RSS

Snap Shots….. Lobster

29 May

This vacation view comes from a trip to Myrtle Beach with Steph, Allison and Arlene (mom-in-law) and recounts the 1st time I ever ate lobster. I must have been 36 at the time of this story.

 

As a preface I need to remind you I am from Kentucky.  My Mom was born and raised in Kentucky, lived on a farm, and my Dad was from a little town in Illinois. The Hamilton family diet included meat and potatoes.  The meat was generally breaded and fried.  The potatoes were generally mashed, though we did do buttered and cubed potatoes from time to time (my favorite, even now). The drippings from the fried meat was used to make gravy to cover the mashed potatoes. Homemade biscuits and some vegetable was served more often than not green beans or sweet corn.  Sea food was not served in our home, if we wanted fried fish we went to McDonald’s or Kingfish.  I wasn’t a fish person, and because I wasn’t a fish person, I didn’t know about lobster or even shrimp. I think if memory serves, I was 23 the first time I had shrimp.  Then 13 years later I had lobster.  And this is how it came to be.

We were on vacation in Myrtle Beach SC we were staying at a very nice condo/resort community.  It had a great pool, the beaches were close by, nice golf course, and of course all the attractions that Myrtle Beach has to offer.   On the evening this event happened Arlene said she wanted to take the family out to dinner, she had read about this local waterside seafood restaurant she wanted to try.  I did not get a vote, Steph and the kid agreed, I as duty driver, drove the ladies to the restaurant.  The trip only took about 10 or 12 minutes, and throughout the journey Steph said don’t worry they will have stuff you like on the menu, and on and on.  Steph knew I wasn’t a seafood fan, knew that I wouldn’t experiment, she also knew that this would have been the last place I choose.

The place would have been great on “Dinners, Drive-in’s and Dives”!  It was clearly a local hangout, but we got a great table at a window overlooking the inner waterway.  It was peaceful, it was relaxing, and it was loud at the same time.  But other than a kiddie burger or hot dog, it was a seafood restaurant.  The menu was filled with a ton of “seafoods,” because I didn’t eat seafood not a single item looked familiar, except of course Shrimp and they had it every which way to Sunday.  I believe Bubba (of Bubba Gump fame) must have visited here when creating his list of potential shrimp dishes.  And I would have been happy just ordering fried shrimp.  But noooooo! that wasn’t going to happen.  My lovely wife goated and I do mean goated me into ordering something other than shrimp.  Arlene, using her most polite smile agreed with Steph, and Allison just giggled watching me squirm.

So under all the pressure, I told the waitress I would have the lobster tail.  I didn’t know what I ordered, I had no idea how it was cooked or presented, but it was the most expensive thing on the menu and I figured, if it were that damn expensive it had to be at least decent.  Folks, that was the biggest damn tail I have ever had, I don’t have a clue to its weight, but I have not had a lobster tail bigger than that very first one.  I had it served with a baked potato and a side salad.  Folks, did I say tail was big LOL LOL, well it tasted just as good as it was big.  I was immediately a convert, I loved it, and they served it with drawn butter, they must have known I was from the south. Love how they were served on the shell just ready to be wolfed down.  My mouth is watering just thinking how good that lobster was.  Anyway everyone left the restaurant quite happy, and lobster tails would become part of my dinner out rotation.

A year later visiting Arlene in Cocoa Beach, she took us out to dinner (as she did a lot when we visited her).  This evening she took us to a local place and they were having a lobster dinner special.  Twin lobsters for a very reasonable price. I jumped on that like stink on poop. This was to be my second lobster meal.  I fully expected the server to present 2 lobster tails on their shells and I just gobble down. Imagine my complete and total surprise when my plate was presented, and to my dismay 2 complete lobsters were staring at me. Heads, claws, bodies tails, all still intact, nothing ready for me to gobble.  I was at a lost for words and my appetite was quickly leaving.  I had no clue where or how to start, and I really didn’t want to fight for my food.  I peered at those lobsters trying to will them to prepare themselves to be eaten, with no luck.  Arlene’s care giver (after busting my ass) saved the day, and de-shelled my lobsters. Neatly stacking the edible stuff on one section of my plate, talking to me about how easy it was, and how I needed to grow up, and quit acting like a 7 year old.   All the while she is banging on me, I just sat quietly (and smiling to myself thinking that at least I wasn’t the one preparing the feast).  After she did the work she did suck the claws (because I refused), I had a wonderful lobster meal.  I also learned the difference between ordering lobster and lobster tail, and I also understood why ordering the tail was more expensive, there is a lot of work going on preparing a complete lobster to be consumed.

Folks, that’s my vacation story regarding lobster.  If you have any questions or comments please feel free to send them along.  Have a pleasant day.  Take care — Bill

 
16 Comments

Posted by on May 29, 2013 in Grandpa Stories, Humor, Ramblings

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

16 responses to “Snap Shots….. Lobster

  1. cestlavie22

    May 29, 2013 at 7:21 pm

    Haha I remember my first encounter with Lobster. I was not at all impressed that i had to work so hard for such a little amount of food. But dipped in butter…it is pretty amazing isn’t it?

     
    • FlaHam

      May 29, 2013 at 11:05 pm

      Shaeleen, Thank you for you comments regarding my lobster post. Unlike you I fell for lobster immediately, I loved the texture and taste compared to other sea food, but you made a great point, once you dipped it in that butter, it became even more amazing. LOL LOL, not to mention the million extra calories LOL. I hope you find some of my future writing as enjoyable. Please take care and have a great day. — Bill

       
  2. Chatter Master

    May 29, 2013 at 8:19 pm

    I still have not tried lobster, in any form, yet. Not opposed to it. Just haven’t done it. 🙂 I’m too stingy to pay that much! But I will eat fish and shrimp.

     
    • FlaHam

      May 29, 2013 at 10:58 pm

      Colleen, As much as I love lobster, I don’t get it often, the portion is never big enough to satisfy me LOL LOL. And your right it is damn expensive for what you get. Like you I also really enjoy shrimp. But a plate full of scallops makes me happy too LOL LOL. Please take care and have a great evening. — Bill

       
      • Chatter Master

        May 30, 2013 at 6:08 am

        Thank you Bill. If I ever try lobster I will think of you, and when I get home, share the experience with you! 🙂

         
  3. The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

    May 29, 2013 at 9:06 pm

    Another great post and writing. Cracked me up when you mentioned Bubba of Forrest Gump fame… a great memory from that movie. I haven’t had lobster in years but used to love it dipped in butter and garlic. It’s so darn expensive nowadays that I really don’t consider it anymore but hey, maybe on an anniversary… Thanks, pal. Be well.

     
    • FlaHam

      May 29, 2013 at 11:01 pm

      Paulette, Smiling well you suggested it, and your wish is my command LOL LOL. I was just commenting to Chatter that the expense of lobster really keeps me from having it very often, it has to be a very special day or event. I enjoyed tying my favorite movie into this story. It was a perfect fit. Please take care, and have a pleasant day. — Bill

       
  4. gita4elamats

    May 30, 2013 at 12:57 am

    Yummm, made me hungry, Bill! 😀

     
    • FlaHam

      May 30, 2013 at 7:54 am

      Ela I am glad, since I completed that post I have spent way to much time thinking about lobster. I could start another blog “Cooking with Ham” where all I did was talk about meals I have had. LOL LOL But I think I will just continue as I am. Take care, and again thanks for spending time with my posts. — Bill

       
      • gita4elamats

        May 30, 2013 at 10:06 am

        Much more variety in your current blog, although, “Cooking with Ham” could be interesting, too! 🙂

         
  5. Wanda

    June 1, 2013 at 5:00 am

    Bill, I enjoyed how you set this one up. The paragraph about your Kentucky roots was the perfect introduction for the rest of the story. As for that, I have to agree with you that (regular) lobster is way more trouble than it’s worth–maybe I’ll have to give lobster tail a try some time.

     
    • FlaHam

      June 2, 2013 at 3:05 pm

      Wanda, Smiling I truly appreciate your comments. You stroke my ego in such a refined way and I appreciate it greatly. I felt I needed to set it up so folks would truly understand how alien things like shrimp, scallops and lobster were to a lower middle class boy from Kentucky. I would suggest you have yourself a “tail” that lobster meat is wonderful. Please take care, Bill

       
  6. Linda

    June 1, 2013 at 3:02 pm

    Wonderful story about your first time eating lobster. Living here in New England we have lobster several times during the summer and for special occasions other times of the year. For me I relish picking apart the whole lobster and getting into all the tiny places where meat is hidden. Often I give away a claw, but never the tail. My favorite way to eat lobster is baked stuffed. We are going to Bar Harbor in a couple weeks and I see a lobster roll in my future. As always Bill you paint pictures well with your writing. I could visualize your chagrin when you saw the whole lobster siting in front of you. thank you for the wonderful story…hugs Linda

     
    • FlaHam

      June 1, 2013 at 3:46 pm

      Linda, Thank you for you kind words. This would be one of the only examples for wishing to live in the north again, where lobster could be a part of my diet on a somewhat regular basis, kinda like a New York Strip. Heck that is the perfect meal; a big lobster tail and a New York Strip LOL LOL Throw in a baked potato fully dressed, damn I can see were there could be other health problems with this diet LOL LOL. I hope you have a great time in Bar Harbor. Maybe you could start your blog story reflecting on this upcoming trip. Take care and have a great rest of the weekend. — Bill

       
  7. bloggingbyrgottier

    October 23, 2013 at 3:14 pm

    Hi Bill!
    The seafood & especially the lobster & tails are quite a great way to get nutrition too. I’m sure they are very delicious. I eat shrimp a lot & sometimes happen when I go to the buffets that Asians have here in Colorado Springs, I get a few things that I haven’t tried. I then go to the internet to check on how they are eaten & cooked, fried, boiled or baked. Baking isn’t a great thing for them. One of them I tried that was new was octopus tentacles that were small. I found out that they have lots of nutrition & just need to be chewed on a little. I thought it was like any other seafood I had tried. but never had to do anything but eat it all. That was an experience I haven’t tried for awhile. Thanks for your post on lobster & for taking a look at my posts on my blog. It really has been great to put input in just to let you know so you can spread it around as you reply to others in need.
    Rodney

     

Leave a Reply

 
secret Blogger

Status : surviving highschool

How the Cookie Crumbles

An irreverant view of life after SIXTY-FIVE

beefandsweettea.wordpress.com/

a story of Southern agriculture

Me, My Magnificent Self

My Journey To Freedom

Kira Moore's Closet

Ever Moving Forward

