RSS

How I Feel Today 06.14.13….

14 Jun

How I Feel Today 06.14.13
Happy Friday folks, hopefully you have had a good week, got a lot accomplished, and are ready to kick back and enjoy the weekend. I have no plans for the weekend myself, unless you count floating around in my pool as an activity. If you do, then my weekend is going to be extremely busy.

If you discount the SOB issues which I have because it is my scale, and my blog, I have had a good week. On my scale it has been a solid 3 week, almost good enough to push to the 3.25 level but I am not prepared to commit to that so we will keep it at a solid 3. Last week I reported I was taking Colistimethate 75mg every 8 hours (via nebulizer), to combat the Pseudomonas, that has taken up residence in my lungs. Originally the doctor wanted me to continue this regiment until June 18th, but upon further review, I have been advised that I will stay on this drug until the 21st. The rest of the game plan remains the same. But let me say this! if taking Colistimethate on a regular basis helps keep the pseudomonas at bay, I will gladly take it. My fear, and in part I believe the doctors fret about this as well, is that my body will stop responding to the drug. If this occurs then I might be in trouble because there are only so many drugs available to fight pseudomonas. The only other number that is significant at all to me was my INR, it was checked Monday and found to be 3.1 (just outside therapeutic range) I am to continue current dosage and it will be rechecked on this coming Monday.

The only new thing on my agenda is I have decided to see a psychologist. I figured what the heck it’s only one more doctor, and it’s only an hour a week. I can handle it. In all seriousness, I think it will do me a world of good, and will allow me an opportunity to vent, and get a multitude of things off my chest. To make it work will require me to be 100 percent honest with the psychologist about what’s going on in my head, and I want it to work. Being candid, I am surprised that one of my other doctors did not recommend this. Folks in our situation need as many avenues as possible to deal with our issue. Our loved ones need it, and our love ones need us to keep it together as best we can. I feel this will help me keep it together.

I don’t have any bones I want to pick today, and no rant all mentally fired up and ready to go, so this is going to be an uncommonly short post today.

Well folks I hope you have a pleasant day, thank you for your continued good thoughts and kind words of encouragement. As always your comments are encouraged and welcomed. — Bill

 
 

Tags: , , , , ,

17 responses to “How I Feel Today 06.14.13….

  1. Chatter Master

    June 14, 2013 at 2:27 pm

    I hear a happy tone in your post today Bill. Positivity blooms! 🙂 I’m glad it’s been a solid 3 week. Be well and happy! 🙂

     
    • FlaHam

      June 14, 2013 at 2:38 pm

      Colleen, there is no doubt I am full of blooms LOL LOL. Have a great day. Take care, Bill

       
  2. Deb

    June 14, 2013 at 2:46 pm

    Glad that you are feeling better, you can just hear it in your post!! Have a great weekend and enjoy your weather as we are in the 80’s. Which I will take over snow any day!!! LOL Take care, Deb

     
  3. gita4elamats

    June 14, 2013 at 10:20 pm

    Enjoy the pool. 🙂

     
    • FlaHam

      June 15, 2013 at 10:57 am

      Ela, I always enjoy pool, arms drapped over the floaty, hat pulled down to protect the eyes, and 3 gallons of sun block applied to my very pale skin, cold beer not far away. Take care and have a wonderful weekend. — Bill

       
      • gita4elamats

        June 15, 2013 at 11:56 am

        I can almost see you!!! 😆
        Happy Father’s Day to you and I hope you have a wonderful weekend, too.

         
  4. jmgoyder

    June 14, 2013 at 10:50 pm

    I think the psychologist idea is great. BTW, I stopped smoking 3 days ago – am using a vaporizer thingy now – ha! Thinking of you heaps Bill.

     
    • FlaHam

      June 15, 2013 at 10:48 am

      Julie, I am so proud of you for stopping smoking. In the long run you will be very very happy. I will warn you and say not to get overly concerned should you screw up and smoke. Just immediately get on the band wagon again. I will encourage you all the way, I will hold your hand from long distance, and give you a shoulder when you need it. I can be very honest and say I quit smoking a 1000 times before I finally stopped smoking. Hopefully it doesn’t take you as many times. Just remember the trick is to not give up. Hugs and kisses — Bill

       
  5. The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

    June 15, 2013 at 10:46 am

    Seeing the psychologist is a great idea. Have a great weekend yourself! 🙂

     
    • FlaHam

      June 15, 2013 at 10:52 am

      Paulette, it was recommended by a good friend. LOL and I was in a listening mode. I have met with the psychologist a couple of times and we are building a mutual trust. I abused myself a lot after the 1st meeting, because I felt like a whining little kid when I did a self review of the meeting. I was assured that I wasn’t, and I haven’t spent a lot of time thinking of our second meeting. 3rd is scheduled for early next week. Take care, I hope your having a ball at the family reunion. Be safe, Bill

       
  6. Wanda

    June 15, 2013 at 5:12 pm

    It’s great to hear that you’ve had a good week and that everything medical is headed in the right direction. Fingers crossed that continues.

    As for the psychologist–I think that’s a great idea and I hope he/she is helpful to you. Beyond that, I think you will be a bright spot in the doctor’s day. That’s not to minimize your situation and the fact that you have serious issues to discuss–but I think your smile, sense of humor, and sensitivity make things better for anyone who is fortunate enough to cross your path.

     
    • FlaHam

      June 15, 2013 at 5:48 pm

      Wanda, Thank you for your comments, those were some of the sweetest words I have heard used to describe me. It would make a great epitaph. But just cause I like them does not mean I am in a hurry to use them. As strong as I am sometimes I realize I need help from time to time. I do believe the time I spend with my psychologist will be helpful. Again thank you for your sweet words. Take care, Bill

       
  7. DeeDee Granata

    June 16, 2013 at 2:53 am

    Happy Father’s Day!

     
    • FlaHam

      June 16, 2013 at 7:50 am

      Dee, Thank you that is so very sweet of you. Take care my friend, Bill

       
  8. bloggingbyrgottier

    November 16, 2013 at 8:26 pm

    Hi Bill,
    Just wanted to say that you are really doing good. I do wonder if there is almost nothing else to take for your pseudomonas if asking your doctor what he would suggest to take naturally to help you. I hope I am helping you out by suggesting this because I do love what you write & have been getting into all types of things about others health problems outside of my blog.
    Rodney

     
    • FlaHam

      November 16, 2013 at 11:52 pm

      Rodney, I have used so many different drugs over the last couple years that fewer and fewer of them even work to keep the disease at bay. I have complete faith in my Doc Lungs and Doc Infectious, and I feel they are doing the very best they can for me. But COPD does not take prisoners, eventually it will get me. Until then I am going to fight it as hard as I can. Take care, Bill

       

Leave a Reply

 
secret Blogger

Status : surviving highschool

How the Cookie Crumbles

Life and scribbles on the far side of SIXTY-FIVE

beefandsweettea.wordpress.com/

a story of Southern agriculture

Me, My Magnificent Self

My Journey To Freedom

Kira Moore's Closet

Ever Moving Forward

