RSS

Answers to questions my daughter may have about me…..

17 Jun

On June 16, 2013 “Fathers’ Day” a friend and fellow blogger posted the following “What I don’t know about my Dad…” it is a wonderful post (paying tribute to her father), but then 99.9 percent of Chatter Masters stuff is great. The other .01 percent is just very very good. In my comments to her, I warned her that her post was going to become my post, as I answer those questions she shared.

This will be a simple straight forward answers to the questions she asked.

1. My high school sweetheart was a young lady named Cindy. We broke up prior to graduation and I have never heard from her again. We were sweethearts for 14 months.

2. My 1st date, was fries and a coke at the local bowling alley (Buechel Lanes) with a Sandy. Her parents bowled in the Friday night league, and while Sandy introduced me to them, I don’t think they thought of it as a “date.” But we met every Friday night for almost a year feeding the jukebox and having a coke. At some point the mom realized that Sandy and I were an “item.” I guess that was after I had been invited to her house several times and ate there! LOL LOL

3. What I wanted to be at the ages of 5, 8, 12 or 20. At five I most likely wanted to be a cowboy. At 8 probably still a cowboy, maybe a cop. I was influenced a lot by TV. By 12 I wanted to be either an astronaut or a great football player. By 20 I was in the Navy, but I dreamed of racing cars. I never became a cowboy, a cop, a great football player or raced cars. I became an adult, a provider, a worker, a manager, and always a wise ass (but I was a wise ass at 8), and then got the greatest job in the world, I became a dad. I have no, zero, zilch, nada, regrets, I wouldn’t do a thing over again. I managed to get thru it the 1st time with only minor screw-ups and no major ones along the way. Doing it over would only allow for more screw-ups.

4. There is nothing I would change, well maybe I would have quit smoking earlier and watched my weight better. Yeah, I might have tried harder in high school. Maybe been less a smart ass.

5. Life before becoming dad was a constant adventure. It was a constant learning process, it was fun, it was scary, it was dependent on so many things, and yet independent from so many things. People and events caused me to focus, lose focus and refocus. My family was poor but any standards, but we didn’t know it. I lived in a neighborhood with all my friends, and we were all in the same boat. Sure some were a bit better off, but when that got better, better off, they generally moved to a better off neighborhood. Life before becoming a dad, was a day was totally without privacy. I lived in a house that was no more than 1200 sq. ft. with 6 other people, a single bathroom and only 1 TV. If you Google 269 Derby Ave, Louisville KY you can see the house, and it’s the same now as it was then. Only then it was painted YELLOW, and that tree in the front yard a lot smaller. I don’t remember being sad, or underfed or any of that. Yes I had a job from the time I was 13 on, but so did most the other kids. That was life.

6. I loved storms as a kid, and love them even more as an adult. The thunderstorms in Kentucky didn’t seem as violent as the thunderstorms I now witness here in Florida. And rarely did a thunderstorm sneak up on you in KY, you could generally look to the west and watch it develop, and as it developed the temperature would drop 10 to 12 degrees. You knew it was coming and you could tell it was going to be a duzzie by how black the clouds would get. Here in FL thunderstorms sneak up on you all the time. You can be sitting in the pool and the next thing you know there is a lightning strike a block away. No heavy serious clouds, no decrease in temperature, just immediately bone jarring lightning strikes. Here you can sit and listen and watch lightning strikes within a mile of the house without a drop of rain. Thunderstorms are really much more interesting here in FL. But when it rains it rains buckets.

7. My favorite color was blue then and now. The school colors were Orange and Black. To be cool you needed to have a paisley and a madras shirt in your wardrobe, I had knockoffs of both. The genuine paisley and madras shirts had long tails that stayed in your pants, the knockoffs had the squared off bottoms that the 1st time you extended an arm your belly was showing LOL. Good jeans and Bass shoes were a must.

8. Yes I rolled my eyes at my parents and when they turned their back I would stick out my tongue, or make some really stupid face. Much like I am sure Allison has done to me many a time, and how I suspect Cari will do to me in the future.

9. Smiling holding Allison that 1st time gave me a level of joy I have no way of comparing it to. I haven’t felt that emotion since. I came pretty close the 1st time I got to hold Cari.

10. No I never feared the thought of being a parent, as far back as I can remember it was something I was looking forward to.

11. LMAO yes I have danced wildly and with total abandon!!!! For those that have followed me I wrote a blog on my skills as a dancer. Heck I even play a great air guitar and dance in my office from time to time as long as my breath will allow and I don’t trip over the oxygen tube. LOL LOL

I want to thank Chatter Master for presenting these questions. I am sure that when Allison reads this (and she does follow my blog) she will have just a tad bit better understanding of her dad. But then she also may have a bunch of questions of her own. Chatter Master’s post will be right after this one. She added some wonderful insight into the things she knew about her dad.

As always your thoughts and comments are welcome. Please take care, Bill

 
18 Comments

Posted by on June 17, 2013 in Grandpa Stories, Humor, Observations, Ramblings

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

18 responses to “Answers to questions my daughter may have about me…..

  1. suzie81

    June 18, 2013 at 4:29 am

    What a brilliant idea!

     
    • FlaHam

      June 18, 2013 at 10:01 am

      Susie, Thank you for giving me credit for the post, smiling I just stole the idea from a friend, and answered the questions. I am glad you enjoyed it, and I hope that you find other of my posting to be enjoyable as well. Take care, Bill

       
      • suzie81

        June 18, 2013 at 12:45 pm

        I’m going to steal the idea too, I think it’s wonderful!

         
  2. Chatter Master

    June 18, 2013 at 5:54 am

    I love that you dance wildly and with abandon! 🙂 I hope Allison and Cari ask you a LOT more questions than this. 🙂 What a great blog Bill, I can so feel your love for your family. Thanks for the shout out. But your blog stands fully on it’s own merit of awesomeness. 🙂 🙂

     
    • FlaHam

      June 18, 2013 at 9:59 am

      Colleen, It is with great pleasure to give you a shout out at any opportunity I have. I love your style of writing, the subject you choose to write about, and the economy by which you make your point. I am so glad that I could use your post to build a letter to my daughter and grand daughter, and I too hope that Allison and Cari both ask me a ton of questions. Please take care, and continue to inspire me. — Bill

       
      • Chatter Master

        June 18, 2013 at 9:39 pm

        Humble humble humble me. You are stellar Bill. Thank you.

         
  3. jmgoyder

    June 18, 2013 at 8:31 am

    You are such a tonic!

     
    • FlaHam

      June 18, 2013 at 9:55 am

      Julie, What’s a tonic? And is it a good thing to be one? Take care and have a great day!! Bill

       
      • FlaHam

        June 18, 2013 at 9:46 pm

        Julie, I had no idea you meant a refreshing drink or such when you called me a tonic. I thought “a tonic” was a aussie compliment I had no idea what you meant. — take care, Bill

         
      • jmgoyder

        June 19, 2013 at 12:16 am

        Very good!

         
  4. The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

    June 18, 2013 at 10:49 am

    I agree with Julie, lol. And, to answer your question: something refreshing, invigorating… that’s my take. Another great post. 🙂

     
    • FlaHam

      June 18, 2013 at 10:54 am

      Paulette, You’ll are giving me way to much credit, I completely stole this from Colleen. LOL LOL LOL If it hadn’t been for her “Father’s Day” post I would have never thought of it. Nice to have you back, take care we will chat later. — Bill

       
      • The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

        June 18, 2013 at 10:58 am

        I already admired Colleen’s post. Love her site. Love her. But I stand by my ditto to Julie’s comment, lol. Big hug and keep well. (work has changed their electronic system and I have to spend a lot of the week in there training, gulp–I have an aversion to electronic things so if you phone let me know when it’s a good time to get back to you, if I’m not here.)

         
  5. rebecca2000

    June 18, 2013 at 4:07 pm

    Great Idea. I love learning about you.

     
    • FlaHam

      June 18, 2013 at 4:35 pm

      Rebecca, I had no idea what I was getting into the 1st time I stopped at your blog, but it tickled me so I visited again, and then I started following you just to see where you were headed. Then one day you were put in the penalty box, and I felt that was wrong and I became a fan. Surprise, surprise, I started finding comments to my posts from you. And they were so different than your blog, so sincere, so genuine, and my appreciation for you grew. The fact that your enjoying my posts my stories, my weekly health summaries makes me smile. And I hope to keep you entertained for quite sometime. If you get curious and have a question you want to ask of me please feel free to ask, I will answer you with complete honestly. I would rather you know than have you wonder. Take care, Bill

       
      • rebecca2000

        June 18, 2013 at 5:06 pm

        Aww thanks Bill. Penalty box huh? LOL I’m glad I’m not there anymore. I will for sure. I don’t like that you are unwell and I hope fun energy and friendships offered will do you well. ((Hugs))

         
  6. Wanda

    June 22, 2013 at 5:37 am

    Bill, this was a great post, and I’m sure both Allison and Cari will enjoy learning these things about you. It also reminded me of things I had forgotten (first boyfriend, the first occupation I remember wanting to be [a doctor, can you imagine? I’m glad that didn’t take!], and how fearful I was as a new mother that I would somehow break Karen).

     
    • FlaHam

      June 22, 2013 at 10:16 am

      Wanda, I think you would have been a great doctor, but it would be hard to rush you. So you might want to stay out of the emergency room. It was fun for me to steal Colleen effort and turn it into a post. It made for a quick turnaround LOL LOL. Hope you have a great day. Take care, Bill

       

Leave a Reply

 
secret Blogger

Status : surviving highschool

How the Cookie Crumbles

An irreverant view of life after SIXTY-FIVE

beefandsweettea.wordpress.com/

a story of Southern agriculture

Me, My Magnificent Self

My Journey To Freedom

Kira Moore's Closet

Ever Moving Forward

