RSS

A Traumatic Event is about to Happen

14 Sep

I need a haircut and beard trim, this is my dilemma.  I have been using the same hair dresser for the last 11 years with the exception of a few incidents during that period.  A few years ago my wife started using her as well.  Last week I took my wife for her appointment, sitting there quietly minding my own damn business, and when Steph was done, I said, “The next time I get my hair cut this is how I want it cut.” Then I gave a brief demonstration of what I wanted neither, my wife or hairdresser agreed with my thoughts.   But then our hairdresser turned to Steph and said, “Don’t worry! What he wants don’t matter, I will cut his hair anyway I want.”  It dawned on me, while it may not matter to her; it does matters a great deal to me. I am not a vain man (any man that looks like the Pillsbury Doughboy can’t be real vain), but if I am vain at all, my vanity focuses on my hair and beard.  It is the single attribute about me that the girls, chicks, and women have always fawned over, I have great hair.  That is the one thing I truly have going in my favor.  Yet for years I have always hated that ”fresh” haircut look. This is my going in picture, the beard clearly needs a bit of trimming, and I like the look of my hair.

  Picture15[1]

 

Here is another recent pic 

A picture of Santa?

amazing the beard needs to be trimmed in this picture as well.  So once I have a new hair dresser, maybe I will be going more often if for no other reason to get my beard trimmed.

So today I embarked on a journey to find a new hairdresser.  I have a hair dresser in mind, she has cut my hair, and trimmed my beard in the past, and I have always liked the look. But she has worked closely with my current hair dresser for years, and for all intents and purposes they seem to be good friends and they worked great together. The one thing I will have going in my favor is that they no longer work in the same shop. So she is my 1st choice.  Anyway I called her at 10am and she returned my call, she couldn’t squeeze me in Saturday unless I was willing to be there at 730a, we decided to schedule for Tuesday 10am.  I asked if she minded me coming over to her, and would it cause issues with my old hair dresser, she say “No Bill, not at all.”  So it would appear I have a new hair dresser.  I will report how it goes, and state whether or not I still have the “New Haircut Blues.” We will see how it plays out Tuesday 10am.

For myself, my granddaughter and my readers I am forever trying to make my blog better.  A friend and blog mentor, Wanda, will from time to time stop by the house on her way home from work to help me with certain aspects of my blog, and I love her dearly for it.  This past week we were working on the “Good Reads” section of my blog.  When I am not writing I am reading, I read a ton (well if truth be told, I also play games on face book).  And I wanted to display what I was currently reading, what I recently read, and what books are on the shelf to be read.  After jointly futzing with it for about 30 minutes we figured out and it resides on the right side of the page, some of you may have a “show all content” button to push before you see it, but it is there.  As a sidebar, if you look at what I have read, and what I intend to read, and have suggestions please include them. Thanks!

 

After we completed this mission, we were talking and I was the subject, well my attitude was the topic.  We were trying to decide if I were “Irreverent” or “Flippant”!  After much debate we left it as an unanswered question.  I characterize myself as a combination of both terms, but “Irreverent” rolls of the tongue better, and doesn’t seem to be as disrespectful as “Flippant.”  So as usual I went to Encarta to get some starting place definitions for the words in contention.  This is what I found.

Flippant as defined by the Encarta Dictionary is …. showing a lack of seriousness that is thought inappropriate.

Irreverent as defined by the Encarta Dictionary is …. Disrespectful — lacking in respect.

Of these definitions from Encarta, if given a choice I would much rather be considered flippant.

But further research found this definition for Flippant; frivolously disrespectful, shallow, or lacking in seriousness; characterized by levity.

Wanda gave herself some homework as it relates to the conversation we were having, and this is what she found and said on the matter. Wanda is much smarter than me and paraphrased the definitions I am sure.

As promised, I looked up “irreverent”…  1. lacking proper respect in speech or action and 2. Characterized by a lightly pert quality or manner 

And because I’m thorough, “flippant” is…lacking proper respect or seriousness

So…I would argue that irreverent and flippant are reasonable synonyms of one another but, in your case, I think the second definition of “irreverent” is probably most applicable. My own view of your behavior is that you (almost always) give due respect to people, circumstances, etc., but you tend to approach things with a “pert quality or manner”…I will leave it to you to investigate “pert” (hint: we come full circle in this discussion!).

 

I did investigate “pert,” and this is what I found. Again using Encarta as my source.  Pert… 1. Amusingly bold, bold and lively in a pleasant or amusing way 2. Jaunty and stylish in design 3. Small and well-shaped, and pretty.  Well clearly the pert she is referring to is not number 3. I am clearly not small or well-shaped and clearly I am not pretty.  But I believe that 1 hits it on the head, and so having said all that it would appear I am irreverent in a pert sort of way.  Which all things considered I can live with, though I do have to admit that sometimes I am just friggin Flippant, and generally I am flippant in the most inopportune times.  None of you know Wanda except for the comments she makes on my blog, but Wanda has known me for almost 10 years, and I believe her assessment of my personality to be quite good.

So folks if you want to weigh in on this subject please feel free, at some point I will report the finding of those that respond to this.  I am so so sure you never expected this kind of post. LOL

Clearly I wasn’t in a story writing mode today, but I wanted to write. It does seem like a weird kind of post, but I hope you enjoyed it just as well.

As always your thoughts and comments are always welcomed.  Please take care, Bill

PS –  Now I have to bust my butt getting my weekly “How I Feel Today” out.  A retired man’s work is never done.

 
15 Comments

Posted by on September 14, 2013 in Humor, Observations, Ramblings

 

Tags: , , , , ,

15 responses to “A Traumatic Event is about to Happen

  1. gita4elamats

    September 15, 2013 at 1:00 am

    Love your hair and beard!

     
  2. Wanda

    September 15, 2013 at 5:41 am

    It’s pretty neat how you managed to roll the flippant/irreverent conversation into this post!

    As for your hair, I’m with you…it’s yours and it should be cut the way you want it. Your (former) hairdresser was extremely disrespectful of you by being so dismissive of your directions. Let me know if the new person doesn’t work out, and I will give you my hairdresser’s card.

     
    • FlaHam

      September 15, 2013 at 7:27 am

      Wanda, I will be all means contact you should my journey have to many bumps in the road. Having my hair cut how I want is important to me. I don’t remember exactly how our conversation started regarding me being flippant or irreverent, but it was a fun and serious conversation. After I did my research, and came to the conclusion on how I felt I was as person and conversationalist, I wanted to include it. LOL Besides without our conversation in the Post, my post would been well less than a 1000 words. LOL And I do have to be wordy. Please take care, Bill

       
  3. Chatter Master

    September 15, 2013 at 10:01 am

    Add me to the list of hair/beard lovers. I think your gravatar picture (blue shirt, hair parted on the side) is one of my favorite hair pictures. And I agree with PERT!!!! 😉

     
    • FlaHam

      September 15, 2013 at 3:10 pm

      Colleen, That is a good picture, “Pert” it is. Thanks for your input. Smiling I am not getting a lot of buy in on the hair combed straight back LOL. Take care, Bill

       
  4. The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

    September 15, 2013 at 11:22 am

    I’m on that list with Colleen and Ela, you handsome devil! And, I’d get a new hairdresser also. 😉

     
    • FlaHam

      September 15, 2013 at 3:08 pm

      Paulette, I will agree totally with the “devil” part, not at all so sure about handsome LOL LOL. Take care, Bill

       
  5. Marlyn Brook

    September 15, 2013 at 9:12 pm

    Three words: Mischevious, Facetious & Impish:)

     
    • FlaHam

      September 15, 2013 at 9:26 pm

      Marlyn, Smiling, dang I been found out!! I am glad you got home safe. Take care, Bill

       
  6. jmgoyder

    September 15, 2013 at 11:42 pm

    If I were a man I would like to look like you!

     
    • FlaHam

      September 16, 2013 at 6:42 am

      Julie, That’s about the nicest compliment I have ever been given, maybe from the neck up at best, but I wouldn’t wish anyone my short round body. Thank you sweetness. Bill

       
  7. DeeDee Granata

    September 16, 2013 at 1:18 am

    I would definitely NOT characterize you as disrespectful or shallow. I used to tell my hairdresser to do whatever she wanted to my hair, and she did! But I get why you wouldn’t like that. Good luck with the new one.

     
    • FlaHam

      September 16, 2013 at 10:08 am

      Dee, You are so sweet to me, thank you, I have never felt I was disrespectful and shallow, though sometimes I feel even the best of folks can display both of those characteristics. I do believe that Wanda’s description was pretty close. LMAO — my hair, my hair! ! ! for 10 years I have sat in her chair and she has done exactly as she or my wife wanted her to do (mostly her). And like a gentleman (guy) I sat their and said to myself “I’ll never get my hair to look like this.” And I couldn’t. But when they started talking about my hair like I wasn’t in the room, and when my hair dresser said “It didn’t matter what I wanted.” I said yes it does. And now I have a new hair dresser. Thank you my friend for just being there and being my friend. Take care, Bill

       

Leave a Reply

 
secret Blogger

Status : surviving highschool

How the Cookie Crumbles

An irreverant view of life after SIXTY-FIVE

beefandsweettea.wordpress.com/

a story of Southern agriculture

Me, My Magnificent Self

My Journey To Freedom

Kira Moore's Closet

Ever Moving Forward

