RSS

How I Feel Today 09/20/13

22 Sep

Hello folks, today is Friday (when I 1st started this weeks report), I don’t know if I will finish this post today, tomorrow or even Sunday (which it turned out to be), but it will be finished sometime over the weekend.  For the week ending today, I will rate it as a solid 3.25.  It has been a good health week, and I have no complaints, I doubt if I will even pitch a bitch during this post. 

I had two medical appointments this week, Monday I met with Doc Head.  She must have known I was in the dumps and had been there for a few days, because we spend the entire session talking about the good things I have done.  She talked about the positive impression she feels I have made on others, and maybe (now I am putting words in her mouth) sometimes I maybe a touch hard on myself.  It has been a long time since I really did a self-evaluation, and that’s what Monday’s session seemed about.  Then to cap off that good session, I drove across the street and had dinner with my daughter and her family, which was a ton of fun.

Also this past week I had my monthly IVIG treatment, and having a smart phone with a dumb operator, I played and posted the progress of the treatment, life as it was happening.  Well that sure got some of my FB friends motors running so I had to pretty much rehash the information I had provided last week regarding these treatments.  But they got me with one stick, and the medicine really went in quick without the normal hiccups.

During the treatment, I managed to have several nice conversations with the nurses and the young trainee.  Jonathan, had recently completed a classroom course of study to be a nurses aid, and now was in the process of practical application of what he learned.  He is required to do 180 hours of supervised real-time training.  And I was one of his crash test dummies.  As soon as the IV pump beeped, he was there to take my bp, my heart rate, and my temp. During the 1st two hours of the infusion treatment, the IV pump goes off a lot. This is standard, they can increase the flow rate of the medicine every 15 minutes if I am responding properly, if the IV line is functioning okay, and if my vitals are okay.  Then the IV pump will beep when the medicine in the current bottle reaches a set level. They don’t want the IV line to go dry. So it peeps a lot ergo, I get my vitals taken a lot LOL LOL. Jonathan did a great job.

In many of my “How I Feel Today…“ posts I use the term exacerbation when talking about my COPD.  Many a time I have been asked to define what an exacerbation is and what, are some of the signs of an exacerbation.  I have given the text-book definition of exacerbation in the past, so today I thought I would share some to the early warning signs are, and what some of the OH SHIT call 911 signs are.  These were taken from the current volume of COPD Digest.

Early Signs (those signs you get that you should call you Doc sooner rather than later):

         1. persistent low grade temp

         2. increased use of your rescue meds

         3. change of color, thickness, ordor, or the amount of mucus

         4. fatigue that just goes on and on (more than a day)

         5. new or increased ankle swelling

The call 911 dangerous warning signs include:

         1. Disorientation, confusion or slurring of speech

         2. Severe shortness of breath or chest pains

         3. Persistent blueness in lips or fingers

I only have 1 doctor appt this coming week, and that is a two parter, one to get my INR checked, and then my 6 week check up with Doc Lung.  I will report on these and any other developments next week.

So now I will wrap up this week’s addition “How I Feel Today.”   As always if you have any concerns, questions or comments, please feel free to share them with me.  Take care, Bill

 
13 Comments

Posted by on September 22, 2013 in How I feel on a particular day

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

13 responses to “How I Feel Today 09/20/13

  1. The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

    September 22, 2013 at 5:39 pm

    I loved reading that your doctor talked about the good things you’ve done because I for one feel there must be a lot of things, witting or unwitting, that you’ve done that has been a great help to others, your posts and supportive comments on other sites, for example. You’ve been a wonderful friend I’ve made in cyberville and can’t relay enough how grateful I am for your wisdom, honesty, kindness, and humor! Hugs!

     
    • FlaHam

      September 22, 2013 at 7:01 pm

      Paulette, I will be honest, it was a nice experience to have that conversation, but it wasn’t one I ever expected and I wasn’t comfortable, not given the reason why I even started having these sessions. I try to do my best by folks, and I know I am supportive of folks, no matter what their need is, but I do it because that’s the only way I know. When someone else recognizes that quality and calls it out, I get all embarrassed. So having said that I thank you from the bottom of my heart for your kind words. Your friendship has been invaluable to me. So again thank you. Take care, Bill

       
      • The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

        September 23, 2013 at 11:32 am

        I totally understand the embarrassment and feeling self-conscious when compliments are pointed my way. But, then, oh the replay and how nice it is that someone took the time to say something nice. I can count on a couple of fingers the kind words I heard from people in the ER after I’d treated them which at the time made me feel self-conscious cause like you it’s what I do, who I am, and the joy of doing rests well inside me (I sleep well at night). All that said, it’s easy for me to tell others things about them I appreciate and speak with no remorse, lol. You’re a wonderful man and friend and I’m sure grateful for the day I happened upon your site! Now, got let your red face calm down, lol! Your friend, Paulette

         
        • FlaHam

          September 23, 2013 at 12:25 pm

          Paulette, Thank you, Bill

           
  2. Chatter Master

    September 22, 2013 at 9:21 pm

    Wooot wooot! Another great week Bill! I like your qualities. A lot.

     
    • FlaHam

      September 23, 2013 at 3:27 pm

      Colleen, yes it was and today being Monday has started yet another good one. Take care and have a wonderful evening. — Bill

       
  3. Marlyn Brook

    September 23, 2013 at 1:32 pm

    I’m so glad the week went well for you on several levels:) I’m hoping to see a 3.5 – 4.0 Bill week! I’m pushy like that…LOL You deserve that & more for the comfort & friendship you extend to STALKERS:)

     
    • FlaHam

      September 23, 2013 at 1:34 pm

      Marlyn, Being totally honest, I always shoot for 3.5, but reality says 3.0 is a damn good week, so I am happy with them. But from time to time I do need a shove in the right direction, so if you pushy in that way, I am quite fortunate. Besides I really like being stalked. LOL LOL Have a wonderful day. Bill

       
  4. Rosey

    September 24, 2013 at 1:39 am

    Bill, I’m sorry I haven’t checked in on ya lately. I’m dealing with my marriage being over and a major move. My mother had a bad episode with the dementia so we had to take her car away. A real iot here LOL. Good to see you in good spirits my dear friend, as always. Take care of you 🙂

     
    • FlaHam

      September 24, 2013 at 7:50 am

      Rosey, Thank you for your kind words, I truly appreciate them. I will continue to do the best I can, and you do as well. Take care, Bill

       
  5. Allison

    September 25, 2013 at 5:47 pm

    I didn’t know there were for real signs… I just thought you know your body so well you just know when to go to the doctor.

     
    • FlaHam

      September 25, 2013 at 6:09 pm

      Yes Honey, there are signs, but knowing the signs sometimes doesn’t help, when I am not paying attention. Love Dad

       

Leave a Reply

 
secret Blogger

Status : surviving highschool

How the Cookie Crumbles

An irreverant view of life after SIXTY-FIVE

beefandsweettea.wordpress.com/

a story of Southern agriculture

Me, My Magnificent Self

My Journey To Freedom

Kira Moore's Closet

Ever Moving Forward

