RSS

How I Feel Today 11.15.31

15 Nov

This week has been a solid 2 based on the scale I have created in my mind and which I have used week to week for the last several months. But my system for evaluating how I feel is changing to reflect the times and I will explain why in just a moment.

Vitals for the week: bp = 116/69, resp 89 (low for week) normally around 100, O2 = 93-96 depending on what I am doing at the moment the O2 is checked, temperature = 97.8 or so, weight = to frigging much but less than the week before, and white blood count 11 (10 days ago almost 17).  I will be fitted with a Mediport between next week and the end of the year, which will make life easier, not having to have a pic line installed 3 or 4 times a year.

Last week I spoke to litany of health issues I was fighting including: pneumonia, MRSA, and a yeast infection in my lungs.  Concurrently as I was drawing battle lines and fighting against all my ills, my wife was acutely ill, having migraine after migraine, and all the ugly side effects of just existing felt miserable. But the good news is we are both past these problems.  On Tuesday, I found out that the pneumonia, and MRSA, as well as, the yeast infection were no longer an issue.  The yeast infection totally gone, the MRSA and pneumonia have both gone into remission.  Steph has been in a constant upward trend all week, and she truly feels her issues are behind her.

On Tuesday of this week I went to Doc Infectious, feeling like shit on a stick, and fully expecting to continue the antibiotic (IV) treatment for at least 10 more days, maybe as long as 14 more days.  That was how not good I felt.  In my mind no significant progress had been made, I was coughing less, and while I felt I had made the turn, I was really expecting and mentally prepared for 10 to 14 more days of intense drug therapy.  To say I was shocked is an understatement when Doc Infectious stated there were no bugs to fight, and the continued used of the antibiotics would only work against me in the long run.  After getting the news I said but Doc I still feel like crap.  Is this my new normal? To which Doc Infectious replied yes Bill, this is your new normal.  So folks, that is why my “How I Feel” scale is going to change.  I have not yet made the mental adjustment, and I may not for a week or so, but it will happen soon.  And soon I will be back to having 3 kinda weeks.  In retrospect I am not the least bit surprised by the diagnosis of Doc Infectious, or Doc’s statement that I now have a new normal.  This past year, I have been hospitalized twice for 28 days, and have had 3 exacerbations which required I have another 62 days or so of IV fed antibiotics and oral medications beyond what is on my normal plate.  That bit of information alone is enough to realize that I need to adjust my scale, because my life is being adjusted each day.

I had a good session with Doc Head on Thursday, having a non-judgmental person listening too, and encouraging you to say what is on your mind is extremely helpful, is and probably one on the reason I remain somewhat sane (and I know so will argue my sanity). So I strongly suggest that anyone and everyone can gain something by having a Doc Head in their life’s, even if that person isn’t Doc at all.  A good friend, a pastor, preacher, or priest it doesn’t matter as long as they got your back, and won’t drop a dime on you, can do you a world of good.  Doc Head checks my blog on a weekly basis looking at “How I Feel” posts.  I am sure she does it to get a reflection on my physicalness for the week, so she can gauge what impact that might have on my head.

Early in the week next is full of Doc visits.  I see Doc Lungs, Doc Infectious, my monthly IVIG treatment, and I see the surgeon regarding the installation of the Mediport.  So I will have plenty of fun stuff to talk about and share with you.

“That’s all Folks!” this wraps up the 2nd November report.  Take care, and again thank you for taking the time to explore my post.  If you have any questions, please ask away.  As always your comments are greatly appreciated.  Take care Bill

PS – aren’t you proud of me, I got this out well before the COB deadline, on a Friday.  Not bad huh!!

 
43 Comments

Posted by on November 15, 2013 in How I feel on a particular day, Humor, Ramblings

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

43 responses to “How I Feel Today 11.15.31

  1. ***Angel***

    November 15, 2013 at 2:36 pm

    *****HIP HIp Hooray*****SweetPea is so very proud of u *****Good to hear you both r on the mends u always put a smile on my face to brighten up the day***** Sending tons of Huggies*Smiles*Joy*Hope**Luv*****

     
    • FlaHam

      November 15, 2013 at 3:03 pm

      Sweet Pea, Your so sweet, thank you so much for your kind words. Please take care, Bill

       
  2. Chatter Master

    November 15, 2013 at 5:21 pm

    Bill, I’m sorry you felt like shit on a stick. That’s a pretty crappy way to feel. You amaze me with your attitude of adjustments and dealing with shit on a stick. You’ve had a rough month emotionally and it certainly has to affect your physical. I’m glad you are projecting feeling better. I truly believe that having that kind of outlook will greatly improve your ability to HAVE that kind of improvement. Be well my friend. 🙂

     
    • FlaHam

      November 15, 2013 at 7:43 pm

      Colleen, My language gets earthy from time to time, but it is part of my charm. I believe that the only way a person can fight a terminal disease, is to ignore it as much as it allows, but also give it it’s do. If every time I’m told that I have taken a further step down the ladder, I would be so far it the dumps you might as well throw on the dirt. But if I do it as I do, just keep adjusting, I think I can be pretty productive all the way to the end. And that is all I can hope for. It also a coping device which is okay as well. Colleen, let me also say that your continual positive encouragement helps a great deal. I so much enjoy and gather strength from yours and those of so many of my readers. I truly enjoy your comments and you throwing them back at me. LMAO your comment to my post is longer than most of your posts, I didn’t know you had that many words in you. LOL LOL

      Please take care, Bill

       
      • Chatter Master

        November 15, 2013 at 10:29 pm

        Your earthy language sounds perfect to me. I was going to try and use it five or six times….. 😉
        I do so appreciate how you adjust Bill. It does make a huge impression. I know there are times to keep the back stiff, but it sure seems to me that flexibility and adjustibility make things easier to deal with.

         
        • FlaHam

          November 16, 2013 at 8:23 am

          Colleen, If I ever write anything you want to use in your mini-masterpieces or day to day life please feel free. This is a blanket authorization, and you can use it as if it were your own, anytime anyplace. And should I see it in writing it would tickle greatly. Have a wonderful weekend. — Take care, Bill

           
          • Chatter Master

            November 17, 2013 at 2:10 pm

            You’re my favorite today Bill! 🙂 Thank you! I wonder if i can use “shit on a stick” with the Shadow People. Hahahahahahahahaha! 🙂

             
            • FlaHam

              November 17, 2013 at 2:15 pm

              Colleen, While I would love to see your stick folks use the earthiness, of shit on a stick, your collective readers would probably want to hear them use “poop on a stick” doesn’t have quite the same impact, it does convey the message. LOL LOL BTW Colleen, your my favorite everyday !!! Take care, Bill

               
              • Chatter Master

                November 18, 2013 at 5:41 am

                You are correct Bill. 🙂 And thank you ! 🙂 I’m a favorite. It does feel good to hear that.

                 
                • FlaHam

                  November 18, 2013 at 9:12 am

                  Colleen, Of course your a favorite, and I am sure you are the favorite of many. LOL, and we both know readers expect me to say shit and for you to say poop. That’s what we taught them. Take care, and have a great day. Bill

                   
                  • Chatter Master

                    November 18, 2013 at 4:47 pm

                    We did didn’t we Bill. Funny thing is, I am a cusser. Not “always”. But when I cuss, I cuss. 😉

                     
                  • FlaHam

                    November 18, 2013 at 5:00 pm

                    Colleen, Soft smile, I imagine when you cuss you do so quite well. I got my masters degree in cussing during my 9 years of active duty. Hell some think I still cuss like a sailor, and I have been out for over 35 years LOL. Take care, Bill

                     
                  • Chatter Master

                    November 19, 2013 at 5:59 am

                    Once a sailor always a sailor! I am sure I don’t have a master’s in cussing yet. Maybe I’m approaching my bachelor’s. 😉

                     
                  • FlaHam

                    November 19, 2013 at 7:18 am

                    Colleen, Stick with me kid, and I am sure I can teach you enough so you get your Bachelor’s without a problem. LOL — Bill

                     
                  • Chatter Master

                    November 19, 2013 at 5:58 pm

                    Hahahahahaha! Maybe we can then work on our Ph.D together!

                     
                  • FlaHam

                    November 19, 2013 at 9:18 pm

                    Colleen, I can only image the chaos we would cause in class. That is such a fun thought. Take care, Bill

                     
                  • Chatter Master

                    November 20, 2013 at 8:28 pm

                    Oh geez. A class to earn a Ph.D in cussing. SIGN ME UP! 🙂 But only if you promise to go to.

                     
                  • FlaHam

                    November 20, 2013 at 10:26 pm

                    Colleen, I promise I will attend every class with you, and I promise we can stand in front of the mirror practicing how you have to look when you use the words we will learn. It would be a ton of fun. LOL LOL. Have a great evening. Take care, Bill

                     
                  • Chatter Master

                    November 21, 2013 at 6:10 am

                    Oh man….we have to have a ‘face’ to go with the cussing? I might have a difficult time with that. 😉

                     
                  • FlaHam

                    November 21, 2013 at 6:24 am

                    Colleen, Oh it will be okay. I only stood in front a mirror practicing the “F bomb” for a week before I used it in public during high school. And I didn’t have a study buddy. Could have cut that down to 2 or 3 days at most. LOL LOL Have a great one! — Bill

                     
                  • Chatter Master

                    November 21, 2013 at 7:05 pm

                    Thanks Bill. I’ll start practicing. 😉

                     
                  • FlaHam

                    November 21, 2013 at 9:44 pm

                    Colleen, I truly love you!! You make me smile all the time. Thanks, Bill

                     
                  • Chatter Master

                    November 22, 2013 at 6:00 am

                    Ha! I love yourself back Bill! You are a gem, cussing and all. 🙂

                     
                  • FlaHam

                    November 22, 2013 at 7:20 am

                    Colleen, you make me smile. Bill

                     
                  • Chatter Master

                    November 23, 2013 at 11:42 am

                    🙂 ditto ~!

                     
  3. Wanda

    November 15, 2013 at 5:45 pm

    Bill, you know better than most that attitude (whether good or bad) usually rules (and wins) the day. And, despite your health issues, you continue to have an admirable attitude, you continue to encourage others, and you make everyone’s life you touch better for the contact. You know what you face, you don’t try to hide from it–in fact, you do your level best to fight it off. I guess the hardest part of reading your “how I feel” posts is knowing how realistic you are about COPD and its effect on you and those you care about. Take care, friend.

     
    • FlaHam

      November 15, 2013 at 7:54 pm

      Wanda, No matter what, throughout my entire life I have always tried to be the one with the positive attitude. These last few years have really brought that into play. And your right, it has helped so so very much, but having great friends has helped a great deal too. I write about COPD as accurately as possible, so others with the disease can see their symptoms, see how I respond, see what works for me, and maybe just maybe help them in some small way. I think it allows others to acknowledge to themselves some of what I go thru. I just want to help. Please take care, Bill

       
  4. The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

    November 15, 2013 at 6:31 pm

    Hate that you still feel like crap. Relieved the pneumonia is cleared. And, yes very proud of you making your deadline, lol! Happy weekend my friend.

     
    • FlaHam

      November 15, 2013 at 8:02 pm

      Paulette, What will happen is that after a couple more weeks of feeling this way, I won’t remember that I felt like crap. Then feeling like crap matures into feeling okay. And then 2.5 weeks become 3.0 weeks. Smiling and then the cycle begins again. I am so anal, I hate being late even on self-imposed deadlines. So I am going to try to do better. I hope you have a great weekend. Thanks fort he pep rally the other evening. Take care, Bill

       
  5. jmgoyder

    November 15, 2013 at 10:31 pm

    I admire the way you adjust to the new norms, as they eventuate – not easy. And I have become very fond of your Docs! Glad to hear Steph is on the up and up. Love you guys.

     
  6. Marlyn Brook

    November 16, 2013 at 4:03 pm

    I read this yesterday on my iPad, in the car, 12 hours into the trip south when my hubby asked me why I was crying….I’ll email the answer I gave him after we pull in the driveway, unpack the car and open the house that’s just across the state from you. You know how I feel about your new normal! Can you say “IT SUCKS” really loud? So in this cyber universe I chose you out of zillions to stalk…..karma, destiny….nah…. I’m just really smart:) LOL Later my dear friend

     
    • FlaHam

      November 16, 2013 at 11:33 pm

      Marlyn, I have enjoyed you as a wonderful stalker, and you make me smile with each stalker note. Your note provided no additional info on your son, I am assuming he is getting better each day. I can understand how thoughts of him and what he is going thru would bring a tear to your eye. Maybe we can find a way to lessen those tears. My dear, each of us is dealt many many hands of cards, over our life time, some of the hands work out some don’t. LOL I have in fact screamed “THIS SUCKS” more than once. But having said that, I am making do with the hand I have been dealt. Maybe the next hand will be better. I always think it to be. I look forward to any and all your mails. Please take care my sweet stalker. Be safe, Bill

       
  7. DeeDee Granata

    November 17, 2013 at 2:52 am

    New normals. Ugh. Let me know all about the mediport. It has been suggested to me. Not sure how I feel about it. Glad you and your beautiful wife are feeling better.

     
    • FlaHam

      November 17, 2013 at 8:09 pm

      Dee, I was thinking about just yesterday cause i hadn’t spoke ina while. I meet with the mediport doc on tues so i will give a full report afterwards. For as often asi need a pic line it seems like an ideal solution. We ae both on the mend, and that majes it easier for both of us. Thank you for sweet words. Take care, Bill

       
  8. Clowie

    November 17, 2013 at 4:53 am

    I’m sorry you’ve been having such an awful time. I’m glad the pneumonia has cleared and I hope things improve for you.

     
    • FlaHam

      November 17, 2013 at 6:57 am

      Clowies, Thank you for such a sweet and thoughtful comment. The pneumonia is in remission and I am feeling as good as I can. Please take care, Bill

       
  9. Marlyn Brook

    November 17, 2013 at 7:58 am

    The tears weren’t for my son…..they were for the “shitty” news my dear friend Bill got!

     
    • FlaHam

      November 17, 2013 at 8:36 am

      Marlyn, I truly hope your son is making rapid progress, but I am sure he is telling your not to cry for him either. Marlyn, please shed tears now, I am alive and kicking. My fingers still work so I can tease and flirt with you. This is another reality of the disease. And my fear was realized when I walked into the Doc office. I knew this conversation was coming. It just surprised me. It brightens and saddens my heart at the same time that you cry for me, but my dear am going to be around for quite some time. Not quite ready to call it a day. Have a wonderful day, cause I am. Take care — Bill

       
  10. huntmode

    November 21, 2013 at 6:01 pm

    Bill, in just under five days, I’m falling in love you. Your strength, your spirit, your leadership in this “shitty disease” is a bright nova. I haven’t made it through your blog from the beginning yet, but I got a yen to visit today (11/21), reading from the Hearst post up. 🙂 Best ~ HuntMode

     
    • FlaHam

      November 21, 2013 at 9:21 pm

      Hunt, Well I hope you at least kiss me after the 1st date. LOL LOL. My strength and spirit come from the many folks that read and support me both here and on the DS group. If you fall in love with anyone, those are the folks you should. They give without expectation, and it is an unwavering support. Take care, Bill

       
      • huntmode

        November 22, 2013 at 1:15 am

        Grin ~ There were so many responses for this one – sounds like a fantastic group of people. I look forward to it.

         
        • FlaHam

          November 22, 2013 at 7:18 am

          Hunt, I am very fortunate, I have become involved with folks that are truly wonderful, that are extremely caring and concerned. If I searched for thousands of years I couldn’t encountered these folks on my own. But thru the internet and blogging, I have found them in a year. Or even more important for me, THEY found ME. Take care, Bill

           

Leave a Reply

 
secret Blogger

Status : surviving highschool

How the Cookie Crumbles

An irreverant view of life after SIXTY-FIVE

beefandsweettea.wordpress.com/

a story of Southern agriculture

Me, My Magnificent Self

My Journey To Freedom

Kira Moore's Closet

Ever Moving Forward

