RSS

Grief Intelligence: A Primer

17 Sep

I think so many of understand so little on this subject, maybe this will help us all…. Bill

Vic's Final Journey

540679_397961433626624_1721018618_n

For the past 25 years, I have worked with thousands of grievers. I have sat with widows and widowers, the young and the old. I have offered tissues to bereaved parents in their inconsolable grief. I have normalized, educated, listened to and championed those grievers who, through tremendous pain, still engaged with life.

In the decades since my book Transcending Loss was published, the grieving process has not changed. As I interact with grievers from around the world, I am reminded of the universality of grief. And though each person has their own journey, still they share many common experiences.

Yet, still, I see and hear so much misinformation and confusion around grief. Principally, this comes from the widely-held myths that grief should be easy, that grief should be short, that grief has closure, that people should get on with their lives unchanged and that ongoing connection with the deceased…

View original post 907 more words

 
4 Comments

Posted by on September 17, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

4 responses to “Grief Intelligence: A Primer

  1. jmgoyder

    September 17, 2013 at 9:54 am

    Yes.

     
  2. WordsFallFromMyEyes

    September 18, 2013 at 5:42 am

    A very choice reblog.
    Cheers.

     
    • FlaHam

      September 18, 2013 at 7:48 am

      When I got your comment to a recent post, I when to your “served” post. Below is what I tried to send as a response, but for whatever reason it wouldn’t let me post. So here it is. Please take care. An extremely powerful yet subtle way of getting your message out. I have read another of your posts and was equally moved then as well. I don’t know how to express my emotions never having been through this, but I will continue with you on the journey. Please take care, Bill. PS you found one of my reblogs to your interest, I hope you in time find other posts of my interesting.

       
      • WordsFallFromMyEyes

        September 18, 2013 at 7:57 am

        Thank you Bill, I appreciate that 🙂

        I do get around to posts, yes… though can take me a while. I will for sure visit you again. I enjoyed your space.

         

Leave a Reply

 
secret Blogger

Status : surviving highschool

How the Cookie Crumbles

An irreverant view of life after SIXTY-FIVE

beefandsweettea.wordpress.com/

a story of Southern agriculture

Me, My Magnificent Self

My Journey To Freedom

Kira Moore's Closet

Ever Moving Forward

