RSS

My Favorite Movie……

17 Apr

I am 63 years old, and have been going to the movies for more than 55 years, I must have paid to see almost a 1000 at the theater, (I also paid for at least an additional 600 tickets {that’s a lot of movie dates LOL}), but because some of these were at drive-ins, I have probably only seen 900 all the way through.  Then you add Blockbuster, Netflix, HBO, Showtime, Saturday morning creature features, and all the other pay for view channels and that adds at least, another 1500 or more movies, I have seen.  That folks means I have seen about 45 movies a year for 55 years.  That’s a lot of movies, and a lot of time spent watching them.  Of those 2500 + movies, I have seen 100’s more than once, and still other’s 2 or 3 times, and some (Midway, White Christmas, Raiders of the Lost Ark, and Forest Gump to name a few) more times than you can count.

Considering all of the movies I have seen, my single favorite movie of all time is Forest Gump.  I saw Forest Gump the 1st time while I was on travel to San Francisco, on business. I was staying in San Modesto, CA, because that was as close to the Govt office in San Fran as I could get.  I was alone, the work day was over, but it was really too early to eat.  I didn’t want to stray too far from the hotel I was staying, so I asked the desk folks where the closest movie theater was, I was directed to a Cinema about 2 miles away.  I got in line, and when my turn came, the lady behind the counter asked if I wanted to see a sneak preview of a new movie, Forest Gump. I would get a discounted ticket, but needed to fill in an instant review card after the movie.  There didn’t seem to be anything else I wanted to see so I said sure.  That was the single most enjoyable movie decision I ever made.  I fell in love with that movie within the first 5 minutes of the start, and I was captured by it for the next 217 minutes. As soon as I got back to the hotel I called my wife and made a date to see it that very weekend with her. My wife and I saw it, and she loved it as well.   She enjoyed it so much we talked another couple we knew into seeing it the following weekend.  I saw Forest Gump 3 times the first eleven days it was in the theaters. I bragged to everyone I knew how wonderful the movie was and I must have convinced at least a couple dozen folks to see it.  Since then I have sat thru Forest Gump at least 2 dozen times.  In addition, I have watched bits and pieces of this move at least 100 other times. I tease my daughter about her ability to speak the dialog in the movie Sense and Sensibilities, but I am pretty much the same way with Forest Gump.

The entire post came about today, because I was flicking channels looking for some sport something to watch and I bumped into Forest Gump on HBO.  The flood of memories came rushing back.   How the movie was simple and complex. How it touched your heart, how it forced you to think differently about people.  How it made fun of itself, while asking us to enjoy it.  The movie asked you to not set limits on those who may have less.  And it doesn’t matter what less equals.  It taught us about complete and total love.  It also showed us the pleasure in simple things.  It exposes our limitations and weaknesses, but at the same time it showed us the beauty of our lives and the world we share.  It speaks to compassion, it teaches you to be humble, and it divulges every emotion one can have.  As the last 10 minutes plays out behind me I am again reduced to tears listening to the dialog.  Yes this is my single most favorite movie.

Folks as always questions and comments are invited.  Please take care, and have a good day.  – Bill

 
22 Comments

Posted by on April 17, 2013 in Humor, Ramblings

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

22 responses to “My Favorite Movie……

  1. Wanda

    April 18, 2013 at 7:35 am

    Wow! What a great post. It’s almost a viewer’s guide to the movie. I feel like I ought to print it out so I can check off your points as I watch.

     
    • FlaHam

      April 18, 2013 at 7:59 am

      Wanda, I will loan you my copy anytime you want. Bill XO –btw– I looked for my copy and apparently I have loaned it out already, but it hasn’t found it’s way home.

       
  2. The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

    April 18, 2013 at 10:45 am

    Bravo on this one. Great writing and … what can I say, I loved this post. I also loved the movie. Brilliant. Great stuff here, Bill!

     
  3. The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

    April 18, 2013 at 10:48 am

    Reblogged this on The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap and commented:
    This is such a well written post from my friend, Bill (aka: FlaHam). All of Bill’s post are so honest and from the heart that it really doesn’t matter to me what he writes, I’m a fan. Here’s one about his all time favorite movie, Forest Gump. If you’re a movie lover, you’ll enjoy this. If you like great writing, you’ll love this. If you want to meet a man, one of my cyber heros (who lives with COPD), who has a big fat heart, you’ll want to hang with Bill over at his cyberhome. Kudos to you, Bill.

     
  4. Paula

    April 18, 2013 at 11:03 am

    I have to agree you have outdone yourself on this one. And the movie is one of my favorites also. Run Forest Run!!!
    God bless

     
    • FlaHam

      April 18, 2013 at 11:27 am

      Paula, That is so sweet of you, while I don’t try to outdo myself, I do try to at least be entertaining in my posts. I truly thank you for your continued support. Please take care, Bill a message dated 4/18/2013 11:03:32 A.M. Eastern Daylight Time,

       
  5. feelingjoy

    April 18, 2013 at 11:33 am

    Hi Bill. I enjoyed your post thanks to The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap. I want to watch Forest Gump again! I haven’t seen this movie in many years and only a couple of times. Within the past three years, I’ve learned much! One thing, is to watch movies and TV shows to learn and not only for entertainment. When I watch something I look to see how I show up like the characters. When I began doing this, I woke up buried feelings. I cried and many times didn’t feel warm and fuzzy (now I’m beginning to laugh more). I thought, wow, is that what I look like! I’ve been on a path of transformation and this has been rewarding and not soooo easy! I hope to see the movie 42 this weekend at the theater. I know there will be much to receive from this movie. Pam

     
    • FlaHam

      April 18, 2013 at 9:34 pm

      Pam, Thank you for you so very nice words. Some say that movies can be a gateway to your soul. I believe that some movies expose your soul to you. It really does take a level of maturity to watch visual entertainment for something beyond the entertainment value. But having said that we also need to understand that some entertainment has no other value than to entertain us. I am glad your transformation has allowed you to smile and laugh again. That ability will help you so so very much. Again thanks, please take care — Bill

       
  6. Lorna's Voice

    April 18, 2013 at 11:53 am

    SO hard to pick a favorite anything for me–too many out there that are too different! But I have to say that one movie that has always stuck with me for a variety of reasons is “Michael” with John Travolta.

     
    • FlaHam

      April 18, 2013 at 12:20 pm

      Lorna, Your right “Michael” was indeed a great movie (and there is much in it to stick to a person), which I have enjoyed more than once. I appreciate you stopping at my blog and taking the time to comment on my favorite movie. Please take care, Bill

       
      • Lorna's Voice

        April 18, 2013 at 3:56 pm

        I rarely watch movies more than once, but Michael is once I’ve watched a bunch of times. I saw Forrest Gump once. I think I should watch it again… 🙂

         
  7. pishnguyen

    April 18, 2013 at 7:22 pm

    Hi! I found your blog through a reblog on The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap, and I’m so glad I did. Forrest Gump was such a beautifully powerful movie, and this is also a beautifully powerful post. Thanks for sharing your thoughts and memories. 🙂

     
    • FlaHam

      April 18, 2013 at 9:12 pm

      Smiling, thank you for checking out my post and your very nice comments. Forest Gump was one of the clarifying moments for me. Again thank you and take care — Bill

       
  8. Let's CUT the Crap!

    April 18, 2013 at 8:44 pm

    I love Forest Gump too and have seen it three times so far.

     
    • FlaHam

      April 18, 2013 at 9:13 pm

      Let’s, your just getting started, in time you will be able to talk along with the dialog just like I can. Thank you for your confirming comments, Forest Gump is a wonderful movie. Take care, Bill

       
  9. Laurel

    April 20, 2013 at 12:31 pm

    Hi Bill
    I love film! I go to the movies a lot. These days I love to go during the day when the theatres are not busy. And with Netflix, well there are more movies than there is time!
    I love Forest Gump also! I remember it made our ‘we have to buy’ list way back when everyone bought dvds. IT’s still a film I can watch over and over!
    :)Have a super weekend!
    Laurel

     
  10. rebecca2000

    April 21, 2013 at 10:39 am

    I love that movies too. We even have a 100 inch movie screen in the house with two rows of bi level reclining seating. Forrest gump is excellent.

     
    • FlaHam

      April 21, 2013 at 10:54 am

      Rebecca, Can I come to your place and watch movies????? All I got is a 42 inch HD, which I sit on the couch to watch. Have a great day, Bill

       
      • rebecca2000

        April 21, 2013 at 11:07 am

        You’re welcome to come on by. I have a 55 inch in the living room too.

         
  11. Linda

    April 22, 2013 at 11:35 am

    Wonderful post Bill. As a fellow movie buff I totally concur with what you said. There are special movies that you never tire of watching and each time you discover something new. Forrest Gump is one of them. Hope you are felling okay. Enjoy the nice weather..it’s starting to get nicer up here.

     
  12. Laurel

    May 6, 2013 at 9:42 pm

    Movies are magical! They offer escape, adventure, a reprieve from our very real day to day lives! I love the movies!

     
    • FlaHam

      May 6, 2013 at 9:48 pm

      Laurel, Smiling, as I do, one time I checked out the top 100 movies of all time, and I had seen 87 of them. But I have never seen Gone with the Wind. Go figure. Thank you for again reading one of my posts. I do appreciate it greatly. Take care, Bill

       

Leave a Reply

 
secret Blogger

Status : surviving highschool

How the Cookie Crumbles

An irreverant view of life after SIXTY-FIVE

beefandsweettea.wordpress.com/

a story of Southern agriculture

Me, My Magnificent Self

My Journey To Freedom

Kira Moore's Closet

Ever Moving Forward

