RSS

How I Feel Today 05/14/13….

14 May

On my own devised scale I feel about 2.  No real pain to speak of, no real fever, no poops, but with a cough that all but rips your chest out and no energy. Yes I am back in the hospital.

Folks how are you today? As for myself I as I said above I am once again back in the hospital.  The pneumonia and Pseudomonas which reside in my lungs (primarily the left) have decided they were tired of being ignored and wanted their special place at the head of the table.  Truly, these two house guess’s I could do without.  I really thought I had gotten a good head start having seen the doctor in a very timely manner to head off a trip to the hospital, but I was wrong.  I was brought kicking and screaming (just kidding) to the hospital yesterday and admitted immediately.  But of course immediately means something entirely different to a hospital, I was in the ER room for close to 7 hours before space was found.  But now I am sharing a room with a gentleman a bit sicker than I.  Bless his heart. For those that don’t know me or haven’t followed me, I have COPD.  It is a terminal disease, and in time it will kill me.

Last week I picked up a cough that was a little stronger than normal.  I found that in the course of the overnight I would wake up to cough, and this early am coughing was very productive, quite offensive looking, sharp yellow/green in color, and as thick and sticky as grade school paste. Yuk Yuk!!!!

This is only day two of my hospitalization, but I am further along towards recovery.  My interest and ability to read are high, I am writing this and hopefully it makes sense to the readers.

I just had my vitals taken and there they are: BP 114/54, O2=92 pct, heart rate 94 (which is low normal for me), temperature 97.6 which is normal for me, another key test is my white blood cells is well over high normal, so they are working their little butts off getting this infection under control.

COPD in my case is made up of chronic bronchitis with a chronic cough that produces a ton of mucus. It is one of the aspects of the COPD umbrella.  The major bugs I get stem from Pseudomonas which is the jump starter for pneumonia.  Until a few years ago, Pseudomonas was not an ongoing issue, but over the last year or so it is not only the jump starter for illness, it resides in my lungs and with only the slightest of pushes becomes full-blown pneumonia. Over the last couple years my body has developed a tolerance for the drugs necessary to fully beat the Pseudomonas to submission.  So as the COPD progresses, my body will develop further tolerances for drugs and eventually the story ends.  But until then I will fight this sucker as best I can.

Now the Pseudomonas resides in my left lung waiting for the opportunity to flare up at a moment’s notice.  It is these flare ups that immediately get me hospitalized.

No mention has been made of what the duration of my stay will be.  It is way too early in the process to make that prediction, but having said that, I may report again later in the week of my progress.

Unlike my last trip to the hospital, I am in an actual room (it has a bathroom, a window with a view of trees, and enough room to turn around) as compared to the cell I was in last time.  I am sharing this room with another patient, but that will change very soon, I have MRSA and that will require isolation. So either he or I will be moved and it will most likely take place within the next 24 hours.

The goal of course is to get the f….. out of the hospital, and to be well enough to enjoy the upcoming Disney cruise with my family.  The cruise has been in the works for over a year and I have my granddaughter as fired up as I can, and only hope to amp her up a little more before our July cruise.

Well folks I hope you have a pleasant day, thank you for your continued good thoughts and kind words of encouragement.  As always your comments welcomed are encouraged – take care, Bill

 
13 Comments

Posted by on May 14, 2013 in How I feel on a particular day

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

13 responses to “How I Feel Today 05/14/13….

  1. Chatter Master

    May 14, 2013 at 5:33 pm

    I can’t like this post Bill. I don’t like that you are sick and in the hospital. But I do like your sense of humor and determination and feeling well enough to write. Tell your unwanted visitors there is NO room on the cruise for them. Feel better!!!

     
    • FlaHam

      May 14, 2013 at 10:14 pm

      Colleen, Some posts I write I don’t like either, but they need to be written. I know I am ill, I know what the result will be. I am making the best of the time I have. I started writing my blog 11 months ago, I had a lot to say when I started and I still do. I hope thru my spirit I inspire someone else to fight a little harder, to not give up, and to be as active and productive as they can be for as long as they have. To never really give up. I know I won’t. But part of that is always being honest, and by sharing both the good and the bad, the funny and the sad. Since we met via blog world I have so enjoyed your writing and your comments to mine. Thank you for your continued support and caring. Please take care, Bill

       
      • Chatter Master

        May 15, 2013 at 6:15 am

        Bill I so appreciate your honesty. I know facing the truths of our situations makes us more able to deal with them, for us and for others (grandchildren!).

        I met a lady the other day who told me she was “on the dying list”. I asked her why she said that. She said we can’t all live to be 150! I told her we are all on the dying list. SHe laughed at the truth of it.

        God speed in your healing and feeling better! I look forward to your posts. colleen

         
  2. The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

    May 14, 2013 at 6:06 pm

    I’m of the same sentiment as what Colleen wrote above. I’m so sorry to hear you’re back in the hospital but glad it hasn’t taken your great sense of humor with it. I hope there’s power and benefit to prayer or positive thoughts, tons of mine are heading your way as we speak. Big hugs and hope you get on top of this and go home. Take care, friend.

     
    • FlaHam

      May 14, 2013 at 10:23 pm

      Paulette, I have to use humor when I am being serious, it takes the edge off, and allows most to read my posts all the way thru. Besides I have been a wise ass my entire life, and I can spell the words, and if I have a couple drinks I most likely talk that way. You have been such a wonderful friend, full of encouragement, advice, and countless prayers and good thoughts. Thank you so very much. — Bill

       
    • The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

      May 14, 2013 at 10:45 pm

      Bless your sweet heart, Bill. Am continuing to hold you in my good thoughts that you conquer this next battle quickly and get back home. Good to write and talk like there are a couple drinks on board, maybe it’ll fool the brain into a few extra endorphins to aid the healing. Big cyber hugs to you. Be well and you take care. Paulette

       
  3. Paula

    May 14, 2013 at 11:57 pm

    Bill I am so sorry that you are back into the hospital!!$#^*. You fought the law but it looks like the law (pneumonia and Pseudomonas) won and I am sorry.

    I know when ever I went into the ER they didn’t even ask about being admitted I was already told I was going and I also have MRSA so I would get a private room the best way to go. I didn’t like to share.

    I know right now I have critical care nurses at my house with hospice which is nice they come to me and I don’t have to go to the hospital.

    I hope they can find an antibiotic that will work with you. It is bad when you have to take so much antibiotic your body grows so accustom that they don’t work anymore.

    You keep that hard fight up that I know you have in you. I will keep you in my prayers friend that God will guide you through all and bless you.
    God bless
    Paula

     
  4. gita4elamats

    May 15, 2013 at 12:48 am

    Hope you beat the bug soon, keep fighting, Bill! 🙂

     
    • FlaHam

      May 15, 2013 at 10:51 am

      Sweetness, I sm doing the best I can. I will be reporting my condition in a few days. Take care, Bill

       
      • gita4elamats

        May 15, 2013 at 11:18 am

        Great! You’ve a lot of fans/friends wishing you well! 😀

         
  5. Wanda

    May 15, 2013 at 6:33 am

    Bill, I saw Steph’s facebook post that you are back in the hospital again–I am so sorry to know that is the case. You’ve got a lot to look forward to and I know that will motivate you to get better. Hopefully the hospital treatment will do its part to get you well and out of the hospital ASAP. I’ll try to stop in on Fri/Sat once I’m back in town.

     
    • FlaHam

      May 17, 2013 at 10:16 pm

      Wanda, As always your so sweet to me. Thank you, course I would love a visit, but I also understand. With any luck I will be out of here come Monday. From talking to Art I know you had a decent trip, though getting there is 2/3’s the battle. Please be safe. Bill

       
  6. Linda

    May 15, 2013 at 4:13 pm

    Hang in their my friend…sending you hugs from Mass Hope the new meds kick in real quick…

     

Leave a Reply

 
secret Blogger

Status : surviving highschool

How the Cookie Crumbles

An irreverant view of life after SIXTY-FIVE

beefandsweettea.wordpress.com/

a story of Southern agriculture

Me, My Magnificent Self

My Journey To Freedom

Kira Moore's Closet

Ever Moving Forward

