RSS

How I Feel Today 06.22.13

23 Jun

Good morning folks, I hope that you had a pleasant week, and that this weekend gives you the opportunity to relax and prepare for next week. It will be another boring weekend here in sunny and thunderstormie Florida. I have every intention of spending time in the pool, maybe cooking-out, and cleaning the freezer on the pool deck. The highlight of the weekend will be playing cards with my neighborhood family Saturday night.

Over all it was a solid 3.25 week. No major issues and no medical issues beyond the norm. My INR is all over the place, Monday it was 3.5, so I stopped taking Coumadin for 2 days, and it dropped to 1.7. So I am back on Coumadin at the original dosage to be retested Monday. Yesterday I had my monthly IVIG infusion. They got a good stick on the second try, and had the medicine flowing within 30 minutes of my arrival. Five hours later I am walking out the door.

Early in the week I had my third visit with the psychologist. That is going better than I expected. I am rapidly developing a trust with her, and she seems to be helping. Clearly it is too early to definitively state I trust her completely, but I feel I am working in that direction. Other than seeing a psychologist a couple times to speak about a specific subject, my only other experiences with psychologists has been via TV and Movies, and I don’t believe that is fair baseline to judge anything. LOL

The family cruise is only a month away, actually this time next month will be day 3 of the cruise, and at about this time we will be arriving in Grand Cayman. Yes, I am very paranoid about getting sick. I figure at this point I need to last 35 days without a major problem. That will get me thru the cruise and home. It is amazing how a disease can completely change one’s thinking.

I don’t have any bones I want to pick today, and no rant all mentally fired up and ready to go. I am starting a new trend, short posts regarding how I feel. This is 2 weeks in a row of short posts.

Well folks I hope you have a pleasant day, thank you for your continued good thoughts and kind words. As always your comments are encouraged and welcomed. — Bill

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

14 responses to “How I Feel Today 06.22.13

  1. gita4elamats

    June 23, 2013 at 11:35 am

    Sounds like good weekend, Bill! I’m glad things are going well for you and will keep positive thoughts that you WILL have a great cruise, too! 😀

     
    • FlaHam

      June 23, 2013 at 11:05 pm

      Ela, It has been a good and productive weekend, I even won at cards LOL LOL. I am maintaining my good and positive thoughts on the upcoming cruise. And upon my return I will most likely blog about it. Take care, Bill

       
      • gita4elamats

        June 23, 2013 at 11:57 pm

        I AM keeping positive thoughts that you WILL have a great cruise and I bet, so are all your other blogger friends, too! 😀

         
        • FlaHam

          June 24, 2013 at 12:38 pm

          Ela, There is no doubt I draw strength from my blogger friends and readers. I appreciate it way more than I have the ability to express. Please take care, Bill

           
  2. Chatter Master

    June 23, 2013 at 4:19 pm

    Positive begets positive Bill! Glad you’re up to a 3.25!!!!!!!!!!!! 🙂 I’m getting excited for your cruise! I can’t wait to hear about it. Take lots of notes!!! 😉

     
    • FlaHam

      June 23, 2013 at 11:07 pm

      Colleen, I am maintaining a good attitude, and I will take a 3.25, as a matter of fact, I took them most the way thru my college years, but that is a story in and of itself. I hope you had a great weekend, and I promise to take good notes. Take care, Bill

       
      • Chatter Master

        June 24, 2013 at 6:45 am

        Ha! 🙂 LOL and a very good LOL that was! 🙂 College years might be another story line then?

         
        • FlaHam

          June 24, 2013 at 12:19 pm

          Colleen, I don’t have any real college stories, a few arguments with professors, but mostly just attending class. I was married with a new born, a full time job plus a ton of overtime. But I longed for the college experience, but I am afraid I would have wasted my time and the professor’s had it been any other way. Take care, Bill a message dated 6/24/2013 6:45:45 A.M. Eastern Daylight Time,

           
          • Chatter Master

            June 24, 2013 at 7:12 pm

            Ah….well, that’s a story in it’s self. I think sometimes people forget the hard work and sacrifice people put in to attaining that level of education. Kudos to you! And your family for being there with you.

             
  3. Deb

    June 25, 2013 at 11:43 am

    Glad to hear that you are feeling good this week. Can’t wait to hear all about your cruise either!!

     
    • FlaHam

      June 26, 2013 at 8:24 am

      Deb, Trust me you will hear about it, anyone that reads my blog will read about it until that start screaming enough enough enough LOL LOL Take care, Bill

       
  4. DeeDee Granata

    June 25, 2013 at 3:24 pm

    More positive thoughts for you and your cruise. I totally get the scared of getting sick. I hate that part of this disease. Have fun fun fun!

     
    • FlaHam

      June 26, 2013 at 8:23 am

      Dee, Sweetie, it is my every intention to have fun fun fun, and a few tall fruity adult drinks. But having said that….. The fear of becoming ill becomes even more pressing when you involve others in your plans. My wife and I had told the kids over 15 months ago of this vacation so they could save their nickels and dimes, and now I live in fear that with only 3 weeks before the start I could get sick and screw it up for everyone. It’s times like this that allows me to understand why some of my dear friends on DS almost go into hiding. I understand that more now than ever before. But I have told everyone that come hell or high water I will be on that cruise, and I am going to enjoy myself. Please take care, Bill

       

Leave a Reply

 
secret Blogger

Status : surviving highschool

How the Cookie Crumbles

An irreverant view of life after SIXTY-FIVE

beefandsweettea.wordpress.com/

a story of Southern agriculture

Me, My Magnificent Self

My Journey To Freedom

Kira Moore's Closet

Ever Moving Forward

