RSS

How I Feel Today 10.31.31

31 Oct

My last “How I Feel today” was filled with grief and the impact it has on one.  That mental impact can also manifest itself in illness.  Since returning from Louisville, I have contacted MRSA and pneumonia.  My 1st indications were that I was breathing heavier than normal, and that because of this I was running the battery down on my portable concentrator.  The machine that would normally give me 6 plus hours of service, had only been providing 4 hours at the maximum.  Another sign that I wasn’t quite myself (which I ignored) was an inability to write a creative post.  The lack of mental function and heavy breathing has always been a precursor to becoming sick.

Being honest I laid a lot of these symptoms off to post funeral stress, the 1000 mile drive back to Tampa, and a variety of excuses. Plus all the activities around my birthday, aided in my ability to ignore what my body was screaming at me.  On Tuesday of this week I gave in and called Doc Infectious.  He had me come right over to the office, and after checking vitals, listening to my lungs, and all the other things they do when they are searching.  He also had me cough up a lung in a cup so he confirm his thought and immediately put me on 3 medications; 1) Zyvox 600mg 2x daily, 2) Colistimethate 75 mg via nebulized twice daily, and 3) MEROPENEM 3Gm/300mg via IV(takes 3 hours).  Depending on how I response to these over the next couple days will dictate changes in meds.

On Monday I had two appointments, the 1st at 8 am at my Dermatology’s Dr. Office.  It was what I consider a normal 6 month checkup, froze of several spots on my right arm, and had to take some samples from my left, arm, but the Doc and I know that little surgical procedures will have to done to handle these and that has been scheduled for 2 weeks out.  In the afternoon I had a great session with Dr. Head, she allowed me to continue grieve for a time, then we moved on.  I do appreciate that, and her style of patient management seems to work very well on me.  She had given me some homework, and we discussed that, as a follow-up she is going to do some addition research which we will discuss during our next session.

After the session with Doc Head, I had dinner with the kids, it was a great meal, but I believe Allison was looking at me weird, and then on Tuesday she call to affirm that she knew I was sick.  A lot of you women have that skill.

For those keeping track, I had my INR checked on 10/25 and it was a 2.3 therapeutic, which means there is no change to the medicine, and that I don’t need to have it checked again for another month.

The good news to all of this is that I believe I have avoided a trip to the hospital, which to me constitutes a major victory.  Though if I had gone to the hospital I would have lost this 10 lbs. I found someplace else.  And I would have been bored to tears, and lazy, and I would have just laid around.  Sounds like a great live but if you have spent as much time in hospitals as I have, you would want to avoid them as much as I do.

 

I realized no place did I give a rating on how I feel.  Well being fair I feel about 1.5 this week, both from being ill, and in part for still grieving Cassi  passing.

 

This concludes my “How I Feel Today’s” for the Month of October.  Hopefully next week I will be able to report some serious good progress. Please take care, as always thank you for your good thoughts, and as always your comments welcomed are encouraged – take care, Bill

 
7 Comments

Posted by on October 31, 2013 in How I feel on a particular day

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

7 responses to “How I Feel Today 10.31.31

  1. Marlyn Brook

    October 31, 2013 at 3:11 pm

    You are one strong Dude. So glad you were up to writing again because it says you’re on the mend:) Sending you love & good vibes always because that’s what selfish STALKERS do! I want to see a 4:)

     
    • FlaHam

      November 1, 2013 at 7:11 am

      Marlyn, My brain is beginning to function again. The words are slowly spilling from my fingers. You’ll see lots of typeos and disjointed thoughts, and say oh okay he’s pretty much back to normal. I do appreciate my stalker. Please take care, Bill

       
  2. Chatter Master

    October 31, 2013 at 5:46 pm

    I’m glad you avoided the hospital Bill. I did worry that your grieving may have gotten you down physically. I’m sorry for your suffering and bad week. I send you positive thoughts and well wishes and blessings for all of you who love Cassi.

     
  3. The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

    October 31, 2013 at 6:55 pm

    Thank goodness you didn’t land in the hospital. I was concerned about the recent stress in your life and am so sorry that it’s having this result on your body. Sending you healing thought and tons of cyber hugs to feel better. Please take care and get well so you’re number for the week goes up. Love, Paulette

     
  4. jmgoyder

    November 1, 2013 at 8:42 am

    Your grief is probably the cause – who knows – but no matter what you go through yourself, your compassion for everyone else is what makes you a hero in my eyes and, I am sure, in your beautiful niece;s. Oh Bill, my heart reaches out to you and your family. Lots of love Julie

     
    • FlaHam

      November 1, 2013 at 9:03 am

      Julie, Over the past year we have shared a lot, both personal and family, we have teased and kidded, but we have remained true to each other. I am sure that the grief I have felt, couple with 2500 miles of driving in a week, and on and on all played a part in how I feel this week. But without the kindness that you always extend, the warmth you always share, and the love that comes from your heart. I doubt if I bounce back as quick as I will. You and all my other wonderful friends online have helped me in so so many ways. Thank you so so very much, and please take care. Love Bill

       
      • jmgoyder

        November 1, 2013 at 10:36 am

        Oh Bill and you have helped me so much too – so much! Jxxx

         

Leave a Reply

 
secret Blogger

Status : surviving highschool

How the Cookie Crumbles

An irreverant view of life after SIXTY-FIVE

beefandsweettea.wordpress.com/

a story of Southern agriculture

Me, My Magnificent Self

My Journey To Freedom

Kira Moore's Closet

Ever Moving Forward

