RSS

How I Feel Today 08/9/13

09 Aug

Good morning folks, it is still early enough in the day for me to call it morning, so that gives me all afternoon and evening to complete this post. Medically speaking I feel at the 3.0 to a touch higher and have since the cruise.  After all that build up, and months and months of waiting and fretting the cruise has come and gone.  Being honest if I had my way I would be checking in on another cruise today.  Or maybe I would find a round-the-world cruise to embark, but that will take a lottery win. LOL LOL most unlikely.

I will say one last thing about the cruise, and after this post it will be pretty much a dead issue.  Watching the Kids and our granddaughter have such a wonderful time, on the cruise, was one of the healthiest things I have done since coming to the understanding of where my disease is taking me.  My heart soared with joy with each of their smiles, I giggled inside all the time watching them, and I shared an evening with great delight.  And I got beat playing “go fish.”  What more could a truly healthy man want.

Above I rated myself to be a 3 for the week ending today.  I have been a 3 for the past two weeks, as well as, the week of the cruise.  That’s not a bad run for me. Other than seeing Doc Head, and Doc Infectious these last 2 weeks, I have been pretty much doc free.  Doc Infectious checked me out and told me he would see me in three (count them) months.  He did immediately follow that up with “of course, if you’re not feeling well, you immediately come in.”  I did do the course of antibiotics upon my return, and that when smoothly.  The only ongoing glitch is my INR.  I just can’t get it therapeutic, I have had my INR checked 4 times in the last 13 days, with readings as low as 1.7 and as high as 3.8.  With each test result a modification to the dosage of cumidin is made.

Doc Head and I are getting along great.  I do trust her, and she is getting me to open up, I realize the importance, and appreciate having someone I can be completely honest with, without the fear of hurting feelings or getting into a pissing contest.    It also allows me to examine myself, which isn’t a bad thing either. These conversations also help in long term planning.  During my life I have only known a small handful of folks who admitted to seeing a Doctor Head.  And of those folks, I never asked what they talked about.  Yes I often wondered, and I also wondered how they could share their secrets.  Now I know, and it’s good.

This coming week I will see Doc Head and Doc Lung.  I will share anything of significance in my next report, which considering my recent run of pretty fair health could be a short report.

Since the cruise I have written a lot about the experience and how wonderful it was for the family.  I spoke of the joy it gave me, and the experience.  But I will say this as well, for as good as these cruise ships are, as wonderful as their staffs are, and for as much fun as you can stuff into a week, I did notice one issue.  Not enough attention is really given to the needs of the handicapped.  Yes they make wonderful accommodations for the handicapped, they go out of their way to insure you have a good experience, but a few simple changes in the future would make the entire experience much better for those that suffer handicaps.  The staterooms don’t have enough electrical service to support a person with needs.  Yes you can put 2 or 3 extension cords around the room, and you can tape them down and out-of-the-way, but a couple more outlets would sure make it easier on the handicapped.  Heck non-handicapped probably have the same issue.  The interior passageways onboard the ship are not wide enough to accommodate both a wheelchair and a stateroom steward’s service cart, which makes it extremely difficult for the person wheelchair bound.  And my only other complaint would be the lack of a storage facility for guess’s that have those motorized scooters, and for the wheelchairs.  Guess’ are supposed to store their motorized scooter or wheelchair in their stateroom, folks there just isn’t enough room in the stateroom, and I know that for a fact. LOL LOL.  I say this so that my friends who wish to take a cruise are forewarned.  You will figure out a way to make it work, trust me I did.  Don’t let this deter you in any way.  Just be aware.

Well folks it looks like I will once again beat the midnight deadline for this post with only minutes to spare.  I had the best of intentions when I started this at 1030am today.  But you know what they as about intentions.  The road to hell is paved with them.

Well folks I hope you have a pleasant weekend. Thank you for your continued good thoughts and kind words. As always your comments are encouraged and welcomed. – Bill

 
6 Comments

Posted by on August 9, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

6 responses to “How I Feel Today 08/9/13

  1. The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

    August 10, 2013 at 11:55 am

    Three cheers on the three.

    Wonderful the cruise was so joyful and that the good memories linger. It’s too bad that ships aren’t more handicapped accessible as taking a cruise is such a great idea for someone wheelchair bound, to be able to be out without having to walk a lot, etc. Have a great weekend, Bill.

     
  2. jmgoyder

    August 11, 2013 at 4:15 am

    What is INR?

     
    • FlaHam

      August 11, 2013 at 11:02 am

      Julie, PT-INR equals Prothrombin time is the amount of the it takes for your blood to clot. INR equals International Normalized Ratio is really just the standard time unit used to report how fast my blood clots. The higher the PT-INR number is the longer it takes for your blood to clot, the lower the PT-INR is the shorter it takes for your blood to clot. A person with a real low PT-INR has a significantly higher chance of forming blood clots. Conversely the higher the PT-INR the more risk the person has of prolonged bleeding, which as it implies can be a major problem. A person who isn’t on a blood thinner normal PT-INR should be around 1. For those of us who use blood thinners continually the number should be between 2 and 3. My PT-INR has not be therapeutic in weeks, it’s been to high or to low, and with each test they have to adjust the amount of blood thinners I use. The test is simple and takes no time, just a simple prick of the finger, a tiny bit of blood and a 30 second wait to get the result. But each change of the meds takes a few days to see if the adjustment did the trick. So far, Doc Lungs hasn’t been accurate. But in his defense, before my last bout of illness I had been therapeutic for months. I am sure we get it figured out. I know this is a real long answer to a easy question. Please take care, Bill.

       
  3. Chatter Master

    August 11, 2013 at 11:29 am

    Hi Bill! Been busy with a family reunion and trying to get caught up now. I think you nailed it, when we have fabulous experiences it does seem to help our health doesn’t it? And good info shared about the rooms when traveling (cruise) and what to be prepared for. Here’s to another grand week of “3”. 😉

     
  4. PatFraser

    August 13, 2013 at 10:11 am

    Please check out Sea Puffer Cruises on the net. They are awesome for respitory need son a cruise. They arrange everything and travel with you. Celeste and Holly are RN’s and Respitory therapists. royal Caribbean has handicap rooms that scooters eat fit. You and your wife will love it. They sail from Fl often. Loved your blog about the cruie. Hope you stay well.

     
    • FlaHam

      August 13, 2013 at 7:31 pm

      Pat, thank you for your wonderful response, I truly appreciate it. Since I have been on oxygen this is my 3rd cruise. The other 2 had been with Princess. My travel agent made all the arrangements, would have got us a handicap room (we opted for a mini-suite), and all the equipment was delivered and taken away. Our agent really handles my needs well. But in the future I will look to Sea Puffers, and at the minimum talk to them. Thank you for the heads up. Because we were traveling with the kids, we opted for an adjoining rooms so we could share the balcony, and have the inside door. The room was much smaller than what we would normally get. Which caused some issues. Again thank you for such a nice response and I will keep Sea Puffers in mind for the next cruise. — Take care, Bill

       

Leave a Reply

 
secret Blogger

Status : surviving highschool

How the Cookie Crumbles

An irreverant view of life after SIXTY-FIVE

beefandsweettea.wordpress.com/

a story of Southern agriculture

Me, My Magnificent Self

My Journey To Freedom

Kira Moore's Closet

Ever Moving Forward

