RSS

How I Feel Today 09/28/13

28 Sep

Good Saturday Morning folks, I hope that you have had a pleasant week, and I hope I haven’t kept you waiting for the weekly update.  For the week ending today, I will rate it as a solid 3.25.  It has been a good health week, I had to give blood to have my cholesterol check to get the prescription renewed, and I had to see Doc Lungs this week. But I have no complaints, so on with the report.

On Tuesday I had to have my INR checked (2.4) and see Doc Lungs.  As you can see by the number I am doing great, and am now on a once a month INR check.  For a person on blood thinners having to only be checked once a month is a real plus. These once a month visits do cut down on my time and ability to flirt with the nurses.  Doc Lungs listened to my chest and said I sounded great.  I know he means for the condition my lungs are in, but one time I am going to have to tell him that he needs to have his hearing checked if “I sound great.” On anyone’s measuring scale LOL LOL.

The only other thing I really need to report on is that I had to call in to have the doctor renew my prescription for my Cholesterol medicine.  Well, the Doc insisted that I have a blood test to check the current my levels of cholesterol to see what, if any, adjustments needed to be made to the medicine.  Because this is a fasting test (someday I am going to check why it’s called fasting), I had my butt parked at the Lab at 630am in the morning.  Anyway one bruise later, I was out the door lab work completed.  On Thursday I got the news, the results were in on my Cholesterol.  And folks, across the board, my numbers were perfect.  I really wish I could explain the secret on why my numbers are so good, well damn, I can!  I take medicine, and it works, yea yea yea, I am also watching what I eat (damn it) and that seems to be helping.  So anyway I have to go in to see the doctor (on this coming Tuesday) to talk about why my cholesterol is perfect, besides I hadn’t been to her office in months and she misses me LOL LOL LOL NOT!

The only other thing on my medical calendar for the coming week is my bi-weekly visit with Doc Head.  I wonder what direction the conversation will take this week.  When I 1st met her, I told her that the easiest way to get me talking was to ask a question She has found this to be a very useful tool and uses it like the expert she is.  I look forward to these appointments, maybe more than I should, heck I might in fact be the crazy one. LOL  Though the reality is that I am not crazy, I am like so so many other people, I got a lot bunched up inside my head (more than I knew), and just needed the right avenue to let it out.  Do I think these appointments help. Yes I do, and I won’t stop them unless she says we are done.

My appointments with Doc Head are set up to be very interactive, and require attention on both of our parts. Unlike my appointments with Doc Lung or Doc Infectious which are based on known entities at the time of the appointment. As much as I really like and respect Doc Lungs, the 10 minutes with him every 4 to 8 weeks, is not nearly as satisfying as the 45 minutes I spend with Doc Head. But then maybe my expectations are a bit high.  Because I know that those 10 minutes are all the time needed to check the sound of my lungs, and to make sure that all my prescriptions are up to date.  Why this entire paragraph was even needed is really a question as well. And it’s also a clear sign that I have run out of important stuff to say today.

So now I will wrap up this week’s addition “How I Feel Today.”   As always if you have any concerns, questions or comments, please feel free to share them with me.  Take care, Bill

 

 
21 Comments

Posted by on September 28, 2013 in How I feel on a particular day

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

21 responses to “How I Feel Today 09/28/13

  1. ***Angel***

    September 28, 2013 at 12:09 pm

    ***AWESOME*****So good to hear your doing Great**** one thing tho you ran out of things to say oh no that can’t happen not to Angel LMBO**** Really am very happy for you my new friend ***
    Keep up the Great work your doing to stay healthy****Keep On Keepin Smilin**** You Rock****Huggies****Angel

     
    • FlaHam

      September 28, 2013 at 4:07 pm

      Angel, Thank you for you kind words, and yes even I run out of words sometimes. I know that sounds strange, but it does happen. I will continue to do the best I can to stay as healthy as I can. I am happy and lucky to have you as a friend as well. Take care, Bill

       
  2. gita4elamats

    September 28, 2013 at 12:17 pm

    Sounds like a good week, congrats. 🙂

     
    • FlaHam

      September 28, 2013 at 1:17 pm

      Ela, It was a good week, and not back sliding in any regard made it better. I hope your feeling well and have had a good week yourself. Take care, Bill

       
  3. mydailyminefield

    September 28, 2013 at 1:30 pm

    Hope you continue to feel well I have to get my blood taken Monday and boy am I scared I’m such a chicken

     
    • FlaHam

      September 28, 2013 at 1:55 pm

      MyDaily, I am what is called a hard stick, that being someone who has small or worn out veins. So it hard to stick the needle in the right place. So I can understand your fear. I don’t have any magic solution to get you thru it, but hang in there, and it will be over quickly. And they wouldn’t be doing for no reason. That’s what always gets me thru shots and needles. Take care, Bill

       
  4. ***Angel***

    September 28, 2013 at 6:14 pm

    I also have worn out veins haven’t worked since very first Cancer Surgery almost 18 years now & that’s just the first one – I feel for u one time had 5 nurses trying to get something I look like a pin cushion when I walk out of there* hang in there.***Soft Hugs****Angel***

     
    • FlaHam

      September 28, 2013 at 9:13 pm

      Angel, I have had the whole team trying to stick me, sometimes they are successful, others not so successful, but no matter what, by the end of a hospital stay, I look like I was beat with an ugly stick. But I keep hanging in there. Take care, Bill

       
  5. The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

    September 28, 2013 at 7:47 pm

    So glad it’s going well. Happy weekend Bill. 🙂

     
  6. DeeDee Granata

    September 29, 2013 at 1:44 am

    Yay for all the good news. And thanks for the laugh.

     
    • FlaHam

      September 29, 2013 at 6:33 am

      Dee, Yes the news is consistent, and good for the shape I am in. And my shape is round, LOL LOL. Laughter is in fact the best medicine, and i am joyful that I make you giggle from time to time, and that I can laugh with you. I look forward to your next journal entry. Take care, my friend — Bill

       
  7. Chatter Master

    September 29, 2013 at 3:30 pm

    There’s a happy dance in order for another 3.25 week!!!! And I say “damn” about the careful eating as well. There’s sooooooooooooooooooooooooooo much good stuff out there! 😉

     
    • FlaHam

      September 29, 2013 at 4:32 pm

      Colleen, I enjoy watching you do your happy dance. It is quite fetching LOL LOL, and makes me smile. And if it weren’t for food I might only weight 165 LOL LOL. If that is the worst of my sins LOL LOL I don’t any future problems. Take care, Bill

       
      • Chatter Master

        September 30, 2013 at 5:45 am

        You make me laugh!!!! Here’s to a great week Bill. May we both receive the blessing of a 3.25 week. 😉

         
  8. jmgoyder

    September 30, 2013 at 2:25 am

    Great news Bill.

     
  9. Laurel

    September 30, 2013 at 6:25 am

    “I got a lot bunched up in my head” Love that! It’s always great to have independent ears to talk to! So happy your test results are all so positive! Have a great week!
    Laurel

     
    • FlaHam

      September 30, 2013 at 7:45 am

      Laurel, Good morning! Yes I do have a lot bunched up in the head, and if I hadn’t started talking to Doc Head, I might never have known LOL LOL. It has been a good experience for me, and one I see lasting into the future. Like my internal meds doc told me, if it weren’t for my lungs I would be in fairly great shape. I will have a great week because I insist on it LOL. I hope yours is wonderful as well. Take care, Bill

       
  10. Wanda

    October 2, 2013 at 7:21 pm

    Bill, an overall very positive report. I hope for the same this coming week.

     
    • FlaHam

      October 3, 2013 at 8:50 am

      Wanda, Smiling I am insisting on positiveness from me. And so far it seems to be working. Take care, and thank you. Bill

       

Leave a Reply

 
secret Blogger

Status : surviving highschool

How the Cookie Crumbles

An irreverant view of life after SIXTY-FIVE

beefandsweettea.wordpress.com/

a story of Southern agriculture

Me, My Magnificent Self

My Journey To Freedom

Kira Moore's Closet

Ever Moving Forward

