RSS

How I Feel Today 04.28.13

28 Apr

I won’t say I am impressed because I waited 2 full weeks again, I just really didn’t have enough information to write about so I waited until I did.  Since my last “How I feel today” post I have made the great circle thru my doctors.  I have seen the eye doctor, the lung doctor, and my infectious disease doctor within the last 14 days. For those of us that keep track, I feel I am at the 2.75 level and have been pretty much for the last two weeks.  Early evening coughing is still a significant issue, and SOB at this level is now a fact of life that I am working to deal with.

This was my 1st visit to the eye doctor in over 16 months, it was a good appointment. I have changed eye doctors because I just wasn’t happy with the doctor, or the eyeglasses that came from his prescription, and even though they replaced my lenses twice and the frames once in the 1st 8 months, I was still not satisfied, therefore I changed doctors.  This seemed to be the right decision.  I had the most through eye exam in years, with a Doctor that really seemed to care.  She listened to my complaints, involved herself in a dialog that forced me to think before answering, made some suggestions then examined my eyes.  Apparently vision has changed enough to warrant a new pair of glasses.  One of my biggest complaints was that I could never adjust my head the proper way to feel comfortable reading thru the bifocal aspect of the lenses of my old glasses.  That issue has been addressed to my complete satisfaction.

I had two different appointments with the infectious disease folks over the last 2 weeks.  The 1st was a follow-up and the decision to remove the pic line.  The removal of the pic line is important to me because that means in my doctors eyes I have made enough progress to not warrant the extra medication that the pic line is utilized.  My white blood count is within high normal, and all of the other parameters that they use to measure my health seem to be okay.  The MRSA and Pseudomonas still reside in my left lung, but both seem to be a bay.  Yes they will flare up again, when, who knows, but for now that is not on my agenda.

I also had my 14 monthly infusion treatment on this past Thursday.  It was almost as simple as when I have the pic line.  I was there promptly at 9am, was in my chair by 915am, it took the nurse only two sticks before she got into the proper vein and 5 hours later I was done.  I read, played on facebook on my laptop, worked on my blog for a bit, and watched some great music videos.  I even had my ear buds so I could really rock.  I was the youngest person in the center, so I don’t believe my choice in music was universally accepted.

The other doctor appointment I had last week, was with my Pulmonary Doctor.  I had my annual breathing test. I also had a post-test follow up.   Of course there is no good news from the results of these tests.  I don’t expect one, and beginning quite honest if my lung function had improved, I would have questioned the test.  The net difference between Sept 2012 and April 2013 was the lost of 10 percent of lung function. Overall I went from 45 pct in Sept to 41 pct in April, granted that is only 4 percentage points but its 10 percent of functionality.  The good side, and we will take good sides when we can, is that my  doctor thinks that this is a great victory considering the health year I had between Sept and April.  So if he wants to qualify it as a victory, I like victories so it has been a good year.

Oh by the way, I don’t know how I failed to mention that the University of Louisville kicked some serious butt during the recent 2013 NCAA Men’s Basketball Tournament.  Louisville beat Michigan 82-76 (or too much to not enough) for the National Title — GO CARDS! ! ! ! !.  Also, while not quite as successful as the Men’s team, the Lady Cards also kicked serious butt during their tournament, only losing to a very strong UConn team during their National Title game.  All of this, coupled with the Cards football team winning the Big East, and having Gator (during their victory over Florida) stew at the Sugar Bowl, really made for a great year in Louisville sports.

As always your comments, thoughts, suggestions are always welcome. Please take care — Bill

 
9 Comments

Posted by on April 28, 2013 in How I feel on a particular day

 

Tags: , , , , ,

9 responses to “How I Feel Today 04.28.13

  1. The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

    April 28, 2013 at 7:53 pm

    Hi Bill, You’re holding steady and that’s good, especially if you still have those superbugs residing in your lung. That’s encouraging. Glad your satisfied with your eye doctor. That’s important. And, hey hey to Louisville sports! Take care, Paulette

     
  2. Chatter Master

    April 28, 2013 at 7:59 pm

    Hi Bill. I am being educated by you and appreciate your candid information and sharing. I often “hear” about COPD and breathing issues because of the population I work with. But I don’t really know much about it. I am glad things are better and the doctor thinks this is victorious, but I would like for it to feel better for you. Thank you.

     
    • FlaHam

      April 28, 2013 at 8:14 pm

      Chatter, I will start by being a touch flippant. Each day when I wake, I take that as a victory. But now I will be serious and say COPD is a serious killer, and at this monent is the 4th leading killer in this country. When I first started this blog 20 of my first 25 were purely about COPD. Now I write for my grandaugther. I really appreicate you coments and thoughts. Hopefully some of posts will help you learning about COPD? Please take care –Bill

       
      • Chatter Master

        April 29, 2013 at 5:50 am

        Yes they (the posts) are helping me Bill, a great deal. And I’m glad you are waking each day victoriously!

        Like you, I write much of what I write, for my grandchildren. Some day, I hope they read and wonder and are curious. And, I hope they know how very much they mean to me. They add a depth and dimension to my life that I never knew possible.

        Thank you Bill. 🙂

         
  3. jmgoyder

    April 29, 2013 at 9:30 am

    The SOB must be so difficult. When I get asthma I freak out panic (which doesn’t help!) You are heroic in my opinion, Bill, JX

     
  4. Paula

    April 30, 2013 at 9:06 am

    Congratulation you sound like you are holding your own. This is wonderful!! You made it through all those Dr visits this is a miracle in its own LOL. You are such an inspiration to me.
    God bless
    Paula

     
  5. DeeDee Granata

    April 30, 2013 at 12:43 pm

    yep. What everybody else said. Thanks. Bummer about losing lung function. I feel mine getting worse. Hopefully my IVs get started again soon. Hanging in here until it gets figured out. Glad you are my friend.

     
  6. rebecca2000

    May 1, 2013 at 3:28 pm

    I know you must get warn out with all this doctor business. ((Hugs))

     
    • FlaHam

      May 1, 2013 at 3:46 pm

      Rebecca,(*(*(* Becca *)*)*) It is sweet of you to show the concern, thank you very much. I have a great relationship with my doctors, but your right, I hate going and going and going to doctors. It eats so much of my time up there are weeks I can hardly get anything done. Thanks, Bill

       

Leave a Reply

 
secret Blogger

Status : surviving highschool

How the Cookie Crumbles

An irreverant view of life after SIXTY-FIVE

beefandsweettea.wordpress.com/

a story of Southern agriculture

Me, My Magnificent Self

My Journey To Freedom

Kira Moore's Closet

Ever Moving Forward

