RSS

How I Feel Today 09/07/13

07 Sep

Good morning folks. Today is Saturday and it would appear that my weekly update is going to be a weekend kind of thing.  It kinda gives me time to really think about my week, and be as accurate as possible when I talk about what has gone on, and my feeling about it.  Overall I will give the week a 3, as close to a solid 3 as possible without going over.

The main events for the week were; having my INR checked again, my follow-up with Doc Infectious, and my bi-weekly visit with Doc Head. My INR was 2.7 which is in the therapeutic range, and no further INR tests for 3 weeks, I now take 7mg of Jantoven (a generic brand of coumadin) daily.  I am slowly working my way back to once a month INR check.  The least satisfying visit I had this week was with Doc Infectious.

 

The reason this has been the least satisfying appointment, of the week, has nothing to do with the Doctors that care for me, or the nurses that prep me, or any of the staff.  I truly trust all of the doctors that provide service here and I truly believe they do a wonderful job of managing my health issues.  As you know I have been fighting something these last couple weeks.  Well what I have been fighting is a mild (however mild is defined) exacerbation  of my COPD.  Not a major event, but enough to slow me down and remind me of the seriousness of the disease (like I need that reminder). It is also an indication of the continuing decline.  But because I managed to stay out of the hospital, I feel it was a victory for me.  All my blood work looks good.  Actually if I didn’t have COPD my blood work indicates I would be in pretty damn good health. My shape would still be round, cause I am well overweight, but I would be fine.  It is a shame to waste an otherwise healthy individual on this friggin disease.

 

My appointment with Doc Head went great, I do trust her, and I truly believe she has my best interests at heart and even after listening to me she isn’t judgmental LOL LOL. I am so anal I would much rather be in the parking lot or waiting room 20 minutes early for an appointment, than even be a minute late.  Doc Head has changed office locations and this was my 1st visit to the office.  Being a guy, and having a general idea where the new office was I didn’t even pay attention to the google directions I brought with me.  Wouldn’t you know it, I went to the wrong friggin place.  Thank God I got there 15 minutes early, because it took 14 minutes to find her new office.  So I go racing into the waiting room huffing and puffing (I could have sucked the little pigs house down the way I was sucking wind). Thankfully for me, she didn’t call me back until 10 after the hour which gave me time to gather myself.  BTW she does have a couch in her office, but I don’t lay on it, that would be way over the top. I could write about our conversations but that would be too much like the old TV shows. Besides, you really don’t want to know LOL LOL.   The truth is we talk about a variety of things that focus on how I deal with the cards that have been dealt me.  Sometimes the conversations are emotional, mostly not.  But being able to say things to a human face to face, without fear by itself gives you a good sense.  For those of my friends who suffer from this disease or another terminal disease, if at all possible I would strongly suggest getting some counseling.  It really will help you deal with those things that go on in your head that you’re afraid to admit.  Okay off the soapbox, let someone else climb up there.

Damn I almost forgot, I went the dentist this week, all things checked out good.  So I am good to go for another 6 months, aren’t you glad I shared that information. BTW I am sure you realized it but good dental health does impact the rest of your being.  Just keep that in mind.

So now I will wrap up this week’s addition “How I Feel Today.”   As always if you have any concerns, questions or comments, please feel free to share them with me.  Take care, Bill

 

 
16 Comments

Posted by on September 7, 2013 in How I feel on a particular day, Ramblings

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

16 responses to “How I Feel Today 09/07/13

  1. The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

    September 7, 2013 at 2:20 pm

    Glad it was a positive week. Understand about not being admitted to the hospital being a win. Also, about getting lost…one of my nicknames is Mrs. McGoo. I’m not kidding. Happy rest of the weekend!

     
    • FlaHam

      September 7, 2013 at 7:24 pm

      Paulette, Thank you for your kinds words and thoughts, I am directionally challenged. I don’t north from or east or west from south. But I do know about victories. And not going to the hospital is always one.. Thanks — Bill

       
  2. Chatter Master

    September 7, 2013 at 2:25 pm

    I’m glad it was a solid good week. Though I vote for going over the top of 3! I get that staying out of the hospital is a definite win! Here’s to another great week for someone who is always there to support and cheer us on. You are a joy Bill.

     
    • FlaHam

      September 7, 2013 at 7:26 pm

      Colleen, Yes it was a solid week. And have a good report from the Dentist was important. Colleen your writing is so special it is easy to cheer you on. Thanks always for your kind support. Please take care, Bill

       
  3. DeeDee Granata

    September 7, 2013 at 5:54 pm

    Uhhh. It’s already time to write a reply? I’m not sure how I feel about the music thing yet . . .:) So glad you’re my friend. I have done the counseling thing, but not since I found out about this blankety blank blank disease. I just don’t want to start over again. My head doc retired between rounds of my messes. Tried to get a hold of her a couple of times, because she is AWESOME. But it hasn’t happened. So going it . . . alone? No not completely because I have you, and our daily strength group, and most of all my magical husband. He just makes everything better. So glad and lucky and happy and all that mushy stuff we are together. And happy that I am friends with you. Thanks always.

     
    • FlaHam

      September 7, 2013 at 7:31 pm

      Dee, While writing a reply is NEVER required or demanded it is always appreciated. I too am glad to be able to call you friend. My counselor is younger than I am and will be around long after I am gone. I am carrying a hell of a lot more baggage than I thought. And she is helping, a great deal. You are so lucky to have a supportive spouse, I am sure that makes it easier. But we are both lucky to have our friendship and the DS group. Please take care, before you know it you will be responding to yet another post. I still have a ton of words. Bill — xoxo–

       
      • DeeDee Granata

        September 8, 2013 at 7:01 am

        I am sorry I sounded cranky about writing a reply, because I definitely don’t feel that way. I love your blog and I enjoy replying to it.

         
        • FlaHam

          September 8, 2013 at 7:31 am

          Dee Dee, please please, I never for a second felt you sounded cranky, I really thought you were teasing me, so please do not worry. All I was doing was teasing back. By the same token just because I write a post does not mean you have to respond. I write for my enjoyment, to express my emotions, when others enjoy it’s more gravy for me. And you my love have given me a lot of gravy, Take care, Bill XOXO

           
          • DeeDee Granata

            September 8, 2013 at 7:37 am

            Okay, good. Because I was teasing. Phew, so glad we cleared that up. 🙂

             
            • FlaHam

              September 8, 2013 at 7:44 am

              DeeDee, I am glad you teasing cause if you kept it up I may have had to pull you over my knee and spank you. I hope you have a wonderful day. Take care, Bill BTW how are you doing in regard to the FIRES, it hasn’t been on the evening news much recently. Hopefully your doing okay lung and property wise. Bill xoxo

               
  4. jmgoyder

    September 8, 2013 at 7:30 am

    Bill, would you mind helping me for a few days? I quit smoking 3 months ago but have lapsed badly over last week or so. I have made tomorrow D-day and would like to have someone to report to so could you be that person? You don’t have to do anything except receive my daily email reports – no need to reply – is that ok? Jx

     
    • FlaHam

      September 8, 2013 at 7:35 am

      Julie, I would with great honor be that person, I will look forward to your daily mail or mails, and I will offer encouragement. We can work together. Thank you for asking me, you do honor me. Take care, Bill — and Julie I know you can

       
  5. Wanda

    September 8, 2013 at 10:14 am

    I’m with your other readers: your staying out of the hospital is a big plus. As for your head doctor–I know you keep some things to yourself either temporarily or permanently in order to spare others so I’m glad you have someone available that you share with without fear of judgment, etc.

     
    • FlaHam

      September 8, 2013 at 10:45 am

      Wanda, You know me well, and I am forever grateful that you do. Please take care, Bill

       
  6. auntsally210

    September 11, 2013 at 12:18 am

    Bill: Glad you managed to stay out of the hospital. Hope that your “mild” exacerbation clears up.
    I have a lot o reading to catch up with your blog. Please do not hold it against me. I have never had major surgery before; and way underestimated the lack of ability to do much of anything; aka
    called “recovery” by those in the medical field. LMAO
    You look great. I posted a new photo of me (someone took it without my knowledge; but it shows my 50 plus pound weight loss. Of course, I am eating in the photo—-would not want me to blow away in a strong wind.) Bill; I am your friend “blueirisnw” on Daily Strength. I go by “auntsally210” on facebook as I have so many nieces and nephews; and now great nieces and nephews.

     
    • FlaHam

      September 11, 2013 at 7:22 am

      Sally, It is so nice to have you back. Oh take as much time as you need to catchup. Please don’t fret about me holding that against you, that’s the least of your concerns which right how are getting 100 back on your feet, Then we can talk about what I would or wouldn’t hold against you. Besides a lot of those posts will put you back to sleep so don’t worry about it. I am just glad you got thru the surgery, and are feeling better. Please take care, and I look forward to your complete recovery and return. — Bill

       

Leave a Reply

 
secret Blogger

Status : surviving highschool

How the Cookie Crumbles

An irreverant view of life after SIXTY-FIVE

beefandsweettea.wordpress.com/

a story of Southern agriculture

Me, My Magnificent Self

My Journey To Freedom

Kira Moore's Closet

Ever Moving Forward

