RSS

How I Feel Today 06.29.13

29 Jun

Good afternoon folks, today is Saturday, I have completed my “chores” and even did a couple of things that were not on the list, so life is good. The wife has gone for her workout (bless her heart), and the kids are coming over to play in the pool, talk about the upcoming cruise, and have dinner and maybe a movie. As a husband, dad, and grandpa, it couldn’t make for a better Saturday. I truly hope that your Saturday has, at a minimum, been as good as mine. Heck even the hard part about preparing dinner is completed and in the crock pot (what a useful tool). Maybe I will be able to suck Allison and family into a game of Yahtzee later on, who knows?

I talk so much about my Respiratory doctor I have decided that in the future I will always reference him as Doctor Lung. Same thing regarding the Doctor handles the infectious diseases that run rampant thru my lungs. I will start referring to him as Doctor Infectious. Should other doctor become important in my world, I will give him/her a point of reference name.

It has been another solid 3.25 week, no new medical issues, and nothing major going on. I had my INR checked on Tuesday, and it was holding at 2.2, per Doctor Lung’s instructions I will maintain the current dosage of Jantoven (brand name of Warfarin) and it will be rechecked again this coming Tuesday. I am looking forward to the point where Doctor Lung is confident that I have stabilized enough that we can move it back to a once a month check. I suspect Doctor Lung would like that as well.

On Thursday I had an appointment with the Doctor Infectious. We spend a considerable about of time talking about the things we were going to do, and are currently doing that will get me thru the cruise in one NON-SICK piece. LOL LOL. On 7/2/13 I will start an intense 2 week antibiotic treatment prior to the cruise, this put to bay anything that maybe trying to get a foothold in my lungs. Doctor Infectious has also provided an antibiotic for me to take on the cruise should I feel anything coming on. Doc Infectious looked me dead in the eye and said you know your body, you will know when and if you need to use this drug. It was almost like he had been reading my blog and listening to me bitch about “doctors” always asking “how you do’in.” If he is in fact reading my blog that would be cool. But I suspect he just knows me well enough that he can point his finger at me and kinda say get over it, I am going to ask you how you feel, and what do you think is going on, so just get over it.

This coming week will be short with the Holiday, and I don’t have any pressing Doctor appointments, except the weekly with my Psychologist (whom at some point will be Doctor Head). BTW adding the psychologist was a very smart move, wherever that push came from, I need to make sure I thank them. To be able to say whatever is on your mind (pretty or not) is a freedom I never expected.  I won’t lie it has been difficult, but freeing at the same time.  And I know Doctor Head and I haven’t turned over all the stones to look at what is beneath them.  My trust continues to grow.

We are sharing the 4th with the neighborhood family. The menu includes; Hot dogs, hamburgers, and all other good holiday cookout food. I am looking forward to it. I hope your 4th is safe and with those that you care for.

Well folks I hope you have a pleasant day, thank you for your continued good thoughts and kind words. As always your comments are encouraged and welcomed. — Bill

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

16 responses to “How I Feel Today 06.29.13

  1. The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

    June 29, 2013 at 2:39 pm

    All great, Bill. Sounds like a really good time is lined up for today. 😉

     
    • FlaHam

      June 29, 2013 at 9:27 pm

      Paulette, Well we didn’t play Yathzee but we managed to have a good time just the same. You would have been right at home. Take care, Bill

       
  2. Chatter Master

    June 29, 2013 at 4:57 pm

    Woot woot! Another good week, and getting closer to the cruise. Happy Fourth of July!!! 🙂

     
    • FlaHam

      June 29, 2013 at 9:25 pm

      Colleen, You really make me smile, it like having my own personal cheerleading squad. Thanks — Bill

       
      • Chatter Master

        June 30, 2013 at 8:48 am

        Okay Bill, but I’m not wearing any of those silly old cheerleading outfits. I would be self conscious! I will wear my bike clothes though, or some workout clothes. 🙂

         
        • FlaHam

          June 30, 2013 at 9:08 am

          Colleen, You really make me smile, and I will have you cheering me on, no matter what you will or won’t wear. I have truly enjoyed “getting to know you” via cyberland. I suspect in the real world you are a tremendous friend to have. Take care, Bill

           
          • Chatter Master

            June 30, 2013 at 12:15 pm

            🙂 Me too Bill. And you are fun to travel with, and cheer for ! 😉

             
  3. gita4elamats

    June 29, 2013 at 10:43 pm

    Your Saturday sounded like fun, what’s on the cards for Sunday? 🙂

     
    • FlaHam

      June 30, 2013 at 7:53 am

      Ela, Sunday will be a day of rest and relaxing in the pool. Saturday was great, family dinner was great, we ironed out plans for the cruise, and the kids splashed and splashed in the pool. You would have enjoyed it. — Take care, Bill

       
      • gita4elamats

        June 30, 2013 at 9:31 am

        Yes, I would have enjoyed! Have relaxing Sunday. 🙂

         
  4. jmgoyder

    July 1, 2013 at 8:17 am

    I love the names you’ve given your drs. – your humor is contagious, ill!

     
    • FlaHam

      July 1, 2013 at 2:10 pm

      Julie, Well I keep spreading it LOL LOL. Yes I know I am full of BS, and I love it. And if thru one of my remarks you smile or giggle then that makes it worth while. I visited Dr Head this morning and told her that I have named the doctors that I see regularly in my blog. Her eyebrows raised when I told her I had Dr Lung, Dr Infectious, and now Dr Head. At that point she laughed. It is good and nice to make folks smile. You do as good a job of it as I do. Probably better. Thank you for your continued support. Please take care of yourself, Ming and Ants. — Bill

       
  5. DeeDee Granata

    July 1, 2013 at 1:28 pm

    Me too. I love your drs’ names. Funny.

     
    • FlaHam

      July 1, 2013 at 2:03 pm

      Dee, I am so glad, when I talk about my health it is a morbid enough subject, and then coupling that with the clinical names for the doctors I see made it even more morbid. So I decided to lighten it up. It doesn’t make the disease you and I and so many others suffer from any less serious, it just makes it easier to talk able. I keep checking your blog for an update, I hope I haven’t missed on. I am so appreciative of having your friendship. Please take care, Bill

       
  6. Wanda

    July 10, 2013 at 6:13 pm

    I like the nicknames you’ve given to your various practitioners because it gives me a better understanding of what’s going on with you. I wonder, though, have you shared with them how much they figure in your blog?

     
    • FlaHam

      July 10, 2013 at 10:21 pm

      Wanda, I have told all of the doctors that play a major role in my life that I write a blog, and that I mention them in it. I have also told them I don’t use their names and never will. But when I assigned them names I did tell each of them the I assigned, Dr Lungs clapped me on the back and smiled, Dr Head got a huge smile, and Dr Infectious smiled as well. I kinda got the feeling they kinda enjoyed it, but none have asked for the blog address or title, so I doubt if they have looked. All of my doctors are good folks, well meaning, and highly respected. I doubt if they really care if I mention in my blog. Take care, Bill

       

Leave a Reply

 
secret Blogger

Status : surviving highschool

How the Cookie Crumbles

An irreverant view of life after SIXTY-FIVE

beefandsweettea.wordpress.com/

a story of Southern agriculture

Me, My Magnificent Self

My Journey To Freedom

Kira Moore's Closet

Ever Moving Forward

