RSS

My Music….

06 Sep

When Cari reads this she is going to have to dig deep into her own UTube source to find out what I was thinking.  The week before last I shared with a few a music video by a new version of the Boogie Woogie Twins.  I have watched that video at least a dozen times since I shared it, but it got me to thinking about the music I truly love.  My wife gave me an IPOD for Christmas about 5 years ago. I painstakingly loaded over 1800 songs from our CD collection.  And just as painstakingly I whittled down that list of sounds to approximately 1250 songs.  Over time I have made a few dozen purchases.  So I am now well over 1300 songs.

I am going to list the 20 most played songs on my IPod, and then I am going to talk about some of my favorites, and give a little personal history. (Like you didn’t think personal history would come into play)  If I considered a song to be among my all-time favorites it will be in bold.  Here goes;  1) Statesboro Blues by the Allman Brothers, 2) Next Contestant by Nickelback 3) Boom Boom by The Animals 4) Animals by Nickelback 5) For What it’s Worth by The Buffalo Springfield 6) Mr. Tambourine Man by the Byrd’s 7) Changes the Locks by Lucinda Williams 8) Call Me the Breeze by Lynyrd Skynrd 9) Whipping Post by The Allman Brothers 10) Thunder Struck by AC/DC 11) Bad Company by Five Finger Death Punch 12) Save a Horse Ride a Cowboy by Big and Rich, 13) Follow you Home by Nickelback 14) Hoochie Coochie Man by Eric Clapton 15) Good Time Gone by Nickelback 16) Country Song by Seether 17) Personal Jesus by Depeche Mode 18) Lowlife by Theory of a Deadman 19) Time of the Season by The Zombies and 20) Go Rest High on That Mountain by Vince Gill.  Some of the songs that didn’t make the top 20 played but should have are: Southern Cross but Crosby, Stills, and Nash, Crossroads by Clapton, The Dope Show by Marilyn Manson, Steam by Peter Gabriel.  Hell I need to be careful or I will list all 1300 songs on my IPod. This list by no means represents my favorites.  But on my IPod, I have a playlist called “Walking Music” which when I was going the respiratory therapy came in real handy.  Then center pumped o u t some rather sedate music, which I couldn’t use to motivate myself. I created this list to get me going, to fire up my motor, and it worked.  I could do 40 mins on the treadmill at 2 miles an hour listening to this music.  When my treadmill time and distance were thru, I shifted to one of the different “Blues” lists to listen to while doing the weight training.  The point is every time I went to PT this Walking Music would play and then selections from other lists.

When I was doing the PT’s I didn’t mind sharing my music.  With the music blasting in my ears and head, my heart racing, my BP okay, my O2 sinking, and my heart rate on a roller coaster, the music work for me, yes I knew there was some overflow from my headset, but again, I didn’t mind sharing my music, but alas, apparently my taste in music might have offended some of the others, so I had to tune it down Damn it!!  Which I did, and that is the end of that story, though I was asked time and again why (at my age) did I liked that music, the simple answer was because it worked.  It helped me put forth the effort necessary to get the most from the PT’s. Besides I love music especially LOUD music.

I want to spend a few words talking about my favorite song.  If you had asked me two years ago to name my favorite song it would have been impossible.  My love for music spans fifty plus years and at any given point I would have had a favorite.  So when I was asked that question I gave a short list of 2 or 3 songs depending on my mood.  But now I have a favorite song, and I know it will stand the test of time. It is Go Rest High on That Mountain by Vince Gill, if you haven’t heard it (and are interested) it just type it in the search box on your internet home page, it will take you to many an opportunity to hear it.   The first time I heard this song was at my Mom’s funeral, it is such a sad, and joyful, and passionate, sorrowful song and every time I listen to it I cry and smile at the same time.  Because it is now playing I have to take a break.

Back, with Go Rest High On The Mountain is top of the list; I have a ton of songs that would be tied for 2nd place depending on when you asked me. On my list of most played you will find several of them and I will add a few to this paragraph. So here goes Superstition by Stevie Ray Vaughn, Crossroads by Clapton, With Arms Wide Open by Creed, Tattoo by Van Halen,  A Warrior’s Call by Volbeat, In your Eyes by Peter Gabriel, Tobacco Road by The Nashville Teens, Beer for my Horses and How Do You Like Me Now by Toby Keith, this list could go on and on but I am going to stop and list some Bands and Artists (not already listed) that are important to me: Roger McGuinn, Jimi Hendrix, Aretha Franklin, Matchbox Twenty, Buddy Guy, BB King, Bo Diddley, John Lee Hooker, George Thorogood and the Destroyers, The Kinks, Disturbed, Evans Blue, Crosby Stills Nash and Young, Brooks and Dunn, Neil Young by himself, Travis Tritt, Cream, Linkin Park, Melissa Etheridge, Marilyn Manson, Nickelback, Kid Rock, Genesis, Garth Brooks, lord have mercy I am suffering from SOB just writing this list, needless to say it’s an even longer list. It is a quite diverse list of the music.  There is only period of music that I am hard pressed to say I have a favorite from, and that’s the Disco era.  The worst (saddest) part of it is I had the white platform shoes, the wide white belt and 2 polyester leisure suits (lime green and day glow orange).  And I actually went in public dressed like that.  Thank God there is no photographic evidence of this.  I know I couldn’t live it down.

I have a short story to share and a comment, then the abuse of your senses is over for today.  When I was a kid I wanted to be a ROCK & ROLL hero, I could not play an instrument and I could only carry a tune in a basket.   So I figured the closest I could get would be to manage a band (Cari cover your eyes) cause they got laid too.  Me and a friend spent 100 of hours and I mean 1000’s listening to albums from the Who, The Beatles, The Rolling Stones, and other big bands of our time, and painstakingly copying down the lyrics of every song on every album we could get our hands on so we could provide this wealth of knowledge to a local band we were trying to hook up as their manager. Back in the old days, they didn’t put the lyrics on the album jacket, you had to buy it, so we thought we were doing someone a big favor, well, we didn’t know how to manage poop, and we knew even less about the music industry, and less on what bands wanted in the way of a manager.  Every band we approached 1 had a manager, and 2 had already paid for the lyrics and sheet music to the songs they needed.  My career as a band manager came to a screaming halt before it even got off the ground, but I did meet some cute girls.  So it wasn’t a total failure.  I had become friends with a band member, and because of that friendship, I did get to hang around with the band and that was my hall pass. LOL LOL.

This is wordy enough I hope you enjoyed the trip thru my head regarding my likes of music.  BTW my vehicle has XM radio, I listen to Octane, and the Blues Channel 99 percent of the time when driving about by myself.  When the wife is in the car, for some strange reason we listen to whatever she wants.  LMAO but as soon as she is out of the car, the volume goes back to 7 or 8 and I turn on the music I want LOL.

Oh Lord, I almost forgot the comment I was going to make, I know you just said “damn it he remembered”.  I am the self-proclaimed world’s best air guitarist.  The key is the self-proclaimed part here LOL.  I will make another comment, I still can’t carry a tune without a bucket, but when I am sitting in my house with no one here, I sing every song that plays, I rock and roll, I have all the rock star moves, and it gives me great pleasure to strut my stuff, just thank God there are no witnesses. Take care, Bill

Folks please take care, if you have any questions comments or thoughts regarding my choices in music I would love it is you shared them. Also if you choose to respond please include one or two of your favorite songs, I promise I will go check them out. Please take care, Bill.

BTW I am in better spirits this week.  Take care

 
16 Comments

Posted by on September 6, 2013 in Grandpa Stories, Humor, Ramblings

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

16 responses to “My Music….

  1. gita4elamats

    September 6, 2013 at 9:52 am

    Hey, music man, I’m glad you’re in better spirits this week. Cheers!

     
    • FlaHam

      September 6, 2013 at 8:35 pm

      Ela, Yes I would be the music man, and I do have 76 trombones following shortly. When all else fails I can count on music to guide me. Please take care, Bill

       
      • gita4elamats

        September 6, 2013 at 10:47 pm

        Music always energises me, too, Bill. (。◕‿◕。)

         
  2. Chatter Master

    September 6, 2013 at 11:09 am

    Better spirits are good to hear about. I hope the music had something to do with it. I have to say I love many of these songs as well. And funny enough…I didn’t think any of my senses were abused. 😉 Happy weekend Bill!!!!

     
    • FlaHam

      September 6, 2013 at 6:55 pm

      Colleen, Yes they are, I really try to keep my negative thoughts to myself, but sometimes they slip out and sometimes I get on my soap box. Music has always found ways to shelter me. Thank you for your kind wishes and I hope you have a great weekend yourself. Please take care, Bill

       
  3. Marlyn Brook

    September 6, 2013 at 12:06 pm

    Well thank you ever so much for interrupting my really good sob session…I’m now pissing myself laughing! Our oldest son absconded with our collection of VINYL albums that included all the groups you mentioned and tons more. We too skipped disco although I’m thinking our new theme song should be “Stayin’ Alive” by the Bee Gees:) Did you ever hang out in Atlantic City in the 60s & 70s….I must know you from somewhere:) LOL

     
  4. The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

    September 6, 2013 at 1:19 pm

    Like what Ela wrote, Music Man! I second that. Music is wonderful, for so many reasons. So glad you’re in good spirits. 🙂

     
    • FlaHam

      September 6, 2013 at 8:39 pm

      Paulette, Just like I told Ela, I do have 76 trombones following shortly. Thanks for your kind words. Please take care, Bill

       
  5. jmgoyder

    September 7, 2013 at 6:01 am

    I am going to look some of these up – thanks Bill!

     
    • FlaHam

      September 7, 2013 at 9:03 am

      Julie, Some you will like others you will say, “My son doesn’t even listen to that crap,” but either way you will find one you like. Take care my friend and have a great day. Bill

       
  6. DeeDee Granata

    September 7, 2013 at 8:20 am

    Oh man, I just responded to last week’s post, now I have to think really hard to come up with favorite songs. Um I’m a fan of Meatloaf thanks to some good times that were had while listening (well not really listening, but he was playing in the background). Ha, that’s all I got.

     
    • FlaHam

      September 7, 2013 at 8:57 am

      Dee Dee Dee, You and Meatloaf ?!?!?!? I am so amazed and so proud of you. LOL LOL, you have changed the entire dimension of my post by your “not really listening….” remark and I love it. That alone has me rethink some of the songs on my list. I will be 100 percent honest and say when I wrote my post, that wasn’t on my mind, but see how quickly I become the dirty old man. I hope your well and that the fires have calmed down enough for you to be able to breathe a bit easier. Please take care, Bill

       
  7. Linda

    September 7, 2013 at 11:00 am

    Bill great post about your love for music. I love the Moody Blues and all the girl groups of the 60s. For me music can change my mood in a heart beat. On XM radio its the 50’s and 60s channels, but when Amanda gets in the car she switches it to Elvis and hubby to classic rock and roll..glad you are having a good day

     
    • FlaHam

      September 7, 2013 at 1:50 pm

      Linda, Thank you so much for your sweet words, I have the Moody Blues on my IPod, and I enjoy them a great deal, I actually have memories of the “Girl Groups” of the 60’s. At that time (early to mid 60’s) I lived in Shelbyville KY, during the summer we all gathered at the public pool. While I can’t remember the exact tunes, the “girl groups” dominated the radio that was always blasting. Take care, Bill

       
  8. Wanda

    September 8, 2013 at 10:05 am

    Bill, with the exception of Vince Gill, we are poles apart in terms of favorite songs. You probably think it is a character flaw, but I really don’t listen to music except when I’m in the car on weekends–my fave then is the 50s on XM radio. My ipod has a modest collection of tunes–of those, my favorite is an album by Pete Fountain with a lot of New Orleans jazz/clarinet music. Most of them have a strong beat that gets me moving and makes me smile. If I had to report a favorite genre, I would have to say 60s thru 80s country western music. I did listen to Go Rest High on the Mountain and I can see why you like it. I also picked out one of your Nickelback songs and listened to it as well–not my style, but it did have a good beat and I could understand the lyrics ;-).

    I laughed when I got to the part about you and your buddy spending so much time copying down the lyrics of popular songs–based on past posts, I wonder how much trouble that project kept the two of out OUT OF!

     
    • FlaHam

      September 8, 2013 at 11:06 am

      Wanda, I am glad we share Vince Gill. As for the rest, music is an individual taste. I suspect there are many 60+ folks out who would look at me and go WTF are you listening to and why. I would just have to laugh. I have always enjoyed the hard aggressive music, but I have always in jazz. Steph and I used to go to a jazz club in Ole Town Alexandria on Saturday nights. We would have dinner downstairs and then go up and listen to jazz for an hour or so, before calling it a night. Those were good times. Smiling, I am so glad you liked the Vince Gill song, it stirs me up just thinking about it. Also I am very happy that you actually listened to Nickelback, I had a couple of their’s in my top 20, thankfully the one’s on my list weren’t as aggressive as many of their other songs I like. I never even considered the amount of trouble I avoided getting into by trying to get the lyrics to those songs. That is a very good point, darn think of all the fun I missed. Take care, Bill

       

Leave a Reply

 
secret Blogger

Status : surviving highschool

How the Cookie Crumbles

An irreverant view of life after SIXTY-FIVE

beefandsweettea.wordpress.com/

a story of Southern agriculture

Me, My Magnificent Self

My Journey To Freedom

Kira Moore's Closet

Ever Moving Forward

