RSS

“Old and Grumpy”

21 Aug

“Old and Grumpy”

A dear blogger friend recently commented I just can’t envision “grumpy old man” and you being the same person.   :)”.  BTW if you want to read a really good blog check her out at https://bikecolleenbrown.wordpress.com. I quickly responded that she didn’t see me 24/7 and that there was a story behind me being “old and grumpy.”  Heck I always have a story.  This incident was on my list of things to write about, but her comment got it bumped to the top.

When my wife moved to Florida (July 2002), we came pretty much empty handed.  Sure we brought some of the furniture, tools (though we did leave the snow shovels up north), and small appliances.  But we bought a new home, and we wanted to put new stuff in it, also we wanted to put Florida kinda stuff in the new place.  Yeah we were geeks!

Anyway we made several trips to Walmart picking up the odds and ends we needed.  Not to mention all the cleaning supplies and what not.  Every time we would get to checkout, the clerk would ask how I was on that particular day. Thru a half-dozen trips to Walmart not a single clerk even looked up, it was quite clear they could care less about how I was doing, they just started grabbing the stuff I planned to purchase and running it thru their scanner. Normally they didn’t even bother to look at me until payment was due.  I truly felt that their behavior was both rude and disrespectful (something I had come to expect from the Walmart folks).   It was getting under my skin, I knew it wasn’t fair to lash out at the clerk; she was just following Walmart protocol. Her mind heard the proper response so there wasn’t any need for further interaction with the customer.

So on one Saturday morning (we did a lot of shopping at Walmart at the buttcrack of dawn), after we gathered all the supplies and what nots we needed for this particular trip and headed to check out.    The young lady at the checkout said (without even looking up), “How you doing today”, to which I immediately responded, in the gruffish voice I could muster, “I am old and grumpy!”  The young ladies’ head snapped up looking me dead in the eye with a very startled look in her eyes.  And to her great surprise what she saw was a SANTA look-a-like with a huge smiling face.  She looked at me for a second and said “You don’t look old or grumpy,” I replied, “You didn’t know that until you looked at me.”  Smiling I went on to say in the future look at the customer when you ask a question.  She returned my smile and said, “Yes Sir.”

From that point onward, whenever a clerk does not look at me when asking that initial question I respond either “Old and Grumpy” or “Old and Cranky.”  Very rarely am I either Grumpy or Cranky, but the clerk doesn’t know that until they look up and see for themselves.  I have said it so often that it has become my opening salutation.  My friends hear it so much, that Art and Wanda got me a hat (from Disney) that says “Grumpy.”  I wear it with great pride.

Folks, that’s my story about me being old and grumpy.  I hope you enjoyed it.  As usual your thoughts and comments are gladly accepted.  Please take care. Bill

 
17 Comments

Posted by on August 21, 2013 in Grandpa Stories, Humor, Observations, Ramblings

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

17 responses to ““Old and Grumpy”

  1. The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

    August 21, 2013 at 11:02 pm

    I agree with Colleen! lol. xoxox P

     
    • FlaHam

      August 22, 2013 at 11:55 am

      Paulette, Thank you, and my reply to Colleen applies to you as well. You folks are real sweet and I do appreciate your kind words. And just like I said to Julie, if you come upon a situation where you think my comment is appropriate please feel free to use it, and you can take full credit.

      Take care, Bill xoxo

      PS — for whatever reason I didn’t get a notification that you, Julie or Colleen, had posted comments, so most likely I am going to cut and paste this to an email directly back to you

       
  2. jmgoyder

    August 22, 2013 at 3:21 am

    Wonderful idea!

     
    • FlaHam

      August 22, 2013 at 11:50 am

      Julie, Thank you very much. If you encounter such an attitude DownUnder, your are allowed to use it yourself. Though having visited Australia years ago I doubt if you do. The folks we encountered Downunder were the single largest group of polite folks I have ever encountered Take care, Bill

      PS — for whatever reason I didn’t get a notification that you, Paulette or Colleen, had posted comments, so most likely I am going to cut and paste this to an email directly back to you. BTW your still on Blogcation why are you posting???? But thanks I appreciate it. Take care

       
  3. Chatter Master

    August 22, 2013 at 5:42 am

    See! You aren’t old or grumpy! I love the story and wonder how many of these folks have taken their moment with you to heart. I hope all of them. 🙂 I love that they look up and see smiling Santa and not old and grumpy. 🙂

     
    • FlaHam

      August 22, 2013 at 11:44 am

      Colleen, I still stand by the fact that I can and sometimes am Old and Grumpy. And if necessary I can get several witnesses. Having said that, if only one individual has taken my comment to heart it has been worthwhile. Of all the stories I tell about myself this is the my second favorite. Being misidentified as Santa will always be my favorite. Take care, Bill

      PS — for whatever reason I didn’t get a notification that you, or Paulette or Julie, had posted comments, so most likely I am going to cut and paste this to an email directly back to you.

       
      • Chatter Master

        August 22, 2013 at 8:22 pm

        That’s odd, about the comments.

        But okay…I’ll give you the old and grumpy if you really want it. I do love this story! 🙂

         
        • FlaHam

          August 22, 2013 at 8:26 pm

          Colleen, I am only old and grumpy sometimes LOL LOL.

           
          • Chatter Master

            August 23, 2013 at 5:53 am

            Ohhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh! 😉 Just kidding! I knew that. 🙂

             
    • The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

      August 22, 2013 at 12:21 pm

      I second that, “See!” lol

       
  4. Wanda

    August 22, 2013 at 6:15 pm

    Having witnessed you using those phrases in real life, I can only attest that you usually manage to thaw the most cold- and hard-hearted of wait staff–though I do think you reserve most of your charms for those of the female persuasion.

     
    • FlaHam

      August 22, 2013 at 6:47 pm

      Wanda, Thank you for owning up to hearing me repeat that phrase more than enough times. Yes I will admit that from time to time I have thawed a cold hearted person. But I truly believe you also accused me of being a flirt. Well I will admit that, I am a flirt to the very core. LOL and I am a pretty good (though harmless) one at that. Lord knows I have flirted with you often enough. Your words are always kind, and I always respect them and all the advice you have given. Please take care, Bill

       
  5. Calvin Klein underwear 365

    May 14, 2014 at 7:27 pm

    I leave a response when I appreciate a article on a site or if I have something to valuable
    to contribute to the discussion. It’s a result of the
    passion communicated in the article I read. And after this post “Old and Grumpy” | Dealing with
    COPD. I was actually excited enough to post a thought 😉 I do have a couple of questions for you if it’s allright.
    Could it be simply me or do a few of the comments look as if they are left by brain
    dead folks? 😛 And, if you are writing on additional sites, I would like to keep up with everything fresh you have to post.
    Would you list all of all your public pages like your Facebook page, twitter feed, or linkedin profile?

     
    • FlaHam

      May 14, 2014 at 10:19 pm

      Waylon, I appreciate the fact that you found my post to be of some value. I believe anyone that writes has a deep seated feeling that want their posts, stories, poems, their whatever to be liked and accepted by at least one individual. When I started this blog it was an effort to reach out to individuals with ailments or terminal diseases such as COPD. From that point it grew, and stories about myself have become part of the norm. As for the folks that comment on my posts, I don’t believe for a second that they are brain dead folks, I believe it simple could be just you. I enjoy, respect and appreciate every comment I get. I take each as sincere, and I try to respond in kind. I hope you continue to find things of interest in my blog and continue to visit. Take care, Bill

       

Leave a Reply

 
secret Blogger

Status : surviving highschool

How the Cookie Crumbles

An irreverant view of life after SIXTY-FIVE

beefandsweettea.wordpress.com/

a story of Southern agriculture

Me, My Magnificent Self

My Journey To Freedom

Kira Moore's Closet

Ever Moving Forward

