RSS

My Blog – By the Numbers

03 Oct

I am just so full of myself, whenever any of my friends ask me how’s the blog doing, I am always quick to point out that I have had 176 (or whatever) posts and have written a 250,000 words.  Can I just say …? Exaggeration to a massive degree.  Oh gosh the number count is correct (I have only used 139,000 words to convey my message), but the total words are significantly less than a quarter million.  I have also been bragging constantly to my daughter “the Author” about how expressive I am with my writing.  Well I lied LOL LOL.  I am not nearly as expressive as I thought, oh sure some of you will argue that I am indeed quite wordy and can find ways to stretch simple statements into long-winded paragraphs.  You may be right, but I won’t admit it. By the way, the numbers don’t lie LOL I need to use more words.

My 1st post was published on June 17, 2012, it was 249 words long and I really had to struggle to write that many words, and as I wrote I searched and searched in my brain for more words, more thoughts, more energy,  that was the best I could come up with.  My how times have changed.  66 weeks have passed since my 1st post.  I have failed only 3 times during this period not having a single post go out during a week. I almost average 3 posts a week, which isn’t bad. But I have to fellow blogger friends who write and write and write, and then post and post.  I suspect each of them averages 4 or 5 blogs a week, and the one, hell she probably posts 10 times a week.  The most amazing thing is that both of them write the most entertaining stuff.  Anyway back to me, one of those weeks I wasn’t creative was the week I was on the Disney Cruise Vacation.  Looking at the calendar it would appear I was just lazy the other two times it happened.   Had I known I had been on such a streak maybe I wouldn’t have been quite so lazy those weeks.  What is surprising (at least to me) is I have managed to blog even the weeks I have been in the hospital since the inception of this blog.  Since June 2012, I have spent 34 nights in the hospital.  Hell I haven’t spent 34 nights in hotels the last 2 years (counting the cruise nights).  BTW room service is much better on a cruise or in a nice hotel, than at the hospital.  Of those 34 nights most of the time I was really sick LOL LOL.  Yet with my trusty rusty laptop I managed to get a post out.  I would say that’s impressive (NOT), it just means I was bored.

Since I have started of my blog I have written 166 posts, and have reblogged an addition 10 posts for a total today of 176 posts, this post will be 177.  Of the 166 posts I have created, 5 have been purely pictures with no text of merit.  So for the sake of the numbers I have created 161 posts. Of the things I write about most, #1 is my health (“How I Feel’s … “of which I have written 67 the most covered), #2 Grandpa Tails, and #3 Ramblings.  My longest post was 2728 words long and it spoke about all the jobs I have had during my career.  The shortest was 175 words and it was a “How I feel Today” post.  My average post is 860 words long, which keeps it under the self-imposed benchmark of 1,000 words per post, which means I can still write plenty of posts over a 1,000 words without exceeding the average 1000 words per post mandate.    Another tidbit of information which I find a bit amusing is that my Blog has received 1,325 comments, which is great considering I have posted 176 times.  What is sad about the 1325 comments is that I made 463 of them, and sad is not the right word at all. It means that I have had very nice conversations in the comment section of my blog, and a lot has been shared there, making the comments probably as important as the blog itself and in some cases the comments are more important that the blog.  As you’re aware, if you comment, chances are almost 100 percent that I will respond to the comment.  As I stated above some of the most informative and funny aspects of my blog are the comments.   Seeing how this post is all about numbers and my blog, another interesting number is that my blog has been viewed 6,987 times.  The top day being 5/13/13, with a total of 90 views that day, it was the day I published “Morbid Thoughts.”  The stats section at WordPress says I have 165 followers which is wonderful, but I suspect that at least 100 of those follows are trying to entice me to follow them and subscribe to their blog so they can show me how to make millions blogging.  I am not trying to make millions, I talking about myself and I am trying to make a few happy in doing so.   But I am grateful to whoever decides to follow me, if they get a single smile from my writing that alone validates why I write.

Sometime in the future after I am gone, my granddaughter will have this document.   It will be an autobiographical document about me.  It will cover at least 90 percent of my life.  It will have some of the “R” rated components of my life captured in words from my point of view, and none of the “X” rated components.

Writing is a process, and sometimes I just have brain farts and the words explode out of my fingertips. Other times much more thought goes into what flows from my fingers.  I don’t write long posts because I want or need to.  I write long posts because I have too.  Some of my fellow bloggers can get their point across in a minimum amount of words, and they do so quite clearly.  I feel I have to use a lot of words to get my message across, to convey it the way I feel it needs to be conveyed.  So I will continue to be long-winded.  Maybe with any luck, by the time I am done, I will have moved my average post word count to over 1,000 per post.  Smiling, I think I will make that my next goal.  So standby readers, my posts aren’t going to get shorter LOL LOL.

Folks when I started this post I thought it would be something I just banged out as my “And this ain’t no Sh..1)^&@(*(*” continued to formulate in my mind.  But it turned out to be more difficult that I thought it would.  I doubt if this is one of my stellar efforts, but for some reason I had the need to share this.

Anyway the next thing out of the box will be either the weekly (How I Feel…) or the continuation of my Sea Stories.  I look forward to whatever flows from my fingertips.  Please take care and have a good weekend.  If you have any thoughts or comments you wish to share please do.  — Bill

 
16 Comments

Posted by on October 3, 2013 in Observations, Ramblings

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

16 responses to “My Blog – By the Numbers

  1. The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

    October 3, 2013 at 1:17 pm

    Ahhhh brilliant, scatology lovers will adore your metaphor here, lol! Happy day to you!

     
    • FlaHam

      October 3, 2013 at 2:18 pm

      Paulette, LMFAO shame on you… If I am not mistaken your saying I am full of shit. I do believe that from time to time I admit it, but I really didn’t think it showed. Take care my friend. Have a wonderful day. Bill

       
      • The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

        October 3, 2013 at 2:40 pm

        Oh you are sooooo funny. No, I’m not saying you’re FOS (BTW: that’s how we coded full of shit as an ER diagnosis-not joking). I was referring to this and I quote you: “Writing is a process, and sometimes I just have brain farts and the words explode out of my fingertips.”

        That was just too brilliant to pass up commenting on.

        I have a sense if we were to ever meet face to face we would LOAO (laugh our asses off) lolololol!!

        xoxo Paulette

         
        • FlaHam

          October 3, 2013 at 2:54 pm

          Paulette, As you can well tell, I truly enjoy writing, I enjoy story telling, and I enjoy having you be such an important part of my audience. I have learned a lot since the beginning of our friendship. And with each exchange, it seems I learn a touch more. LOL I am sure that during at least one of my visits to the hospital over the years I was termed FOS. During my stays I have learned about code “blue” and code “brown” and code “gray,” but the nurses I dealt with were careful not to say code FOS where I heard it. As I said in one of my posts, I have had very caring nurses for the most part, and the caring far out did any of the crappy nurses I encountered. I don’t like going to the hospital, it means I have taken another step down the ladder. But when I do go I try to make it as pleasant as I can for myself and the nurses that are charged with my care. For the most part it has worked out great. Take care, Bill

           
          • The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

            October 3, 2013 at 3:12 pm

            I bet all your nurses loved you! BTW the diagnosis FOS was literally constipation, where intervention was needed. This is the ER abbreviation adopted for that diagnosis. Big hug to you. Be well. xoxo

             
  2. Chatter Master

    October 3, 2013 at 5:09 pm

    Well I think you are very expressive. And wonderfully so. And I love your “LOL”s, by the way, because I feel you laughing when you do that. I think you are a wonderful number cruncher.

     
    • FlaHam

      October 3, 2013 at 5:34 pm

      Colleen, I do in fact snicker and sometimes giggle and really laugh out loud when I share a story. And sometimes I LOL because I am laughing at myself. I see the joy in your words, I see the caring, the warmth, in all you write. It is my hope that others see that in mine. I do know, heck I have to admit that I know I touch others, some comment some don’t, but I know my stories make some smile, and that makes me smile. You are truly one of the one’s that make me smile. And I am truly fortunate that mine make you smile. LMAO, my wife would argue the point regarding my number crunching ability. I add, subtract, multiply and divide. And I don’t care what anyone says you can’t take 2 holes any multiply them together and get a mountain. It don’t work. Take care, Bill

       
      • Chatter Master

        October 3, 2013 at 8:44 pm

        You have no worries Bill, we see the caring, and warmth in all you write. And fortunately any other number crunching skills you may or may not have …. don’t have to affect your blog! 🙂

         
  3. DeeDee Granata

    October 4, 2013 at 12:27 pm

    looks like you were feeling somewhat math-eee-mat-eee-cal. my father-in-law often writes about numbers and how many seconds we have to live etc. so, is this an old man thing? jk. hugs.

     
    • FlaHam

      October 4, 2013 at 2:21 pm

      Gee Dee, Now your accusing me of being old, well depending on your reality I am old, or I am young, or I am someplace inbetween. To my granddaughter I am OLDDDDD !!! LOL to my friends online, I am relatively young (except maybe you LOL) to everyone else, who the hell cares, LOL LOL. I don’t playing with numbers is an old guy thing. I have always some interest in numbers, it is to me just a fun way to look at things, and for sure to keep score. And I have kept score most my life. I hope you have a great day, and it is always a pleasure to get a smile or giggle out of you. Take care, Bill

       
  4. DeeDee Granata

    October 4, 2013 at 12:31 pm

    I just want to add that I can be feeling sooo down and drowning in my stupid disease, then I read your blog. 1st off realizing we are friends instantly picks me up. And B you are hilarious! And lastly I just plain old like you. So, thanks a bazillion.

     
    • FlaHam

      October 4, 2013 at 2:28 pm

      Dee, That is one of the sweetest compliments I have every been given. Thank you so very much. One of the thoughts I had when I started this blog was to find a way to make it up lifting in some way. I couldn’t do it writing purely about COPD because there just is so little uplifting about the disease. So I started writing about me, and having my friends read my works and get the giggles I intended, makes me feel good, and lifts my spirits. But even as I write this there is one significant positive thing that has come about because of my COPD, it’s I have gained you as a friend. Without COPD our friendship would most likely never happened, and have your friendship makes me a better person. So Thank you. And your welcome 2 bazillions. Take care, Bill

       
  5. Wanda

    October 5, 2013 at 6:13 am

    This was a fun post to read, Bill. It’s obvious you enjoy blogging and through it you bring lots of joy to your readers. And…the conversations you have with your readers via the comments are as much fun to read as the original post. Keep on keepin’ on…

     
    • FlaHam

      October 5, 2013 at 7:53 am

      Wanda, You can blame yourself LOL LOL for most of this mess. Sure Steph pushed, but you helped me get it going, you were there for me each of my 1st few pathetic posts, coaching, reassuring, offering constructive criticism, and well voiced supportive statements. Yes I love blogging, I love writing, I love the process, I love picking my brain, and yes most off I love the exchanges in the comments aspects of each post. When it is all said and done, and Cari is reading these posts, she will learn a great deal about me in the comments. And that is why I write it. But to this day, each time I see a comment I am reminded that it was you that said, “Bill, when someone takes the time to read your post and comment you should always respond directly to them”, and Wanda my friend, I have tried my very best. Wanda, when Cari is reading these in a few years, she will have you to thank. But I will thank you now, and I will thank you again next week and next month. Thank you Wanda, Please take care, Love Bill

       
  6. jmgoyder

    October 8, 2013 at 10:06 pm

    You are so funny Bill – very numerical!

     
    • FlaHam

      October 9, 2013 at 8:45 am

      Julie, I like playing with numbers from time to time. As long as it’s not some form of complicated math, I am great with simple numbers. And they help and impact some of the stories I tell. Take care, Bill

       

Leave a Reply

 
secret Blogger

Status : surviving highschool

How the Cookie Crumbles

An irreverant view of life after SIXTY-FIVE

beefandsweettea.wordpress.com/

a story of Southern agriculture

Me, My Magnificent Self

My Journey To Freedom

Kira Moore's Closet

Ever Moving Forward

