RSS

How I Feel Today 06.01.13…..

01 Jun

Good morning folks, I hope you have had a pleasant week, mine was okay.  Nothing earth-shaking to report and no real changes in my health (good or bad)  occurred this week.  A milestone happens on June 17, 2013 (and this probably won’t be the only time I mention it), it will be the 1 year anniversary of this blog, my first post was 249 words long and it was a chore to write.  This post will be my 127th post.  Now I have a hard time keeping my posts to less than 1200 words.

When I started my blog I had a scale I used to determine how I felt during a given period of time.  The scale is based on a range from 1 to 5 and percentage points in between. If I felt like a 1 on my scale that meant I felt like death sucking on a life saver.  If I said I felt like a 5 it meant I was walking on clouds I felt so damn good, to the point that golf might be a possibility.  At no point this year have I had either a 5 day or a 1 day. But I was close to both more than once. That scale has worked pretty well, but it doesn’t reflect the overall change in my health, it doesn’t reflect, that no matter what I do, I won’t feel as good as I did this time last year.

So after further review I have decided to revise how I apply my scale to me.  Given my current health, recent hospitalizations, and all the other factors I use to gauge me, today I feel like a 3, maybe even a touch over a 3.  Clearly today’s 3 isn’t the same as last year’s 3, but I am not the same either.  I would much rather be glad I feel as well as I can, than dwell on what I can’t change.  So for those keeping score 3 is a good day.  Not great, not bad, but just an average kinda day.  And smiling I will take 3 days everyday given the choice.

The pneumonia that hospitalized me during the early part of May is still resident in my left lung, and will continue to reside there.  That will not change so we won’t be spending a lot of future time discussing it.  I saw both my lung doctor and the infectious disease doctor this week.  My lung Doctor said (smiling) my lungs sounds pretty good for the condition they are in. One day I am going to have to borrow a stethoscope and listen to my lungs on good and bad days just to hear what my doctors hear.  For the better part of the last 6 years my lungs have been the central issue to my health and I have never heard what they sound like.  Listening to them may give me a better perspective, or at least increase my knowledge of what’s going on in there.  My last INR check was 2.6 which is good, and will be checked again next week. Glucose is running a little high, but given all the medicines I am taking that is understandable, and with the exception of my internal medicine doctor, they tell me there isn’t a reason for concern. White blood count is way high still at 16.2, but given that I still have an issue in my lung my body is fighting, this too is understandable.  My immunoglobulin’s are all within normal or low normal range, again my doctors seem happy about this. My O2 level has been low all week, random checks have found my O2 to be 90 or less more often than not this week.  It has been especially low after exerting myself even at a minimum level.  My lung doctor said if this continues we may have to adjust my supplemental to 3 lpm (have been at the 2.5 level for almost 3 years).  I take all of this to be good news for me.

For the sake of keeping this positive, and because SOB has become a part of my day-to-day world, you can assume that SOB is a continuing issue. If there is any significant change in it I will report the change.  Though I am considering writing a post just about SOB, when it comes on, how long it lasts, what triggers I notice, and the things I do to combat it.

My Lung and Infectious Disease doctors are working together to ensure that I have a good cruise.  Schedules are being shifted slightly to allow treatments to take place just prior to departure rather than upon return.  Medicines will be prescribed for me to take with me for “just in case” situations.  I feel very good about the effort they are putting forth to help.  My wife and daughter also are quite appreciative of the efforts.

Well folks I hope you have a pleasant day, thank you for your continued good thoughts and kind words of encouragement. As always your comments welcomed are encouraged – take care, Bill

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

12 responses to “How I Feel Today 06.01.13…..

  1. The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

    June 1, 2013 at 5:32 pm

    Happy almost anniversary. You have a great attitude and I’m happy to see you revised your point system and that today’s a 3. Holding you in good thoughts you stay stable and get to enjoy that wonderful salt air, that lungs love. Have a good weekend, friend. Paulette

     
    • FlaHam

      June 2, 2013 at 2:48 pm

      Paulette, LMAO you will get more than one opportunity to say “Happy Anniversary” to me, cause you just will. It only made sense to change the scale. If there was an expectation that I would or could get back to where I was health wise a year or so ago, I wouldn’t have changed the scale. But reality changes and we must adjust to it. The single most important thing is my attitude has not changed a bit, I will continue my battle, and I will win some, maybe even most. Take care, Bill

       
  2. Chatter Master

    June 1, 2013 at 8:52 pm

    I am very impressed, and happy for you, that you have doctors working with you to make this cruise a joy and a success. I’m hoping for full on 5s for your entire cruise!!!!!!!!!!

     
  3. gita4elamats

    June 2, 2013 at 12:17 am

    Happy first anniversary. 🙂

     
  4. jmgoyder

    June 2, 2013 at 7:44 am

    I think of you a lot, Bill.

     
    • FlaHam

      June 2, 2013 at 2:37 pm

      Julie, I can say without reservation I have missed you during your blogless month. It is nice to have you back. Please take care, Bill

       
  5. Professor VJ Duke

    June 3, 2013 at 11:55 am

    Nice! 200 to 1200!! Man, I wish I could do that!

     
  6. DeeDee Granata

    June 6, 2013 at 7:06 am

    Hi! Looking forward to your cruise and hearing all about it. So happy your doctors are helping you get ready. Happy anniversary!

     
    • FlaHam

      June 6, 2013 at 9:29 am

      Dee, I am looking forward to it as well, and the granddaughter is close to beside herself. because I do so enjoy just calling her to tell her how many days before we sail. Thank you for your continued support and friendship. Take care, Bill

       
  7. bloggingbyrgottier

    October 20, 2013 at 10:03 pm

    Hi!
    I have this post & am happy for you. I do hope that you will read my posts about everything, but I do have ones on there on my blog that relate to health. Sometimes I am hard on people, but I have had a lot of health issues when I was a baby. As I was growing up, I had to change what I did to make a difference to my health also. My health if I gauged it would be like 2 or 2.5 most of the times now as I am having to work with low blood pressure, low blood sugar, poor circulation, being pigeon-toed, chronic allergies all year long & recently had compressed disc which also adds to it with sciatica from a wreck I had with a small import truck. I believed in muscle cars & stability when driving. I don’t drive now, but have to walk wherever I go because I feel I need to exercise most of the time for the other great things I can get as I let my health get better at times. Love the post & hope to inspire you with all my great posts on my blog.
    Rodney

     
    • FlaHam

      October 21, 2013 at 6:42 pm

      Rodney, Again thank you for taking the time to read one of my posts, and again for taking the time to offer a comment. We all have our fair share of health issues, and most of us try to do what is best, and what is proscribed. But as you well know with any health issue there are challenges, and it is how we as individuals deal with those challenges make or break us. I am fighting what I call the good fight. I pretty much stay within the guidelines my doctors had defined, and feel I ain’t doing bad all things considered. I haven’t started reading your blog yet, but I will. Right now I am in the middle of dealing with a tragic event in our my family. But I will soon be reading and following you. Take care, Bill

       

Leave a Reply

 
secret Blogger

Status : surviving highschool

How the Cookie Crumbles

An irreverant view of life after SIXTY-FIVE

beefandsweettea.wordpress.com/

a story of Southern agriculture

Me, My Magnificent Self

My Journey To Freedom

Kira Moore's Closet

Ever Moving Forward

