHam

      April 13, 2013 at 10:46 am

      Paula, Thank you so much, for your continue support and encouragement. Without friends like you and the others that follow my blog on a regular basis, I would be in deep deep mental crap. Again thanks, Bill

       
  3. The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

    April 13, 2013 at 10:34 am

    Bravo, my friend Bill, on your white blood cell count and overall improvement plus the appointment to have the pic line removed. Give your NP a hug from your other NP blogger friend, lol. This is a relief, that you’re moving along in the right direction. I’m smiling. And, ditto what Julie (jmgoyder). Big cyber hug, Paulette 🙂

     
    • FlaHam

      April 13, 2013 at 6:21 pm

      Paulette, I would love to give you, Julie and Lisa (my NP) all hugs, you are all special to me. Take care, Bill

       
  4. FlaHam

    April 13, 2013 at 10:50 am

    Paulette, I guess all those days and weeks of walking around with a pic in my arm somehow paid off a bit. I have gained so many wonderful friends since I started this blog. The support the giggles the encouragement make it all worthwhile. And without that support and encouragement, like I told Paula, I would be in deep deep mental crap. Thank you so much, — Bill

     
    • The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

      April 13, 2013 at 11:03 am

      I know what you mean and right back at you, since you’re one of my bestest cyber buddies. The fact that you’re improving is a huge deal. You were fighting some nasty bugs and as you wrote, one for you on this battle! Very happy for my great cyber friendship with you. 🙂

       
  5. Paula

    April 13, 2013 at 3:32 pm

    I know what the support of friends can do to help you get to the next day. I just posted last week on the forum we are on about my knee and the love and prayers can make a word of difference. I was at rock bottom. We all care about you and want the best for you.
    God bless
    Paula

     
    • FlaHam

      April 13, 2013 at 6:17 pm

      Paula, The discussion group that we share is one of the best things that has happened to me. To find that many caring, concerned and nice people in the same place sharing the same life issues has help me keep my head on kinda straight. I am far from perfect, but the DS allows me to be me. When I whine, everyone understands, many have been there before. Some are heading in that direction, but it really helps. Please take care, Bill

       
  6. Linda

    April 15, 2013 at 10:54 am

    God Bless you Bill. I pray that you continue to make steps forward even if they are tiny ones.

     
    • FlaHam

      April 18, 2013 at 9:18 pm

      Linda, a step forward is not one backwards, and I don’t do backwards well. I will continue to fight this as long as I can breath. Thank you for your prayers, they are always welcome. Bill

       

Leave a Reply

 
secret Blogger

Status : surviving highschool

How the Cookie Crumbles

An irreverant view of life after SIXTY-FIVE

beefandsweettea.wordpress.com/

a story of Southern agriculture

Me, My Magnificent Self

My Journey To Freedom

Kira Moore's Closet

Ever Moving Forward

