RSS

How I Feel Today 07/12/13

12 Jul

Good afternoon folks, no it isn’t Saturday, apparently I am going to maintain my effort to get this post out by COB Friday’s. I am now pressing myself to get this completed by midnight. The reason I wait until Friday’s is that generally all of my weekly medical activities are over unless I’m in the hospital, then my reports become, report when I feel good enough LOL. So having said all that, I hope you have had a pleasant week, and have wonderful activities lined up for the weekend. This weekend, we will be celebrating one of the neighborhood family members 72 or 73 birthday. We are going to a fancy steakhouse, and I will eat fancy. I will also begin to set-a-side things for the cruise, yeah I know it’s a week early but this will allow me several opportunities to change my mind about what I am going to need. It also will allow me plenty of time to forget to pack something.

This has not been as good a week as the last few weeks, but I am still going to rate it a 3. It is a very weak 3 but a three just the same. So now the run down, three weeks ago I failed a urine test, and my Internal Medicine Doctor advised me I had to retake the test. I took the test again, and also apparently failed that one as well, I wasn’t given any details, but was advised to see a Kidney doctor ASAP. I was caught completely off guard, because both Doc Lung and Doc Infectious have been advising me forever that my kidney function has been just great, with no issues at all. When bringing this to the attention of Doc Infectious he was at a lost as to what the problem could or would be. Well I made the appointment, it was this past Wednesday, and I met with the Kidney Doctor. She had reviewed the test results (I am losing protein) and concluded that given the medicines I was taking, and my existing issues, that as far as she was concerned, I didn’t have a kidney issue. She prescribed no medicines, and advised we would watch my kidneys in a loosey goosey manner checking my urine every 6 or so months. She also advised that given my current condition, even if I did develop a kidney problem, my lungs would resolve that issue long before the kidney would.

This week I had my INR checked twice. On Tuesday it was 2.2 and today it was 3.1, we are getting closer and closer to finally nailing this down. So I have another slight modification in the dosage and will have it rechecked on this coming Tuesday.

Also over the 4th of July weekend I started feeling kind of puny. Actually the feeling started on the 3rd of July, but the pre-cruise medications arrived and I immediately started using them. On July 5 I called Doc Infectious’s office and left a detailed message (yes they were open), but by COB they had not returned my called. I followed the protocol that Doc Infectious had approved, and used the medicines he had prescribed. I also wrote a detailed letter outlining the symptoms, including the cough, the SOB, temp, O2 levels, heart rate, and even a couple BP’s. I also complained that calling his office and leaving a message was useless, because his staff never returned any calls. My intention with the letter was to drop it off Monday morning (with the senior NP with a copy to the Office Mgr) then go about my normal activities. Well much to my delight, Doc Infectious was standing at the counter when I walked in. We exchanged pleasantries, and I handed him the letter. He immediately stopped what he was doing, read my letter, and ushered me into his exam room. He got both the senior NP and Ofc Mgr in there and we discussed the letter, he then examined me, and put me immediately on an antibiotic IV. Each day this week I have had a 3 hour IV treatment. These treatments will continue thru the weekend, and right up until cruise time. Apparently I caught the bug early, and these actions should resolve it before the beginning of the cruise.

I had spoken to Doc Head earlier in the week about my paranoia (about becoming ill prior to the cruise) and she didn’t like me using that term. She felt that a better term would be hyper-awareness of my body, and knowledge of the symptoms that lead to hospitalization, in reflection I think she nailed it. I am getting more and more relaxed with Doc Head, and I know this is helping me. I believe my hyper-awareness saved the day LOL LOL.

This time next week (plus a day) I will be sitting in an adult only bar someplace on the Disney Ship Fantasy sucking down an adult beverage. And I am looking forward to it. The entire family is fired up. The Disney line has a wonderful program where either Mickey or Goofy will call a guest and tell them how many days until the cruise, and other information. The call is no more than a minute. Allison had scheduled a call from Mickey 2 months ago, when that call came it, Cari was so excited she answered the phone and immediately hung up on Mickey. She was heart-broken. She couldn’t call Mickey back and she was so sad. Well this week I made arrangements for Mickey to call again, the call went thru, and Cari was so so excited, and she didn’t hang up on Mickey this time.

Well folks I hope you have a pleasant weekend. Thank you for your continued good thoughts and kind words. As always your comments are encouraged and welcomed. – Bill

 
 

Tags: , , , , , ,

16 responses to “How I Feel Today 07/12/13

  1. gita4elamats

    July 13, 2013 at 12:42 am

    Keeping all the digits crossed! (。◕‿◕。)

     
  2. The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

    July 13, 2013 at 10:03 am

    Next week is the trip. That came fast. Adding to Ela’s digits crossed, including paws. Thank goodness for the urologists feedback that all’s relatively okay and you’ll follow-up in 6 months.

    Enjoy that steak tonight! Happy berfday to yer neighbor.

    xoxo P

     
  3. Chatter Master

    July 13, 2013 at 7:14 pm

    I’m relieved the kidney stuff is a non issue now. I’m relieved you are hyper AWARE of your body and it’s needs. And I can’t believe another week and you will be sailing through the seas!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 🙂

     
    • FlaHam

      July 14, 2013 at 8:36 am

      Cokleen, It was touch and go for me, fretting that i was foing to screw up the trip. But it appears another has been cleared. Now onto adult beverages and niiseytimes. We willhave afreat time. Take xare, Bill

       
      • Chatter Master

        July 14, 2013 at 4:04 pm

        SOOOOOOOOOOOOOO Close!!!!

         
        • FlaHam

          July 14, 2013 at 8:41 pm

          Colleen, It is wonderful having you in my corner !!!! I really do appreciate you there. Yes, it is so so close, I may not even need the urn LOL LOL. Take care, Bill

           
  4. DeeDee Granata

    July 14, 2013 at 6:43 am

    what’s COB? smiling that your granddaughter got to talk to Mickey. have loads of fun!

     
    • FlaHam

      July 14, 2013 at 8:29 am

      Dee, COB – close of business. Busibess usually means whrn the business closes on a particular day. Beingretired my cob is always midnight. It is my every intention to have my greattime But i well be thinking of my DS friebds.

      Take care,Bill

       
      • DeeDee Granata

        July 14, 2013 at 1:07 pm

        haha, wasn’t even close. thought it had something to do with corn. 🙂 Gosh, don’t worry about your ds friends. we love you and will miss you. hopefully nothing goes too far astray. squishes and kisses to your family. my Elliot and I made that up. 5 years old, he loves them.

         
      • FlaHam

        July 14, 2013 at 8:40 pm

        Dee,

        My entry above was sent from my Nook without the benefit of a real keyboard, or spell check LOL LOL, That’s my story and I am sticking to it. From reading it now it would appear I have already spend a considerable amount of time at the adult drink location on board the ship. LOL LOL Take care, Bill

         
  5. Christine

    July 14, 2013 at 5:26 pm

    So glad that your dr. took you seriously with the letter when you went it! I am excited for you to be on that cruise too!! 🙂

     
    • FlaHam

      July 14, 2013 at 8:37 pm

      Christine, Thank you so much for your concern, I appreciate it much more that words can express. I am quite fortunate in that both Dr Lung and Dr Infectious really care, and are doing their best to keep me going LOL LOL. Besides I did threaten both of them if I didn’t make the cruise (just kidding). I hope you have a wonderful week, take care, Bill

       
  6. Deb

    July 16, 2013 at 10:00 am

    Glad to hear that you got everything under control before your cruise!! Have an adult beverage for us too!! Take care and can’t wait to hear about your trip when you get back!!

     
  7. Nancy Hamilton

    July 21, 2013 at 9:03 pm

    Cari hanging up on Mickey reminded me of the time Allison slammed the door on Santa when Santa came to Mom & Dads house on Michael Edward…then went yelling thru the house “Santa’s here”.

     
    • FlaHam

      July 27, 2013 at 5:01 pm

      Nancy, When I started writing that post I had a million things I could have talked about, mostly coming from my post Navy days. I am so so very glad that as a bunch of sibling, we have managed to grow together and have a friendship that goes beyond being sibling. Take care, be safe, Love Bill PS — I know your middle name, my fingers don’t always go where their suppose to. Blame it on my fat fingers. Love

       

Leave a Reply

 
secret Blogger

Status : surviving highschool

How the Cookie Crumbles

An irreverant view of life after SIXTY-FIVE

beefandsweettea.wordpress.com/

a story of Southern agriculture

Me, My Magnificent Self

My Journey To Freedom

Kira Moore's Closet

Ever Moving Forward

